16 Reviews

This is the kind of fish taco I'm talking about! With way too many leftover flour tortillas AND fishsticks, this recipe was perfect. I used Gorton's "Premium Tilapia" fishsticks (I couldn't really discern a difference between these and any others I've tasted) and had to chop up some pre-bagged iceberg salad-mix, but it worked just deliciously. I also added a scoop of chow-chow to each taco, to stand in for the tartar sauce. So easy, so fast, so.. thank you!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Froggus. April 24, 2011

Well I WAS going to give these one star but since he named them after me... JUST KIDDING! we loved these! even if they didn't have my name in them, this is so simple to prepare and tastes so good! I told my niece in a text what we were having for dinner and how many she would like me to make her when she gets home, I wanted them fresh for her, she said uh one... well after she ate her one she insisted I make her 4 more! she said she thought they would be weird but loved them, my husband really liked them too. And my niece is really happy as it is something easy she will for sure make for herself. I did use Van de Kamps, just personal preference. Didn't need anything to be served with, however I had lime and hot sauce on hand for those who wanted it, the lime was nice. Thank you! Oh I just nuked the tortillas in the microwave under a damp paper towel for one minute, a nice stack of them... perfect.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
~Robyn~ January 11, 2010

4 stars as written, but we increased it to 5 after we ditched the ranch in favor of some Mexican crema (get it at Walmart) jazzed up with cilantro and lime juice. Cole slaw mix or cabbage is best, but we've used iceberg and romaine in a pinch. These are the crunchy fish tacos you've always dreamed of!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sandy Toes May 16, 2016

First time we ate this at dinner, I would have given it 4 fours, but when I ate the leftovers I used tartar sauce instead of ranch (as another reviewer did), and it brought my rating up to 5 stars. I used Trader Joe's jalapeno tartar sauce, so it gave it a nice kick, and it was really the bomb with it. The base recipe is really easy and contains great ingredients. Any way you make it, you will enjoy it.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Maito October 16, 2014

On a table in a flash and not bad at all! I used Baja Sauce.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
rosslare March 15, 2013

Could you ask for anything easier or faster than these tasty fish stick tacos? Made as written and had lunch on the table within 20 minutes. Thanks so much for such a quick tasty lunch.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Debbwl February 05, 2011

These are so good, so easy and so quick--what more could you want on a week night! Used shredded lettuce as had no coleslaw mix, added minced onions and some sliced black olives----turned out great. Also mixed the ranch dressing with some salsa.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mickie49 March 25, 2010

~Tasty's~ favorite celebrity is Pot Scrubber. Two thumbs up from ~Tasty~ for one delicious recipe! Reminds her Mama of her Southern California days. Corn for us, too in this particular recipe. Thanks for posting! !Vivan los palitos de pescado!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
COOKGIRl March 02, 2010

Tasty, easy and quick. DH and I spread a little mashed avocado on the tortilla before filling it and instead of ranch used lite creamy caesar drizzled over the top. A nice change up to our routine but don't know if we'll make again. Thanks for posting such an original recipe!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Houseblend February 10, 2010

Tried this last night and found it delightfully easy and tasty. Substituted some salsa for the tomato and smeared some guac on the tortilla before assembly. Gonna do this again, soon.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mikeyp January 29, 2010
Robyn's Fish Stick Tacos