128 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Great fuss free recipe, and really tasty. Made for my Dad and Sister and they thought it was delicious too! I added a little milk to mellow it as I didn't have any parmesan cheese.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
zoel September 21, 2013

Really easy and fairly quick! I also ran the whole thing through a strainer because the skins on my tomatoes were too tough/chewy. The flavor was a bit too sweet and intense so I may add cream or milk next time.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
emcquaid September 15, 2013

Oh yum! I made this last night for my kids with some grilled cheese sandwiches. This is so good, and healthy. DH isn't a fan of canned tomato soup so I can't wait for him to try this recipe. He will love it. Its such an easy recipe to make too. Roasting the veggies gives them so much flavor. Great recipe, thank you for sharing with us.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mommyoffour April 30, 2013

Absolutely delicious and very easy! I added some red and yellow peppers and a stalk of celery to the roasting pan, and increased the onion a bit. I've made it a couple of times, using whatever is in the crisper that should be used up. Smells divine while cooking, healthy, and very intensely flavored. It freezes really nicely too!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
CarlaP February 22, 2013

Wow! This soup is amazing. It was so easy to make and the taste and texture is perfect. It tastes like there is cream in it but is much healthier without. I didn't have any garlic or fresh herbs so just sprinked some dry spices on the tomatoes and onion before roasting. I will make often!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chris from Kansas December 17, 2012

Used the last of my Roma tomatoes from the garden to make this. Turned out great but did add 1/4 c. cream at the end. Served with a baked grilled cheese sandwich. Yum.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
adopt a greyhound November 18, 2012

WINNER! Ding, Ding Ding! We used a variety of tomatoes since we had a frost warning last night and needed to clean out the garden. For this recipe I used whole springs of oregano and basil they toast up nice and the leaves are much easier to remove AFTER you cook them. This will make a great base for anything I need to use cooked tomatoes for. Already planning to "freezer can" some in the next few days.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
more time momma October 09, 2012

I pumped this up per reviewer suggestions. I doubled the onion, added a hot pepper, a jalapeno and 1/2 a green pepper. YUM

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
swiz58 September 30, 2012

Delicious! Very simple yet flavourful soup. The hardest part was cutting the onions, lol. I used dried oregano and basil because I didn't have any fresh herbs but did use tomatoes from the garden. What a taste! I will be making this one a lot, especially with the cooler weather coming. Should also mention my house smelled fantastic while this was roasting in the oven. Thanks for sharing!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Katie Lou Who September 09, 2012

Great recipe! This is the second summer I've made this recipe. I quadrupled it just now and plan on freezing some. We had lots of tomatoes getting ready to turn and I used fresh herbs from the garden. I added some hot peppers and a bit of sweet pepper because I had plenty around. We also added a bit of honey and used a lot less stock. Came out great!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
peachyopal August 27, 2012
Roasted Tomato Soup