128 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

AMAZING! So easy, I will never do anything else! I sauted some spinach and added it to the mix afterward, but this is the best recipe I have found on this site! Thanks for sharing! I also added some cooked tortellini and some chicken, but this soup is so fresh and delicious by itself. I made it yesterday and my neighbors already requested I send them the recipe :)

7 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
kas06019 January 08, 2012

I made this two summers ago with some roma tomatoes from my family's garden. My dad, who said he doesn't like tomato soup, now insists on me making this for him. It really is that good. We can it for the fall and winter months too.

6 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
byablonski July 23, 2010

I've made this twice now and think it's an AMAZING recipe. I made it exactly as written, but just ran the whole soup through a mess strainer to get the tomato seeds and any tomato skins out. I also added maybe a quarter cup of milk because I actually thought the soup was almost too intensely flavored. Thanks for the recipe!

6 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
L K January 18, 2010

This is a wonderful soup, I call it a Miracle Soup, I have been fighting a sinus infection for 3 1/2 weeks, anti-biotics were not working... had 3 bowls of this soup yesterday and no more sinus symptoms, this soup is packed with nutrition. I use 25 year old balsamic and more garlic and onions than called for and also dried basil and italian seasoning. After roasting, I pour the tomato mixture in a large sauce pan, add liquid, and blend with a stick blender, works perfectly. My wife loved the soup too, she finished it off. Making some more right now, it is addictive. Sending link to entire family. Oh, and your house will smell like an Italian restaurant, wonderful smell.

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Fresh Ingredient Chef November 25, 2009

Fantastic. So easy. And surprisingly substantial. We generally like a roasted tomato and basil bisque and this did the trick without any cream. I think for the next time I will use 1/3 less garlic - but I give this recipe 5 stars for taste, ease of accomplishment, and because you can make it the same night and it's wonderful.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kristina+Enno January 14, 2010

This was great...I followed the recipe almost exactly, but I did also roast some yellow bell pepper since I had half of one already in the fridge. I also added a bit of half and half before serving to make it a little creamy. This was excellent and my husband (who normally doesn't like "broth based meals" actually praised it and asked to have it again soon.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Deanne McKissick January 06, 2012

I've made this 3 times now and can't stop talking about it to everyone. I enjoy the ease of it and minimal time it takes to actually prepare. I did only put 1 cup of chicken broth and added 1/4 cup of heavy cream and 1/2 cup of the tomato liquid. I also added about 1/4 tsp of red pepper flakes for a little heat and overall the taste was creamy with a little kick. I made several batches to freeze for lunches which is reheating nicely and have also used tomatoes that were at their end of prime which cooked up nicely as well.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
whitty145 October 02, 2011

This was really good! (and that is coming from someone who hates canned tomato soup and has never had homemade) Like some other posters recommended I roasted a couple of carrots, a stalk of celery and a bit more onion with my tomatoes. I also added about 1/3 cup of milk and a dash of cayenne pepper to the soup. This is a great soup and my kitchen smells great! Just what I was looking for to serve with my turkey and swiss Stromboli.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
wendylynn50 June 27, 2011

This was my first time really making tomato soup from scratch - using tomatoes straight from our garden - and it was fabulous! I used dry herbs since I did not have fresh on hand. I'm sure it'd be even better with fresh, but this was still very tasty. I threw in two carrots and one celery to the roasted vegetables, and a lot more onion than called for, and it all turned out wonderfully. I also strained the soup at the end (it was also great before straining), added some cayenne for some heat and some milk to finish it all off. I'm looking forward to the leftovers tonight. Thanks!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
yamakarasu August 31, 2010

Excellent soup! We loved this, added a touch of cream. I prefer the tomatoes pureed with the skin on, this keeps most of the fiber and more of the nutrients. I also enjoy the texture. Thanks for a wonderful recipe

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
TaterBug! :) September 22, 2009
Roasted Tomato Soup