Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Roasted Vegetable Stock Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Roasted Vegetable Stock

    Average Rating:

    17 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-17 of 17

    Sort by:

    • on January 04, 2009

      Great to find a recipe here with an awesome mirepoix as its base. I recommend, instead of scraping, use a small bit of water or white wine in the roasting pan, over a burner for a bit and lift those tasty morsels off without an effort. Wonderful stuff those morsels are!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 13, 2011

      This makes a great tasting stock. The house smelled wonderful while it was cooking. I haven't used it in a recipe yet but plan to in the next week or so.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 01, 2010

      This makes a marvelous broth! It'll be great in the winter... guess I'll be throwing out my Seitenbacher's now...

      I used about 8 cloves of garlic, and I added a parsnip, a turnip, and some allspice berries. I think I might have added a small splash of toasted sesame oil as well. I did not use any leeks.

      I used this recipe for stock for African peanut soup. It turned out great. This weekend my wife and I are making porcini risotto, maybe I'll halve a couple of portobello stems and roast them as well.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 21, 2010

      This was an a straitforward and great tasting stock. I've never made vegetable stock before, and really like the idea of this - from fundamental ingredients rather than prepackaged. Thanks for the keeper.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 16, 2009

      I used a wide variety of veggies including beets which added a beautiful color. This was wonderful.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 14, 2009

    • on August 01, 2008

      I made this yesterday and today I'm canning it. I didn't really go exactly by the recipe however, I used it as a guideline. I used all the ingredients in the recipe plus I used all the scraps that I threw in the freezer of asparagus and broccoli stalks and bags of spinach that I got on sale. I never thought to roast my vegetables and boy, what a difference that made!! Such a rich stock that filled the house with a delightful aroma. Thank you so much for sharing this recipe. I will use these guidelines for all my stocks from now on.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 15, 2008

      I've been making vegetable stock the old fashioned way which was great but roasting the vegetables just adds a whole new and even better flavor to the stock. Ah...that sweet slightly smoky taste...I will do it this way when ever I have time...Thanks you so much for posting this.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 20, 2008

      Oh, dear, spotting a recent review of this recipe reminded me that I'd totally forgotten to put in my two cents' worth. So sorry for the delay, but I happily add 5 stars! I'd made chicken stock and beef stock zillions of times but had never tried veggie stock before for some reason. This method is fab, and I've found an incredible number of uses for the end product. If you are a young cook, or just a cook who is trying to expand your horizons, I would highly recommend that you visit the French Forum and work your way through all of Chef Kate and chia's tutorials. They're quite extraordinary -- and so simple and clear that any idjit could duplicate their fabulous results. Best thing on 'zaar, imho.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 18, 2008

      Chef Kate~~~This is WONDERFUL. Didn't change a thing. Mine came out to 7 cups, so now I have it on hand for whatever I am cooking at the time. Thanks you sooo much. Love and hugs~~~Angelcook~~~

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 05, 2008

      Excellent! I was looking for a vegetarian stock that could hold its own in place of chicken broth, etc. This was outstanding. I used all as specified except I subbed two dried bay leaves (fresh herbs are impossible to find in this town) and did not add the fennel (though I might just to try it next time). Used as a base for the Equadorian Veg and Quinoa soup) and froze the one leftover cup. Will be making again soon and doubling to keep some in the freezer. Many thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 03, 2008

      oh man i LOVE making this stock! i have it on the stove as we speak and nothing is better than smelling those veggies roasting before they go in the pot and the smell of simmering all day is yummy! its a great base for soups and a great way to use up any veggies you have on hand that you would otherwise have to throw out... thanks for a great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 26, 2006

      FANTASTIC VEGGIE STOCK!!!!! So simple to make at the taste is incredible! Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 19, 2006

      I roasted my vegetables but didnt get to make my stock right away. Placed the vege's in a ziplock bag, stored in the refrigerator overnight. The next day made the stock and it was wonderful! The smells from the pot while the stock was cooking, yummm! I made my mom's recipe for potato dumplings and we enjoyed this even more the next day! Thank you Chef Kate!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 18, 2005

      very easy to prepare this was a full bodied dark vegetable stock. i made a mushroom barley soup and froze the rest. i have been using it as needed when a recipe calls for a cup or 2 of stock. thanks kate for a keeper.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 26, 2005

      This stock was every bit as delicious as I had expected it to be. How could it be otherwise with all those yummy ingredients! And roasted! It was tempting to eat some when they came out of the oven! They smelt and looked just great. I took the option of adding more garlic: 12 cloves in all. But I had also slightly increased (pretty much doubled) the proportions of all of the vegetables. I used 2 onions, a kilo of baby carrots, 5 leeks and 6 stalks of celery. And I added 1 parsnip, because it was in the fridge and needed to be used. From the roasting pan, I transferred the vegetables to my larger crock pot, which I filled with water and turned onto high for about two hours, then turned down to low for an additional three hours, then returned to high for another two hours after the solids had been removed in step 7. The aroma from the stock as it cooked was just heavenly. I used the stock in my Sweet Potato & Pear Soup Sweet Potato & Pear Soup, which I hadn’t made since joining Zaar and making everyone’s recipes but my own! But my mother – who’s not actually big on soups – has been lamenting the fact that I hadn’t made it in ages. Well, no more bought stocks for me ever again. Not that I’ve bought any in ages because I have another great vegetable stock recipe which I’ve been making for some time now. My Sweet Potato & Pear Soup, which is always delicious, has never tasted as good as this last batch did. And I’ve got another generous portion of this stock in the freezer. Thanks Kate for another scrumptious recipe which I’ll be making often!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 08, 2005

      I put a piece of moose meat, rump roast in the slow cooker last night; added just enough Roasted Vegetable Stock to cover the meat; started the cooker on high until the liquid, (along the inside walls of the pot), was simmering; reduced the heat to low, and let it cook overnight. This morning I was awakened to the aroma of a fine moose meat, pot roast. I removed the meat and thickened sufficient liquid with a mixture of broth from the slow cooker, and a cup of cabernet sauvignon, returned the roast to the liquid and let it all simmer for an additional hour or so. Ambrosia. This evening before serving, I shall thicken the sauce further with a mixture of roast juices, and sour cream, (just like home). The evening dinner will be moose meat pot roast, home made broad noodles and a mesculin salad. Thanks Kate for a really simple-to-make broth.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Roasted Vegetable Stock

    Serving Size: 1 (757 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 94.6
     
    Calories from Fat 42
    45%
    Total Fat 4.7 g
    7%
    Saturated Fat 0.6 g
    3%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 47.2 mg
    1%
    Total Carbohydrate 12.6 g
    4%
    Dietary Fiber 2.4 g
    9%
    Sugars 4.6 g
    18%
    Protein 1.4 g
    2%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites