Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Rogan Josh Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Rogan Josh

    Average Rating:

    16 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-16 of 16

    Sort by:

    • on May 18, 2013

      Just made this for dinner with boneless chicken thighs and wow it is ever good. I used smoked paprika and threw in some potatoes (best to par-cook them ahead of time so they cook through during the process) and frozen peas. Very easy as most Indian recipes I've made in the past call for grinding the spice mix together, in this case most everything is whole spice. I typically order rogan josh at restaurants as a staple and this one is as good if not better than any restaurant version I've had. I highly recommend this recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 26, 2012

    • on June 22, 2012

      We love our lamb in Australia and I have used this recipe a couple of times - love it! Suggest you stir in the yogurt before you return the meat to the pan (easier to blend and stir) and if you prepare this in a dutch oven (pot you can use on the stove and in the oven) when its all ready to simmer you can just pop it in a low oven for a couple of hours and walk away and do other things.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 12, 2012

      I love this dish, too, just as is. But I've also made it with chicken, and when I do, I take it a little further away from the original: 5 minutes before serving I add raisins and fresh apple pieces.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 17, 2011

      This was excellent! I used a tender cut of beef so I added half the water and cooked for about one hour. I followed everything else exactly. It was actually easy to make and it turned out great!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 21, 2011

      Made this with Chicken and loved it - great the way it all blended together nicely at the end.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 20, 2010

      Perfect! Made as directed with beef...will definitely make again. Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 10, 2010

      Superb version of Rogan Josh that I made as written, using lamb. It was one of 11 dishes I served for an Indian banquet and everyone loved it. The instructions are excellent. Thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 31, 2009

      This is by far the best Rogan Josh I have ever tasted! At first when I was making it I thought there was going to be too many onions but there wasn't. Everything about this recipe is perfect and I would not change a thing. This is better than restaurant quality. An excellent recipe that I will definitely make again. Thank you so much for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 24, 2009

      This recipe is absolutely fabulous! The spice blend was just perfect and the meat was so tender and flavourful. Even by American boyfriend, who does not normally like curries, liked this one and ate a little of it with some basmati rice. Thank you Tulip-Fairy!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 19, 2008

      This dish was absolutely fabulous that I even had the leftovers for breakfast. Tulip thanks so much for posting this, like C.C. I can't get a good curry here but this certainly reminded me of home and restaurant quality that I'm use to. Pictures to follow soon.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 08, 2008

      Ohh, yum! This is so good, with a complexity of flavors. It was hot enough for me, but not too hot. Served with saffron rice. Thanks tulip for a lovely recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 09, 2008

      Excellent recipe. I made it with chicken. Very easy to follow. I added 1 sliced red chilli pepper but only because we like hot! Thanks Tulip - I will make this again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 16, 2008

      You are a star, Julie for posting this recipe, of course the spices you sent me helped, it was a great curry the best Ive ever made. I do miss Indian food as its not available were we live, but this dish cured my cravings. Thanks for posting this recipe. Chris

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 23, 2007

      What a fantastic dish! I have had many a Rogan Josh and decided on this dish after buying a free range chicken, deciding I wanted a curry and doing a quick search on RZ to find this gem. Wonderful! What more could I say, my wife and I loved it. I made a couple of changes in that I added half the salt and half the onions. I would certainly make this again and have added it to my cookbook.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 26, 2007

      This is an excellent dish!!! Made this for dinner last night and we were all loving every single bite. Will definately make this again and again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    You Might Also Like...

    View All Asian Recipes

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Rogan Josh

    Serving Size: 1 (342 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 1041.4
     
    Calories from Fat 802
    77%
    Total Fat 89.2 g
    137%
    Saturated Fat 28.2 g
    141%
    Cholesterol 182.9 mg
    60%
    Sodium 756.0 mg
    31%
    Total Carbohydrate 15.7 g
    5%
    Dietary Fiber 3.2 g
    13%
    Sugars 6.1 g
    24%
    Protein 44.4 g
    88%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    fresh ginger

    cardamom pods

    cloves

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites