Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Rock & Roll Spaghetti Carbonara Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Rock & Roll Spaghetti Carbonara

    Average Rating:

    27 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 27

    Sort by:

    • on December 23, 2010

      I think it is safe to say I'm obsessed with this recipe. I have made it twice now and just purchased ingredients to make it a third, this time for my parents and brother instead of my boyfriend... I hope they like it as much as we do! I add a little extra cream and an extra egg to make it a little more saucy. Overall, it has delicious, rich flavor and is even great cold for leftovers. YUMMM.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 28, 2010

      I'm glad you gave this recipe a title modifier (Rock and Roll) Carbonara. I am sure it is delicious with cream and bacon.Just to point out to the readers, that a true "Italian" catbonara is not made with cream. It is also not made with onions or shallots. It has only a few ingredients and they are: 1 Lb spaghetti, 6 oz pancetta, diced or cut into strips, 1 clove garlic, 2 eggs, 4 oz Pecorino Romano, grated, Extra virgin olive oil, salt and ample coarse-ground pepper

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 01, 2010

      Really good. My three year old loved it. I used an onion because I didn't have shallots.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 28, 2008

      Very tasty. I through some grilled chicken breast in and it was great. The sauce wasn't as creamy as I had hoped, even though I increased the egg/cream mixture to almost double, but was still really good. It's a keeper!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 14, 2009

      I love this recipe, and it is very heavy on my list of rotating dinner ideas! We have it at least twice a month! Being big bacon lovers, we always lean towards using a full pound of bacon, but there is NEVER a bit of leftovers!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 22, 2008

      I like this recipe because it uses bacon, and I had all the other ingredients on hand - except for shallots, but I substituted onion. I followed the directions, but had a difficult time getting the bacon crispy while cooking it slow, but it was cooked enough, but it might not have rendered enough fat - the egg did cook on the spaghetti even though I did the steps very quickly. I added more cream because the whole thing was dry with just the original measurements. All that said, the family loved it - how can you go wrong with bacon, eggs, and pasta?

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 14, 2014

      This recipe was pretty good. I didn't use onion as that is not in an original carbonara. I increased the parmesan cheese to 1 cup and I think what is most important is to mix the egg and parmesan together and then add to the bacon and pasta once you're at that point. At the end, I added about 1/2 tsp of nutmeg. The bit of white wine makes this recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 14, 2014

      yum gunnar! very good recipe. I'm making it again as I rate this. Very good and simple ingredients. Sorry chef chuck love didn't even try this, only decided to be a critic. I really don't care if something is authentic or not, love the ingredients, love this ease of prep, and love the taste! Can't wait for supper! Thumbs up to you!!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 22, 2013

      I like to pretend that the spaghetti is little worms and the carbonara sauce is special man-sauce

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 28, 2010

      Loved it! Added to my recipe book.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 28, 2010

      @Chef Chuck Love is right although... there is no garlic either in the REAL recipe we eat in Rome (where this dish was born!)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 21, 2010

    • on November 05, 2009

      YUM! This was really good and although I was a little worried about the eggs cooking too fast and turning scrambled, it turned out perfect!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 07, 2009

      Yummy! I threw in sauteed chicken thigh tenders, chopped flat leaf parsley, and sliced grape tomatoes for a kicked-up chicken carbonara, but this basic recipe will do whatever you need. I like the way the touch of cream helps spread the sauce. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 13, 2008

      Amazing! We had a girls' night in and I made this (having NEVER made spaghetti carbonara before) and it was a HUGE hit! The one serving of leftovers I had for lunch the two days later tasted even better when the flavors had a chance to mingle. Delish! Will DEFINITELY make again, for the boyfriend this time :) He's a great cook but this will definitely impress him! Thanks, Gunnar!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 12, 2008

    • on December 26, 2007

      I love this recipe! Very quick, very good, and I have done a lot of different things to it, depending on what I have on hand. I do like to add some veggies. Tonight it was grated carrot, sliced sweet onion and red pepper, and mushrooms. I add them to the bacon, saute them for a few minutes, and then add it all to the pasta. I sort of turn it into a primavera carbonara I guess. I do have a problem using all of the bacon grease, so I do drain some of it off, which may be a mistake, I am not sure. Tonight it was too dry, so I added some butter, and in the end, some water. It turned out great!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 08, 2007

      Love this!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 27, 2007

      We added mushrooms to this, but otherwise made as stated. It was awesome!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 24, 2007

    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Rock & Roll Spaghetti Carbonara

    Serving Size: 1 (215 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 799.4
     
    Calories from Fat 317
    39%
    Total Fat 35.2 g
    54%
    Saturated Fat 12.9 g
    64%
    Cholesterol 179.2 mg
    59%
    Sodium 679.2 mg
    28%
    Total Carbohydrate 89.5 g
    29%
    Dietary Fiber 3.6 g
    14%
    Sugars 3.2 g
    12%
    Protein 28.6 g
    57%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes