14 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

The turkey tasted great with this rub. I rubbed it under the skin then poured a pot of boiling water over it so the skin would shrink up on the turkey and seal it in, then pat dried the outside and rubbed the rest on. I put on a bed of thickly sliced onions and put a can of chicken broth in the bottom. I also basted it twice in the last hour. The turkey was about 7 lbs and it took about 3 1/2 hrs to cook all the way through!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Rollin in the Dough! June 07, 2009

Delicious way to prepare a turkey breast. The meat was super moist and juicy. The spice rub was very tingly, but not too hot. Didn't make the gravy, but I am sure it would be great. Thanks for a great recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ratherbeswimmin' April 04, 2012

I used this recipe on a butterball boneless turkey roast (basically turkey breast tied w/ string.) We all enjoyed it. I didn't get to make the gravy since I didn't have any drippings, so my gravy was made w/ butter instead. I will probably make it again but I might experiment w/ other ways of preparing first.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Smarahcakes January 05, 2012

Was intrigued by several of the ingredients. Split a turkey breast as I am down to my toaster oven temporarily. Did the first half without marinating. It had a good flavor, but not the pizzazz I was expecting. Did the second half the next day after marinating over night. Wow! It made the best turkey sandwich. My son's reaction when he dropped by was, "Wow"!
I did tweak it as Thyme is a must for my poultry dishes. I also added an extra clove of garlic. The recipe is wonderful. I thought I would never find it again. So it goes into my cookbook as of now.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Storrer Cook July 18, 2011

Delicious flavor. I had already brined my breast before finding this recipe. I used your exact ingredienets except for the cumin (1/2 tsp because that's all I had left). Very tasty and moist, and I plan to use this same recipe to roast a chicken in a few days..

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lcgc717 December 01, 2010

A very flavorful turkey breast. Cooked up in just over 2-1/2 hours and the gravy was delicious without any additional spices. Served with mashed potatoes and roasted asparagus. A very nice Sunday dinner. Thank you, Ridgely

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Great!full March 22, 2010

I WISH, WISH, WISH there were more than 5 stars for this recipe! I had half a turkey breast that was on sale and was looking for something to do with it. As I didn't have any limes, I omitted the lime/olive oil rubdown, but I mixed the dry rub ingredients with about 4 Tbsp of butter and greased up the breast. Oh MY! So, so, SO delicious! I used all the drippings for the gravy and wound up eating extra potatoes and more turkey JUST to eat more gravy! Thank you SO much!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jmommy209 October 15, 2009

Ladies and Gentlemen, May I have your attention ? We have here a " Winner, Winner Turkey Dinner :) I made this recipe on 6/15/09 for mine and SO's Linner ( a combo of lunch/dinner ).I just used the part of the recipe for the dry rub. And the turkey breast was done to perfection in 2 1/2 hours. I used the drippings fron this recipe to make Kittencal's Easy No-Fail Make Anytime Turkey Gravy. And everything was so good, just the right amount of spiciness. I bet this rub method would be great on a whole turkey. This will be made again. Thanks for posting and, " Keep Smiling :) "

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef shapeweaver � June 15, 2009

This review is for the dry rub only which is outstanding. I chose to cook my turkey breast on a rotisserie using this dry rub and it was moist and very flavorful. Thank you Ridgely for sharing the recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
BonnieZ April 29, 2009

Review is only for dry rub! I used this dry rub to season Beer Can Chicken and it was absolutely fabulous! Just the right amount of spice and flavor!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
~Paula~ November 27, 2008
Roasted Turkey Breast With Zesty Dry Rub