34 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

These are BEYOND five star! The recipe sounded so simple, I wasn't expecting to be so very impressed by this. I had about a dozen home-grown tomatoes that were going to go bad if I didn't do something with them, so chose this recipe for it's ease in preparation. It's SO GOOD! Don't be alarmed if the juices in the pan get really black. The bits of black that cling to the tomatoes seem to melt into the dressing giving it a wonderful flavor. You must try this! I'm fixing another batch, tomorrow. The tomatoes cook down quite a bit so you may want to roast even more than twelve! Thanks a bundle, PetsRus. Super recipe! :)

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LisaGay July 19, 2003

This has always been a family favorite. I don't peel the tomatoes however, and I use yellow, orange, red and grape tomatoes when making.....balsamic is good with it as well.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jan Doty July 14, 2003

You mean I'm supposed to peel the tomatoes? Well, I didn't, and they came out great, so tough noogies! We had these for Friday night supper. The BH took a tomato half and smooshed it on his piece of grilled chicken breast. Sounded like a good idea so we all did the same. Great supper, superb flavors!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mirj June 01, 2003

I've made these a lot this summer. It's become one of my favorite ways to enjoy tomatoes. I use vine ripened tomatoes (medium sized) and although I do the criss-cross on the bottoms, I then simply slice them in half and put them cut sides up in the oiled roasting tin. I've never peeled them and they always get gobbled up. Yum!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
GinnyP July 26, 2009

These tomatoes are fantastic! A must-try for all now that summer is here. The perfect accompaniment to grilled steak.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
evelyn/athens July 06, 2003

I loved loved loved this salad. The tomatoes are bursting with flavor after roasting. I will most definitely be making this again when the tomatoes are flourishing. Thank you.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mommyoffour October 19, 2013

I made these tonight to accompany some Ahi Tuna steaks that I grilled. I didn't have any fresh basil so I used dried. The result was incredible! I used tomatoes from our garden and they were a tremendous hit! I will make these again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Blumax August 01, 2011

What a great recipe to come across with fresh tomatoes from the garden. We loved this. I only roasted my tomatoes for about 30 minutes and backed off a little on the basil as a personal preference and left off the black olives as DH doesn't like them. Added a little Parmesan cheese to top the whole salad off. Made in momory of Pets 'R' us.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
~Nimz~ July 22, 2011

so simple sooooo good! Had it with county bread,some cheese,hard boiled eggs,olives and roasted sliced eggplant,a nice light evening meal,with it ofcourse a nice glass of wine! Will make it alot during the summer,thank you for a wonderfull recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef Els April 03, 2010

DEVINE!!!! I don't give out too many 5 stars for veggies, because...well, they are veggies!!! These were incredible!!!. I added probably a little under 1 T of the balsamic vinegar and olive oil to the pan juices, then drizzled that over the tomatoes. They were going to be an appitizer, but I decided to serve them with the main meal. They rocked! WOW!!! Excellent, excellent, excellent!!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Abby Girl July 04, 2009
Roasted Tomato Salad