Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Rogan Josh Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Rogan Josh

    Average Rating:

    16 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-16 of 16

    Sort by:

    • on January 29, 2002

      The recipe doesn't tell you when to put in half the spices, very strange!! Not having made a curry before I found this most difficult. I put in half the spices when the curry went on simmer. Thankfully it turned out great! But it would be nice to now when to put the spices in!! Regards K

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 08, 2010

      Excellent! Consider reducing cayenne if you don't like spicy food. I substituted regular ground cumin because I didn't have any black cumin, but otherwise made as directed.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 08, 2009

      Amazing recipe good taste and not that spicy PERFECT !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! All Must Try this recipe!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 31, 2008

      This rogan josh is delicious! DH and I made it for dinner a couple of nights ago with no modifications. We served it over basamati rice. Thanks for posting. We would definitely make this again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 31, 2008

    • on September 21, 2008

      One of the best curries I have ever made - this recipe is perfection! I followed it to the letter and ended up with incredibly tender and flavourful beef in a beautiful thick sauce which we could not stop eating right out of the pot! We ate this with fresh cooked roti and couldn't stop talking about how great it was. Thank you for posting such an outstanding recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 07, 2008

      This was a very flavorful dish! I think I may have burnt the spice mix a little, because the sauce tasted a little bitter to me. I had to add a little sugar to mellow it out. Next time I may try making this in the crockpot after I have browned everything up.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 23, 2007

      made this last night for me and hubby. he said this was a hundred times better than any takeaway or restraunt rogan josh he had ever had. very easy to make. i also added a tin of tomatoes. many thanks for the recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 22, 2007

      TERRIFIC! In my constant quest to continue to learn to cook proper Indian food, I tried this recipe. My husband loved it, as did my co-workers! I put it in the crockpot for 1.5 hours on high at step 12, then reduced to low for another 2 hours (we had to go out). Did not re-boil to thicken the curry but it was still wonderful--incredibly tender with a nice, not overpowering, spice. Thanks, HappyBuunny!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 18, 2007

      Oh my, this was OUT OF THIS WORLD! This is without a doubt the best Rogan Josh I've ever eaten. There is nothing negative to say about this one. Notes on my "adjustments": I left out the yogurt as my newborn has many food allergies and dairy ends up in my milk. It tasted FABULOUS even without the yogurt. I just omitted steps 7 and 8 and went on with the recipe. I used whole coriander and cumin seeds and ground them in my coffee grinder turned spice mill. :D I also used 4 tablespoons of a pre-mixed garlic-ginger paste I buy at our local Indian grocery. FABULOUS! And, yes, this one smells simply wonderful cooking. My house has never smelled so great! :D Thanks for such a fabulous recipe. See picture I've submitted. Mmm...

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 13, 2006

      Wonderful authentic Indian recipe, smelled great as it simmered. I too could not find cardamon pods so I used about 1 and a half teaspoons ground cardamon. My only change for this recipe would be to use lamb next time (my butcher wouldn't cut it up for me and only had lamb chops so I used stew meat instead!) Also, I wanted a little more "kick", so maybe I'll add chili powder or some anaheims next time.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 21, 2005

      Superb blend of spices. This smelled fantastic as it cooked and the taste was sensational. I added some chilli powder and cooked mine in a pressure cooker for 25 minutes. This saved cooking time and the lamb was deliciously tender. Thank you so much for a fantasic recipe, it went very well with Fay Almeida's Roti. Yum, yum !

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 11, 2005

      Oh, yum! The whole spices in this make it really tasty and its really a lovely dish. Like Spinner, I didn't have the black cardamom pods, so I just used green and I didn't have black cumin, so I just used the regular kind. Nicely spiced and a lovely red color. I made it with beef. I just realized that I forgot to ever add the garam masala, but it was still great. This is one of those dishes that is better the next day, so I highly advise making this ahead to let the flavors blend, because then it will really wow you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 01, 2004

      Fantastic flavour. Had to use cardamon seeds as couldn't find black cardamon pods, also used cumin instead of black cumin for same reason. Served this to 4 others and all loved it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 25, 2004

      Ok this is a recipe We love and make often. My husband's name is Joshua and we call him Josh ;) so his birthday normally screams for Rogue (n)Josh;)It is exactly the same as the one I make not one change. For Karina's reference the coriander, cumin, paprika and cayenne pepper go in after step no. 9 and should be sauteed with the other mixture for another 30 secs before the meat is added. :) Fay Almeida

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 31, 2001

    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Rogan Josh

    Serving Size: 1 (262 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 589.8
     
    Calories from Fat 414
    70%
    Total Fat 46.0 g
    70%
    Saturated Fat 10.0 g
    50%
    Cholesterol 82.1 mg
    27%
    Sodium 753.0 mg
    31%
    Total Carbohydrate 21.3 g
    7%
    Dietary Fiber 4.6 g
    18%
    Sugars 3.2 g
    12%
    Protein 29.0 g
    58%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    ginger

    black cardamom pods

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites