73 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

This is the best recipe for using leftover rice. I've used it many, many times. Since I never know how much rice I'll have leftover I use the following proportions: for each 1 cup of cooked rice, I use 1 cup milk, 1/4 cup sugar, 2 teaspoons butter. Probably 2 tablespoons of raisins; I often leave them out. The rest is sort of random. I once used 3/4 cup of grated Ghirardeli chocolate with 4 cups of rice and it was a disaster. 1/2 cup would have been more than enough. As you can tell this is a fun recipe to play with.

9 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
maryannatwork September 14, 2010

Great way to use up leftover rice. Used regular white rice, next time I'll leave out the lemon, but it was yummy. Definately making it again and again!

6 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Shabby Sign Shoppe April 13, 2003

Very good! I did not add the lemon zest (didn't have it) and I used soy milk and oil to make it vegan. I will definitely make this again.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
amydietrichmark January 07, 2011

Fabulous and Fast! I used leftover rice from the dinner the night previous when I WAY overestimated how much rice was needed! Loved the addition of the lemon zest. I almost didn't put it in but it adds such a nice depth of flavor with the cinnamon. I appreciated that I didn't have to put this in the oven to bake too. I'm keeping this recipe handy to make the next time I "overestimate" the rice (or maybe I'll just make too much on purpose)!! Thanks. ***Update since first rating: I've made this numerous times now and we still love it! Delicious!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Maven in the Making March 08, 2010

This was my first taste ever of rice pudding, and I was a little skeptical, but I was pleasantly surprised. It was very tasty. I halved the recipe and omitted the lemon, but still enjoyed it. It's very rich and a little bit goes a long way. Thanks for a great recipe, chia! I know how I'll be using up leftover rice from now on!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
~cbw~ March 05, 2004

Wow, what a great recipe! I substituted a one cup of heavy cream for one of the cups of milk. Can you say "rich"?! I didn't think it would "work", but it thickened nicely. I omitted the lemon rind and putting the cinnamon on top. This rice pudding is addictive!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Boxerwing February 29, 2004

Delicious and easy. Two of my main requirements!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Dottie5 July 12, 2003

I just loved this ! i made it with bronw rice. At first I thought it would be to thin but it wasn`t. This is definitely ROCKING!!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Rita~ February 16, 2003

It's a keeper!! We had alot of leftover rice and this was perfect. We did not have any lemon, I cut back the sugar a bit and added extra cinnamon and raisins.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Gina B. January 22, 2015

This was amazing. I used brown rice that had been cooked with coconut milk. I also added 1tsp almond extract and about 1/4cup currants.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
sarikat December 14, 2014
rockin' rice pudding