Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Rode Kool (Red Cabbage) Dutch recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Rode Kool (Red Cabbage) Dutch recipe

    Average Rating:

    13 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-13 of 13

    Sort by:

    • on December 26, 2002

      Eat this with applesauce and boiled potatoes. Yum! Thanks for this recipe - brought back good memories of my childhood.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 14, 2009

      I was a great side dish to my rouladen. Thank you.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 14, 2008

      I really liked this dish, though my family didn't like it as much. That may be due to the fact that I have never served them red cabbage of any kind. I used a small head of red cabbage, Splenda instead of sugar, and I used rice vinegar. Thanks for sharing this recipe.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 05, 2012

      This wasn't quite as zingy as I was expecting. The head of cabbage I used may have been a bit larger though. Next time I'll taste it earlier and add more vinegar if needed. This recipe made way more than what we could ever eat, so since I had all my canning jars out, I canned a couple of pints for next time. I didn't have quite a 1/2 tsp of cloves and used apple cider vinegar. I will make this again, thanks for the recipe. I love authentic recipes.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 21, 2009

      This was good... a little sweeter than I care for, and nothing I would make again, but if you are looking for a true Rode Kool this is the one.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 13, 2006

      good stuff .dee

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 11, 2006

      i also addes sugar and used apple cider vinegar...very tasty

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 11, 2006

      In Iceland, red cabbage like this is called sauerkraut. Funny I thot since they're so different. This was so good & brought back memories of a childhood spent eating 1 version or the other w/pork, duck, dumplings, etc. DH doesn't care for it & that suits me just fine - more for me! Thx for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 11, 2006

      another different cabbage recipe.Loved it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 07, 2006

      We really enjoyed this recipe! So simple and really a great dish. I followed the recipe and did not deviate. I found the amount of sugar perfect and used apple cider vinegar. Thanks Nan!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 06, 2006

      Was really good, but I needed to add some sugar.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 05, 2006

      I served this with pork chops for a serious comfort meal. It was so yummy with a nice contrast of spicy, sweet, tangy and peppery. I used Splenda instead of sugar and found that I needed to add an additional teaspoon to get the perfect balance with the vinegar. Initially, I left off the butter and added it to the leftovers. Both versions were quite good. Thanks PanNan.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 10, 2005

      Ground up fresh cloves for more intense flavor. Wasn't sure when to add the sugar. My very first attempt at Scandinavian fare. cg ;)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Rode Kool (Red Cabbage) Dutch recipe

    Serving Size: 1 (155 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 117.8
     
    Calories from Fat 29
    24%
    Total Fat 3.2 g
    5%
    Saturated Fat 1.8 g
    9%
    Cholesterol 7.6 mg
    2%
    Sodium 664.3 mg
    27%
    Total Carbohydrate 21.9 g
    7%
    Dietary Fiber 4.5 g
    18%
    Sugars 14.3 g
    57%
    Protein 3.0 g
    6%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes