Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / rockin' rice pudding Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    rockin' rice pudding

    Average Rating:

    71 Total Reviews

    Showing 21-40 of 71

    Sort by:

    • on March 10, 2010

      This was super good. My kiddos had never tried rice pudding before, but they devoured it! Fast and I easily doubled the recipe. Omitted the lemon zest and topped with a cinnamon/sugar mixture. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 25, 2010

      The Girl Scouts in our troop liked it! This week, I'll be making a quadruple batch so that about 50 Scouts can each have a taste at their World Cultures celebration.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 13, 2010

      TO me this isn't "real" rice pudding b/c it doesn't have eggs. BUT- my son is allergic to eggs so it is nice to have a recipee that tastes good, and I don'thave to make an "egg" batch and an "egg free batch" I used Turbinado sugar. It did have to cook longer than 25 min to thicken, but over all an easy yummy, quick use for left over rice. Thanks for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 09, 2010

      I had forgotten how good rice pudding can be! As one young cook says, "Delish!!"

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 01, 2010

      I made this according to the recipe, except for substituting Splenda for the sugar. It came out fine, but we didn't like the lemon zest.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 14, 2009

      Really good and creamy. Watch and stir it as you cook it, because the milk can scorch, and is a bear to scrub off your pan!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 21, 2009

      Wow! great rice pudding. Full of flavour. I tried another viewers suggestion of cooking with lime rind. Wonderful!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 14, 2009

      SO good!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 25, 2009

      Very delicious, didn't have to change a thing! This was my first time making a rice pudding, it is very easy to follow! I did use skim milk however, so I just added an extra tablespoon of butter. I also cooked the rice from scratch, using long grain, non-instant rice. Make sure to cook the rice itself well, almost too much, to ensure good pudding consistency later. LOVED IT!!! Thanks

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 07, 2009

      Yum, yum, yum! Omitted the lemon and cut back the sugar to a 1/2 cup as suggested by others. Also, I added a pinch of salt. Turned out great. So easy and a real comfort food. Thank you for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 31, 2009

      This was fantastic! I used 1 C. whipping cream, 2 C. whole milk. I cooked it in a 3-1/2 quart heavy cast iron pot. I felt it was possibly cooking faster than it might have, had I used a different pot. I had to turn the heat down to low toward the end. Bottom line: a person might want to keep an eye on it to make sure it isn't burning. Stirring it (to make sure it didn't burn) didn't seem to have any negative effect on the outcome. I, like many others, omitted the lemon, and I only added 1/2 the cinnamon (I like mine bland); but I might try lemon zest, and/or cardamom, in the future. Thanks, chia, for a most excellent recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 13, 2009

      The best rice pudding ever. I used half milk and half heavy cream and also grated some fresh ginger and nutmeg in along with the cinnamon.Don't skip the lemon zest~~It doesn't make it taste lemony,only pops up the flavor of the other spices!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 03, 2009

      Simple, quick, and tasty! What more could you ask for? I used up the rest of the leftover rice from our asian dinner the night before. The pudding cooked up nicely. I did go ahead and add an entire cup of sugar because we like it extra sweet! Thanks for the great recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 01, 2009

      This rice pudding was heavenly....and so easy...I have never tried making rice pudding without a hot water bath....I used splenda instead of sugar with no problem...

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 15, 2009

      delish! easy no fuss way to deal with leftover rice that my family gobbled up. served warm with whipped cream of cold alone, absolutely a recipe for my keeper pile.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 10, 2009

      This was good, but it took longer than 25 minutes for the liquid to be absorbed -- probably closer to 40 minutes. I didn't use the lemon zest because I didn't have any -- but it was still good! Next time I might try cream for part of the milk and see if it takes less time :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 22, 2009

      I've always baked my rice pudding but I saw this recipe and just had to try it. The only changes I made were to omit the butter and lemon (didn't need it). It was the best rice pudding I've ever made and I won't be going back to the old fashioned one again! If I could give it 10 stars, I would :0)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 29, 2009

      Not sure how long I cooked this, but it seemed way too long 'cause I wanted to eat it like.. now. I used just 1/2 cup of sugar and that was sweet enough for me. Awesome!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 11, 2009

      Rice pudding perfection!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 11, 2008

      My friend, her DH and their family and I thought this was awesome!!! I used cardamom in place of the cinnamon, as I just love it so much since having it in another rice pudding awhile back. Thanks for sharing this with us Chia! Linda

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for rockin' rice pudding

    Serving Size: 1 (255 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 537.2
     
    Calories from Fat 115
    21%
    Total Fat 12.8 g
    19%
    Saturated Fat 7.9 g
    39%
    Cholesterol 40.8 mg
    13%
    Sodium 142.8 mg
    5%
    Total Carbohydrate 96.7 g
    32%
    Dietary Fiber 1.4 g
    5%
    Sugars 44.1 g
    176%
    Protein 9.9 g
    19%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    lemons, zest of

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites