Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Roggenbrot (Rye Bread) Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Roggenbrot (Rye Bread)

    Average Rating:

    10 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-10 of 10

    Sort by:

    • on September 12, 2010

      Awesome! The only changes I made were adding 1 TBS of caraway seed and swapping the sugar for slightly less honey, which is all I had on hand. Wonderful! I don't like fluffy, cloud-like bread. Save that texture for white breads and rolls. When I want rye or whole grain, I want hearty. This bread perfectly fits the bill. My husband loves rye, so I make several different versions to change it up. This is the first rye I've made that I personally love and would probably take even over my favorite whole wheat. It also responded perfectly during prep--I didn't have to cross my fingers and hope the dough would raise properly. Thanks for posting such a great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 09, 2007

      Delicious! This makes a dense, moist, light tasting rye bread. It doesn't rise very high, but the flavor is wonderful. I made this in my Kitchen-Aid stand mixer and it worked out perfectly. The only change I made was to add some caraway seed, which I feel is a "must" for rye bread. My family loved this and gave it 2-thumbs up! Thank you for sharing this wonderful recipe...it is definitely a keeper.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 27, 2007

      This bread didn't work out for me. It didn't rise very well and was quite dense. Flavor was good, perhaps I just need to play around with the recipe a bit. I will update with higher stars on my next try if it works out better.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 02, 2012

      This is absolutely wonderful! I was concerned making it ( bread is new for me) but I like rye bread, and I wanted to try making some. I am glad I chose this recipe. It was easy to prepare ( I cheated and used my stand mixer) and it smelled delicious from the get-go. I did not add the caraway, although I might try that next time. I wanted to experience the flavor, and I am glad I did. The texture is FABULOUS. I love the heartiness of this bread. I also must add that I took this bread for others to try and got many complements. Thank you for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 08, 2008

      WOW! When you said dense I expected a rock but it had a great texture. It had body to it. The flavor was wunderbar! Like what we used to get in Germany. Only having 2 1/2 cups of rye flour I had to make the difference up with unbleached bread flour. I heeded another reviewer and used half the sugar. I also mixed all by hand. This is being served with a saurkraut soup to make a perfect supper on a damp, early spring night. I have to admit to cheating - I had to have a slice straight out of the oven. I know this bread will be one my hubby requests again and again. When I was first mixing the dough the molasses aroma reminded me of making gingerbread in my grandma's kitchen. Now that it is baked the house has such a wonderful aroma. All in all a wonderful baking and eating experience.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 21, 2008

      Has anyone tried this in a breadmachine? I would like to but not sure how it would work out. I like the dense true German breads. Marti Foley, AL

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 08, 2007

      The bread was too sweet for us. The texture seemed off too, unless that was my mistake.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 30, 2007

      my husband made this for his parents who are from Germany and Finland. they raved about how good it was, something they don't do much. thanks for sharing this!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 22, 2007

      Very nice texture and flavour to this bread

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 14, 2003

    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Roggenbrot (Rye Bread)

    Serving Size: 1 (114 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 12

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 280.3
     
    Calories from Fat 34
    12%
    Total Fat 3.8 g
    5%
    Saturated Fat 2.0 g
    10%
    Cholesterol 9.3 mg
    3%
    Sodium 232.8 mg
    9%
    Total Carbohydrate 55.2 g
    18%
    Dietary Fiber 4.2 g
    17%
    Sugars 10.2 g
    41%
    Protein 7.1 g
    14%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites