Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / rockin' rice pudding Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    rockin' rice pudding

    Average Rating:

    72 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 72

    Sort by:

    • on September 14, 2010

      This is the best recipe for using leftover rice. I've used it many, many times. Since I never know how much rice I'll have leftover I use the following proportions: for each 1 cup of cooked rice, I use 1 cup milk, 1/4 cup sugar, 2 teaspoons butter. Probably 2 tablespoons of raisins; I often leave them out. The rest is sort of random. I once used 3/4 cup of grated Ghirardeli chocolate with 4 cups of rice and it was a disaster. 1/2 cup would have been more than enough. As you can tell this is a fun recipe to play with.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 13, 2003

      Great way to use up leftover rice. Used regular white rice, next time I'll leave out the lemon, but it was yummy. Definately making it again and again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 07, 2011

      Very good! I did not add the lemon zest (didn't have it) and I used soy milk and oil to make it vegan. I will definitely make this again.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 08, 2010

      Fabulous and Fast! I used leftover rice from the dinner the night previous when I WAY overestimated how much rice was needed! Loved the addition of the lemon zest. I almost didn't put it in but it adds such a nice depth of flavor with the cinnamon. I appreciated that I didn't have to put this in the oven to bake too. I'm keeping this recipe handy to make the next time I "overestimate" the rice (or maybe I'll just make too much on purpose)!! Thanks. ***Update since first rating: I've made this numerous times now and we still love it! Delicious!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 05, 2004

      This was my first taste ever of rice pudding, and I was a little skeptical, but I was pleasantly surprised. It was very tasty. I halved the recipe and omitted the lemon, but still enjoyed it. It's very rich and a little bit goes a long way. Thanks for a great recipe, chia! I know how I'll be using up leftover rice from now on!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 29, 2004

      Wow, what a great recipe! I substituted a one cup of heavy cream for one of the cups of milk. Can you say "rich"?! I didn't think it would "work", but it thickened nicely. I omitted the lemon rind and putting the cinnamon on top. This rice pudding is addictive!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 12, 2003

      Delicious and easy. Two of my main requirements!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 16, 2003

      I just loved this ! i made it with bronw rice. At first I thought it would be to thin but it wasn`t. This is definitely ROCKING!!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 14, 2014

      This was amazing. I used brown rice that had been cooked with coconut milk. I also added 1tsp almond extract and about 1/4cup currants.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 13, 2013

      LOVE this recipe! I halved it this time and it's oh so creamy and delicious, exactly what I was craving. I did skip the lemon zest as I don't keep it in my pantry usually, and it's still absolutely decadent. Rave reviews from me! Thank you! =)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 09, 2013

      Delicious and so easy! I used maple syrup instead of sugar and no lemon zest.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 01, 2013

      Fabulous - this is my standard rice pudding recipe. Omitted lemon zest simply because I didn't have a lemon on hand and it was still outstanding.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 03, 2013

      So good and so easy!! I used brown jasmine rice and skim milk.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 12, 2013

      YummY! After I cooked rice, I added ingredients to pan instead of crock and omitted Lemon, brought ingredients to a simmer, placed on low heat, stirred ever 5 mins for 15 mins. Then I removed from heat, added vanilla and whole teaspoon of cinnamon to pan. YUM YUM!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 14, 2012

      I had some leftover rice that needed using up. For personal preference, I left out the lemon and butter and found it perfect for our tastes. Thanks for an easy and tasty recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 07, 2012

      This is a terrific recipe for using leftover rice! To cut down on calories and fat, I omitted the butter and the raisins, and I used skim milk and 1/4 cup granulated sugar. The pudding came out creamy and sweet. I will definitely use this recipe again. Thank you for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 17, 2011

      I guess this is ok for someone who has never had rice pudding before, but I would recommend making the pudding with uncooked rice over low & let it go for a couple of hours. I was craving rice pudding & didn't want to wait..my milk scorched, the rice got too done & became once big sticky mess. Really pretty gross. I had to throw a bunch of cool whip in it to make it somewhat edible. I'll probably throw out the rest. I'll stick to old fashioned recipes for rice pudding.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 09, 2011

      Very easy to make and tastes great! I added vanilla instead of lemon.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 22, 2011

    • on February 14, 2011

      This made for a great, creamy rice pudding. I left out the raisins (personal preference). I would have added some dried cranberrie, but I was all out. Topped off with a little whipped cream. Yummy!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3 4

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for rockin' rice pudding

    Serving Size: 1 (255 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 537.2
     
    Calories from Fat 115
    21%
    Total Fat 12.8 g
    19%
    Saturated Fat 7.9 g
    39%
    Cholesterol 40.8 mg
    13%
    Sodium 142.8 mg
    5%
    Total Carbohydrate 96.7 g
    32%
    Dietary Fiber 1.4 g
    5%
    Sugars 44.1 g
    176%
    Protein 9.9 g
    19%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    lemons, zest of

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes