15 Reviews

This was excellent! Readers' comments were helpful as I tried different vegatables to suit my taste- zucchini, yellow squash, fresh mushrooms & red onion. A friend recommends adding 1/4 t ground ceyanne pepper to any quiche as they tend to be bland otherwise. I did this and it is fabulous. It gives it warmth without the heat, with no complaints from my Scandanavian palates. Baking the crust and roasting the veggies a day ahead made the prep on the day of a snap. 4 oz of gruyere shredded seemed like a lot but it baked up beautifully! Thank you for sharing!

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Essdee May 08, 2011

Mmmm!!! I love roast veg it brings out all the sweetness of the veg when you roast so I knew that I would love this. I didn't have any yellow peppers so I added a couple of chestnut mushrooms to the mix and it was lovely. The rest of the recipe was as written, except for the crust, I left it out as I can't eat pie crust but it made an amazing crust less quiche. I did add a wee bit milk to my cream and egg mixture just to fill the dish. I will be making this again it was deli-sh. Made for Honor thy Mother tag game May 2011

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Tea Jenny May 02, 2011

Sylvie, Thanks for such a great recipe. I took liberties and used egg beaters and half & half. I also used Marie Callenders frozen pie crust...and it was so good!

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Tastings by CeCe July 26, 2007

This was wonderful...I used some veggies that I had roasted yesterday(yellow squash, zucchini, onion, and cauliflower). I did use southwestern eggbeaters instead of eggs..it had red and green peppers in it. I will definately make this over and over.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Queenofcamping April 16, 2007

Like the previous reviewer, I used zucchini, yellow squash, fresh mushrooms, onion and included the cayenne pepper. It was excellent! Thanks for sharing your recipe!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Skooch May 06, 2013

since white flour is a no-no for me..when making quiche - which I love.. I use a mashed potato crust..( add a bit of garlic or minced onion ) and it works great.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
kc4tom May 09, 2012

I must have read the same magazine- but lost the clipping and so happy to find this recipe again ! It is a superb quiche. The roasting of the veggies and gruyere cheese give this a sophisticated edge over standby ham & cheese. Great take along dish. I use premade crusts (yes) and do substitute half&half for the cream Thanks Sylvie ! glad to find this :)

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
red_baron May 06, 2010

I used half and half instead of full cream. I was afraid it wouldn't be enough liquid for all those veggies but it was. Very rich, very yummy.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
gobruijns May 11, 2008

This recipe was very very good. The roasting of the veggies brings out a wonderful taste. I added rosemary, thyme and pepper and it came out awesome. I suggest that after you bake it you wait a bit before cutting to avoid the slice falling apart. That's if you can wait that long.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Marz September 18, 2006

This recipe deserves more than 5 stars! It was delicious. The roasting of the veggies really brings out their flavor, and the pie was chockful of them. It's a cheesier quiche than most, less custard-like, and was perfect for these veggies. I put this one in my Perfection cookbook. Can't get any better than this!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
PanNan January 23, 2006
Roasted Vegetable and Gruyere Quiche