Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Roasted Tomato Soup Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Roasted Tomato Soup

    Average Rating:

    126 Total Reviews

    Showing 41-60 of 126

    Sort by:

    • on August 20, 2010

      This was really pretty easy and very tasty. My husband, who doesn't like canned tomato soup, said "Now that is how tomato soup should taste!" I used a random assortment of tomatoes left over from our veggie share and I froze the leftovers, so we will see how those turn out!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 02, 2010

      Loved this recipe. I did need to add a little sugar to my soup at the end. Thanks for sharing

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 21, 2010

      This was my forst homemade tomato soup and WOW. The whole family loved it. Kids and grandparents. Making it again tonight.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 19, 2010

      I was very happy to come across this recipe, as I had a pint of tomatoes about to go bad also. I halved the recipe and made it as directed, except omitting the vinegar, and using dried version of the spices, as I didn't have any other. It only took about 30 min. roasting before my tomatoes began to brown a lot, so I took them out then. I used heated chicken stock and blended using a food processor. While I have a lot of issues with food texture, I thought the texture was very good, a rough but thorough blend, although definately not smooth. I will definately make it again. Thanks for such a simple, hearty, healthy & unique recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 14, 2010

      Really fantastic soup. This is the first time I used vegetable stock; I thought it was quite good in this recipe. The only change I added was to also roast 1 large carrot with the tomatoes & onions. Next time I will remove the skins from the tomatoes before roasting them.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 02, 2010

      This was very tasty. My house smelled *so* good while those tomatoes were roasting. YUM! I think next time I may add a bit more onion than what was called for, but that's just me. Others may not like as much of that flavor as I do. Thanks for sharing a great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 14, 2009

      easy and very yummy. used the leftovers as a base for a meatloaf sauce.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 30, 2009

      This is a very good soup. I used half the garlic and will still cut back next time. I also added a teaspoon of sugar and several leaves of fresh basil during the pure' process. Very nice soup

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 24, 2009

      I'm trying to figure out how to hide this so I don't have to share... LOL. Have just had 2 bowls. :) This recipe is wonderful. I used all fresh ingredients although I may used canned tomatoes next time since the ones in the stores right now don't have much flavor. This is tasty and healthy, unless you add a little cream. I tried it both ways & it's great either way. Plan to make a double batch to throw into freezer for chilly fall days to come.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 20, 2009

      Easy to make and delicious... reminds me of an ALton Brown marinara I've made before... the smell is absolutely marvelous. Great recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 19, 2009

    • on September 09, 2009

      This tasted like Italian Tomato Sauce. Sorry, but my entire family didn't like it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 07, 2009

      This is an excellent recipe. I used a lot more fresh herbs than called for in the recipe. I made two batches of tomatoes. The first batch was baked as directed, but I used more herbs. The second one, I layered the herbs on the bottom, placed the tomatoes on top of the herbs, and followed the recipe from there. We preferred the herbs on the bottom. I should also say that I did not measure anything (I usually don't). I only used 1 coup of broth at the end. Thanks for sharing this recipe. I will definitely make it again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 06, 2009

      Delicious! I have some crazy cherry tomato plants and so many have ended up going bad because I couldn't eat them fast enough. This was a PERFECT way to use up a bunch of them. I don't know if it was 2 pounds, but I used about 4 cups cherry tomatoes, only needed 1 cup of broth and kept everything else the same. All the tomato seeds/skins gave it a great texture. It definitey was not 6-8 serving though; maybe more like 3-4 if it's going to be a meal. I was really impressed with how easy it was to get such a satisfying, homemade soup, just roast and puree. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 02, 2009

      YUM! This was very easy to make. And, even easier to eat! I used cider vinegar because that is what I had on hand and it was still great. I was not sure about the serving size as I thought it made 2 good size bowls. And, it is only 4 Weight Watchers Points for each of the 2 bowls. I will definitely make this again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 24, 2009

    • on June 19, 2009

      Best tomato soup I've ever had - and healthy, too! Based on a previous review, I also doubled the amount of onion, garlic and basil, and it turned out perfect!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 01, 2009

      I made this for a friend who was sick. I love the full and flavorful soup that ended up being made. I'm glad its so easy to make because it means when I'm sick, I can make it for myself without too much of a problem.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 09, 2009

      I was looking for a straightforward (but not boring) tomato soup for a case of winter blues, and I found some good roma tomatoes on sale. I followed this recipe approximately but used dried herbs, none of the optional cheese, a little bit of crushed red pepper for a hint of heat and just a bit of milk to round things out. I used my KitchenAid immersion blender and really liked the final texture. I did not peel the tomatoes and didn't end up with any skin peels or other pieces. The final texture wasn't as smooth as canned soup, but who wants that anyways? Simple recipe with great classic flavors!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 07, 2009

      I just tried this recipe using fresh Roma tomatoes. As other reviewers noted, the roasting aroma was great. I seeded but did not peel the tomatoes. My blender is stored away so used my immersion blender. No dice. Should have peeled the tomatoes because I ended up with shreds of skin, chunks of garlic and chunks of onion. So, tried my hand mixer and ended up with tomato puree flying all over the walls. I still couldn't get it properly blended so ended up straining al those desirable bits out which also strained out all the good tomato pulp. I ended with about 8 oz. of tomato juice. It would have been worth it though, if the flavor lived up to so many glowing reviews. In IMHO, it did not. The flavor was thin, no body at all. This was a big disappointment and a waste of time and money.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Roasted Tomato Soup

    Serving Size: 1 (127 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 56.0
     
    Calories from Fat 23
    41%
    Total Fat 2.5 g
    3%
    Saturated Fat 0.3 g
    1%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 8.9 mg
    0%
    Total Carbohydrate 7.7 g
    2%
    Dietary Fiber 1.9 g
    7%
    Sugars 4.6 g
    18%
    Protein 1.6 g
    3%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    oregano

    fat-free vegetable broth

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites