Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / rockin' rice pudding Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    rockin' rice pudding

    Average Rating:

    72 Total Reviews

    Showing 61-72 of 72

    Sort by:

    • on August 31, 2006

      I just made this and I'm eating it hot...it is delicious. I also omitted the lemon and had heavy cream on hand, so I used 1 cup of that and 2 of 1%. Thanks for a quick and easy way to use up all that rice they give you with chinese take out!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 31, 2006

      Great (and easy *smile*) recipe! This is just what I was looking for... I might add more milk next time and cut the sugar just a bit, but overall I really like it. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 30, 2006

      This is very good but I like it better without the lemon. I added lemon zest to one bowl just to try it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 26, 2006

      FANTASTIC!!! I have made this twice this week - can't get enough of it! DH told me to throw out all my other rice pudding recipes.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 13, 2006

      I was looking for a rice pudding that was cooked on the top of the stove and didnt require much cook time and found this. This was very tasty and very easy to make. Although next time I will cut the sugar back to 1/2 cup, just a bit too sweet for us. I also didnt have raisins or lemon peel but will make again the next time I have left over rice or may just make rice to make this!! Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 22, 2006

      This is exactly what I was looking for. Thanks, it was hard enough finding an eggless non-mix leftover rice pudding recipe, but I didn't expect to find the recipe exactly the way my family used to make it. This recipe is great exactly the way it is, with lemon and all (I don't know what all the rest of the commentators have against lemons, I assume most hadn't even tried it with the garnish of gratings).

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 29, 2005

      I used this recipe to serve a very large women's group at my church and it was a hit. The only change I made was to cook it with a cinnamon stick and when done remove it and sprinkle sugar and cinnamon on top. It made a better presentation in the little cups we served it in.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 10, 2005

      We loved it hot and we loved it cold! We ate it for dessert and for breakfast. Easy to make. We left out the raisins and the zest, and didn't miss them. We will make this every time we have leftover rice. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 22, 2005

      I have made this several times at home and while I think it's awesome as written (and so easy that I've already committed it to memory)I do have a couple of comments. First of all, I've also made this with freshly cooked rice (when I had a mad craving and no leftovers!)Secondly, halving the sugar doesn't affect the taste. Finally, I substitute currants for the raisins, which makes for a tarter flavor. The lemon zest definitely makes it, and I would recommend doubling it--leftovers are really good cold. In fact, my roommate prefers this chilled rather than hot, something that Tyler Florence suggests in his introduction to the recipe, even though it's hard to resist just out of the pot! Thanks for posting it; I specifically searched for "Rockin' Rice Pudding" to make sure if it was in here already, and if it wasn't I was going to post it myself!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 01, 2004

      This is the easiest and tastiest rice pudding ever!!! I also substituted heavy cream for 1/2 of the milk and left out the lemon zest. It was DECADENT!!! I served it to hungry deer hunters in my restaurant for dessert this afternoon! It got raves all around...and they are tough customers! Thanks for a sure winner!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 29, 2004

      Super easy recipe! For the milk and sugar, I substituted 1 can each of FF evaporated and FF condensed milk. I also put in a couple of strips each of orange and lime peel to cook with the pudding instead of the lemon zest afterwards. Also I used cardamom and only a dash of cinnamon. Had to work with what I had on hand. My family loved this dessert and I was happy to find a new and quick way to use up leftover rice.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 24, 2004

      This is the first time I've ever made rice pudding, but it definitely won't be the last. I'll be sure to make extra rice in the future so I'll have some leftovers for this! I substituted 1/2 cup of cream for 1/2 cup of the milk (made it even richer tasting). For the rice, I used the leftovers from one of my recipes #91565 Southern-style Honey Rice (shameless plug for my own recipes) :) It already contains cinnamon, so I didn't even have to add any. This is really very tasty; I had some for breakfast this morning!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    1 2 3 4 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for rockin' rice pudding

    Serving Size: 1 (255 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 537.2
     
    Calories from Fat 115
    21%
    Total Fat 12.8 g
    19%
    Saturated Fat 7.9 g
    39%
    Cholesterol 40.8 mg
    13%
    Sodium 142.8 mg
    5%
    Total Carbohydrate 96.7 g
    32%
    Dietary Fiber 1.4 g
    5%
    Sugars 44.1 g
    176%
    Protein 9.9 g
    19%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    lemons, zest of

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes