12 Reviews

Dang good! followed as written and added 1/2 of a chopped white onion, 1 TBSP of mustard powder, and a little cornstarch slurry. Next time i'm adding a little MORE cornstarch, bacon, and some black beans. Thanks for a nice n spicy beans recipe!! Man and kid approved! :)

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef GreanEyes January 09, 2012

Very good! I reduced the recipe to serve 6 (more like 4 people) and used a 30oz can of beans. I find most bbq or baked beans to be much too sweet so I used about half the sugar and then added a few shakes of liquid smoke. End result was a slightly sweet, smoky easy to throw together side for some smoked chicken. I'd make them again!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
EmilyStrikesAgain October 06, 2014

Excellent! The first time I made them I didn't heed the direction to drain the beans first, and they were a bit soupy. But when I made them as directed they were perfect. A lovely touch of Southern BBQ for those up us way up north!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
qjohnson June 26, 2009

Great recipe! I made this exactly as written for our Memorial Day BBQ. I'm sure I'll be making these again and again. Thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lilchris May 26, 2009

Wow is this good! Made as posted except cut the recipe down to serve 4. Cooked it in my little crock pot. Very spicy and hot. We loved it. Thanks for posting. :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
teresas February 21, 2009

This recipe made it into our Book #231450. 7/19/08 - We had planned a southern dinner tonight with fried chicken, mashed potatoes, and zucchini bread. We saw this recipe last night, and decided to add it to the menu. Buddha loves baked beans, and heat. He was dissapointed, and neither was I. I used only 1 Tbsp of our Got the 2bleu's Hot Sauce (because it's really hot!) and 1/2 tsp of dried chipolte chili powder. Everything else as directed except we slow cooked them on the stovetop. Wonderful heat, Wonderful flavor! Now this is our new baked beans recipe, thanks for posting. :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
2Bleu December 28, 2008

These are very good - great flavor! The only thing I did differently was to add some chopped onion. We'll definitely have these again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
SusanRW June 28, 2008

sooo good..but a little "saucier" than I was hoping for. I think next time I'll drain the cans of pork and beans first. Other than that -just about the best beans I've ever had! sorry about the "no stars"...I did give it 5..I have no idea what happened!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
kimberlyholst September 05, 2007

Oh heck yeah! They are THAT good. I took prior reviewers into consideration and shortly after adding all ingredients I added a slurry of cornstarch and water. The end result...my DH has been eating these beans nonstop and is worried because the bowl is getting low and they aren't on the menu for the rest of the week. The easiest, tastiest bbq beans I have had.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
AQueen September 04, 2007

I had really high hopes for this recipe as we have a Rib place near us that makes excellent Spicy BBQ beans. The recipe went together really easily. I did notice that the sauce was really thin and I was concerned it would stay that way. I started cooking in on high in the crockpot early to see if it would stay thin, and it did. So about an hour before dinner, I tranferred the beans to a pot on the stove and reduced the sauce down. The results - REALLY good beans that will be a regular part of our BBQ's when we want our beans spicy. Everyone loved them and there was very little left even though there were only 6 adults eating at our Father's Day BBQ. Thanks Rock & Roll BBQ Chef! I am going to try more of your recipes!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sooz Cooks June 18, 2007
Rock & Roll BBQ Pit Style Beans for the Crock Pot