Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Roasted Tomato Soup Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Roasted Tomato Soup

    Average Rating:

    128 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 128

    Sort by:

    • on January 08, 2012

      AMAZING! So easy, I will never do anything else! I sauted some spinach and added it to the mix afterward, but this is the best recipe I have found on this site! Thanks for sharing! I also added some cooked tortellini and some chicken, but this soup is so fresh and delicious by itself. I made it yesterday and my neighbors already requested I send them the recipe :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 23, 2010

      I made this two summers ago with some roma tomatoes from my family's garden. My dad, who said he doesn't like tomato soup, now insists on me making this for him. It really is that good. We can it for the fall and winter months too.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 18, 2010

      I've made this twice now and think it's an AMAZING recipe. I made it exactly as written, but just ran the whole soup through a mess strainer to get the tomato seeds and any tomato skins out. I also added maybe a quarter cup of milk because I actually thought the soup was almost too intensely flavored. Thanks for the recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 25, 2009

      This is a wonderful soup, I call it a Miracle Soup, I have been fighting a sinus infection for 3 1/2 weeks, anti-biotics were not working... had 3 bowls of this soup yesterday and no more sinus symptoms, this soup is packed with nutrition. I use 25 year old balsamic and more garlic and onions than called for and also dried basil and italian seasoning. After roasting, I pour the tomato mixture in a large sauce pan, add liquid, and blend with a stick blender, works perfectly. My wife loved the soup too, she finished it off. Making some more right now, it is addictive. Sending link to entire family. Oh, and your house will smell like an Italian restaurant, wonderful smell.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 14, 2010

      Fantastic. So easy. And surprisingly substantial. We generally like a roasted tomato and basil bisque and this did the trick without any cream. I think for the next time I will use 1/3 less garlic - but I give this recipe 5 stars for taste, ease of accomplishment, and because you can make it the same night and it's wonderful.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 06, 2012

      This was great...I followed the recipe almost exactly, but I did also roast some yellow bell pepper since I had half of one already in the fridge. I also added a bit of half and half before serving to make it a little creamy. This was excellent and my husband (who normally doesn't like "broth based meals" actually praised it and asked to have it again soon.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 02, 2011

      I've made this 3 times now and can't stop talking about it to everyone. I enjoy the ease of it and minimal time it takes to actually prepare. I did only put 1 cup of chicken broth and added 1/4 cup of heavy cream and 1/2 cup of the tomato liquid. I also added about 1/4 tsp of red pepper flakes for a little heat and overall the taste was creamy with a little kick. I made several batches to freeze for lunches which is reheating nicely and have also used tomatoes that were at their end of prime which cooked up nicely as well.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 27, 2011

      This was really good! (and that is coming from someone who hates canned tomato soup and has never had homemade) Like some other posters recommended I roasted a couple of carrots, a stalk of celery and a bit more onion with my tomatoes. I also added about 1/3 cup of milk and a dash of cayenne pepper to the soup. This is a great soup and my kitchen smells great! Just what I was looking for to serve with my turkey and swiss Stromboli.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 31, 2010

      This was my first time really making tomato soup from scratch - using tomatoes straight from our garden - and it was fabulous! I used dry herbs since I did not have fresh on hand. I'm sure it'd be even better with fresh, but this was still very tasty. I threw in two carrots and one celery to the roasted vegetables, and a lot more onion than called for, and it all turned out wonderfully. I also strained the soup at the end (it was also great before straining), added some cayenne for some heat and some milk to finish it all off. I'm looking forward to the leftovers tonight. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 22, 2009

      Excellent soup! We loved this, added a touch of cream. I prefer the tomatoes pureed with the skin on, this keeps most of the fiber and more of the nutrients. I also enjoy the texture. Thanks for a wonderful recipe

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 09, 2009

      This is the best and easiest tomato soup I have ever made. I doubled the amount of onion, garlic and basil and it came out perfect. My husband and I finshed off the whole pot ourselves! Thanks, Toni!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 08, 2011

      We love this soup, and have experimented to find the wine that works best with it. We first tried Chardonnay (which was dwarfed by the acid in the tomatoes), and some lighter reds such as Pinot and Sangiovese, which were nice. But our favorite was an off-dry blush wine - not sweet, but one with enough fruitiness to work with the caremelization of the roasted tomatoes and enough acidity to stand up to them. A most happy pairing, even for a cold winter day, which is when we like this soup the best!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 19, 2010

      Yummy. Lots of great flavor here. I added just a pinch of sugar and a teeny bit of olive oil to finish it off before serving.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 14, 2009

      Great hearty soup. I used roma tomatoes and dried oregano and basil and turned out very nicely.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 20, 2014

      Sooo good!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 11, 2014

      I made this using my home grown cherry tomatoes-- it was perfect because I had NO idea what I was going to do with all of those stupid tomatoes! I did add a bit of cream and a little tomato juice. My husband hates tomato soup, and went back for three more bowls. This is a winner, and I'll definitely be adding it to my arsenal of recipes that my picky eaters will actually eat! Eight thumbs up from this family! :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 22, 2014

      I love this recipe! I add peppers when roasting (red, jalapeño, and/or poblano) for a little variation. And sometimes a little cream or milk.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 16, 2014

      I am stuck in China, and do not have an oven to roast veggies. And access to herbs outside of the local speciality dishes - spicy foods - is near impossible to obtain. However, the recipe here is an excellent tomato recipe and can be adjusted based on the variety of tomato available. I do tend to agree that sometimes the acidity levels are a little high and I either add a shot or two of sugar, or I substitute with a good quality tomato sauce.... And when I feel like a good home made Minetrone, I add cubed potatoes, carrots, barley, mushrooms, more onion, garlic,celery and at end of cooking stage some noodles or pasta, broken into bite sizes, you can also add minced beef or teenie meatballs for those men out there that prefer a stewy soup or for kids, alphabet noodles are pretty cool. (they play scrabble at the table based on the letters in the soup....). 3 points for three letter words, 4 points for four and so forth.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 09, 2013

      I have made this several times now and it is the BEST!! The only thing I change adding about a 1/2 tsp truvia (could use sugar a well) to soften the acidic taste, and I add fresh mozzarella cubes instead of the Parmesan and add fresh basil on top... Delish!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 20, 2013

      Great soup! I added 1 hot pepper, 1 sweet pepper,2 carrots, 1 parsnip and 1 stalk of celery cut in pieces to my roasted veggies. Followed the rest of the instruction, but added about 1/2-1 cup of low fat milk, after blending everything together.<br/>Second time around added a whole yellow sweet onion, 1 hot and 1 sweet pepper, 2 carrots, 1 stalk of celery, 1 white part of leeks, washed and cut up to my roasting veggies. Followed the rest of instructions and served with grilled cheese sandwich.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3 4 5 6 ... 7

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Roasted Tomato Soup

    Serving Size: 1 (127 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 56.0
     
    Calories from Fat 23
    41%
    Total Fat 2.5 g
    3%
    Saturated Fat 0.3 g
    1%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 8.9 mg
    0%
    Total Carbohydrate 7.7 g
    2%
    Dietary Fiber 1.9 g
    7%
    Sugars 4.6 g
    18%
    Protein 1.6 g
    3%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    oregano

    fat-free vegetable broth

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites