Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Roasted -tomato Soup Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Roasted -tomato Soup

    Average Rating:

    27 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 27

    Sort by:

    • on February 21, 2004

      Boy this was a treat made grilled cheese sandwhichs to go with this,i will be making this over and over again this summer cant wait

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 29, 2004

      This recipe takes the humble tomato and creates a simple, but elegant soup that is truly fit for a special dinner party. However, this batch was made especially for my dil who was craving some tomato soup and couldn't find any in the store that didn't have sugar. I made this soup and substituted Splenda for the sugar, but will decrease the amount next time I make it. Since I only got to sample a couple of spoonfuls, I will definitely be baking this again soon. I used plum tomatoes and was surprised that I didn't have to strain this soup after pureeing it with my hand blender. EXCELLENT recipe CountryLady!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 16, 2003

      What an elegant soup! The garlic flavor mixed so beautifully with the tomato flavor. I shredded a bit of parmesan over the top and toasted some fresh roasted garlic bread. What a meal!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 03, 2003

      Delish. Followed recipe exactly.Great way to use up abundance of rapidly ripening tomatoes.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 20, 2011

      This is so yummy! It is good without the cream as well. I served it to some women at a function and they all really liked it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 05, 2010

      This soup is just delicious. I halved it, as I only had about half the tomatoes called for on hand. I used a mix of yellow, red and mixed color tomatoes, and 3 large cloves of garlic. I didn't add the cream, but I did add about two tablespoons of chopped fresh basil to the onions. Used my immersion blender and didn't strain. I liked the random small chunks of stuff floating around... This soup is creamy without the cream, and just perfect on a cool, early fall day. Love it, and I know I'll make it often.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 15, 2010

      I used roma tomatoes and followed the directions exactly except I omitted the cream because I did'nt have any. It was so good. Thanks for posting this recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 07, 2010

      WOW!!! The best tomato soup ever... roasting the tomatos and garlic brings out such a fresh, sweet taste. My kids...ages 4, 3 and 1 1/2 were fighting over the first cup I brought them to taste. I used an immersion blender to blend it right in the pot and I didn't strain it, either. Added some fresh basil in the last few minutes. I was a little distressed by the 40 lbs of tomatos my husband picked from the garden yesterday until I tried this... will freeze more. Thanks so much!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 24, 2010

      Made exactly as written and it turned out great. I didn't have to use food processor, I used my handheld blender. Makes alot of soup, so I hope it freezes well.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 15, 2009

    • on October 13, 2009

      Oh my goodness this was the best tomato soup we'd ever had!! And it was so simple too!! I used 1/4 cup of heavy cream, but it was even really delicious before adding the cream. Also used olive oil instead of butter and added 1/4 teaspoon dried basil. Next time I will make the parmesan wafer to float on top!! Thanks for a great recipe!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 05, 2009

      The garlic smells so wonderful!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 20, 2009

      Excellent! I sauted' the onions with a stalk of celery chopped very fine, thats the only change I made. This is a keeper for sure!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 24, 2008

      Great recipe and easy. I added a bit of fresh basil in a blender with the cream. It was great.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 14, 2007

      I liked this soup so much that I made 6 batches of it and canned it (before adding the cream). Before trying this recipe I disliked tomato soup; this is very different! I think it was the roasted flavor and the texture. I didn't need to strain it after blending either. I did add more garlic, basil, salt and sugar just to suit my tastes, but I also think this is an excellent recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 27, 2006

      Very delicious! Exellent texture and flavor albiet a big strong on the onion for my taste (although this could be the onion's fault!). Next time, I will only use 1/2 medium onion and double the garlic. I used some of my frozen chicken broth prepared from Chicken Mix and Broth. Thanks for posting, Country Lady!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 23, 2006

      You can't get better then this. This is THE best homemade tomato soup I've had!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 16, 2005

      YUM! This was great, just the ticket dinner on the night of the first snowfall of the season. I followed the directions to the letter, with the tiny exception of using a splash of red wine vinegar (in addition to the olive oil, salt & pepper) to the roasting of the tomatoes. Served with grilled cheese and BLT's. I'll be making this again! Thanks.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 13, 2005

      Absolutely wonderful Marg! This is one of the best tomato soups I have made yet, and I have made many! I used very ripe plum tomatoes from my garden, didn't have to roast any garlic, I had it already prepared in my freezer. I pureed the soup then sprinkle grated Parmesan cheese on top when serving. We had this with crusty homemade rolls, what a fantastic dinner, thank you for another winner Marg!...Kitten:)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 09, 2005

      An outstanding tasting soup. I have eaten and made many tomato soups, this wins hands down in easy of peparation and in tast. I made a small bobo, I forgot to roast the garlic so I added 1 tsp of finely minced garlic with the onions. I was still great with out any harsh garlic taste. I also didnt need to strain the soup. This recipe is going into my Specail file.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Roasted -tomato Soup

    Serving Size: 1 (477 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 416.0
     
    Calories from Fat 270
    64%
    Total Fat 30.0 g
    46%
    Saturated Fat 12.6 g
    63%
    Cholesterol 61.4 mg
    20%
    Sodium 585.0 mg
    24%
    Total Carbohydrate 31.1 g
    10%
    Dietary Fiber 6.1 g
    24%
    Sugars 18.1 g
    72%
    Protein 9.8 g
    19%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites