Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Roasted Sweet Potato Sticks Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Roasted Sweet Potato Sticks

    Average Rating:

    15 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-15 of 15

    Sort by:

    • on March 16, 2003

      These were very good and different from how I normally make them. The flavor of the garlic on the sweet potatoes was wonderful. The only thing I would change next time would be the amount of the paprika. It was a little too much so I'll cut it in half. Also, they tasted MUCH better after they cooled off for a little bit. Enjoy everyone!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 10, 2004

      I have made these twice now and they are awesome! I have always had a hard time eating sweet potatoes because traditionally they are made into a sweet side dish with marshmallows or brown sugar or something of the like, which I have never cared for. This however, is the perfect way to serve sweet potatoes in my and my family's opinion. The savory paprika and garlic compliment the sweetness of the potato perfectly and provides a much healthier alternative to your standard baked potato or sweet potato souffle. I have made these twice and they really are to die-for. The second time I made them I added some chili powder and kosher salt which was even better. I used quite a bit more paprika and garlic as well to suit my family's taste. I had a sublime accidental discovery in that I made these originally to serve along side Derf's Marinated Flank Steak with Mustard Sauce #12041, and found that the mustard sauce made the MOST INCREDIBLE dipping sauce for these sweet potato sticks since I used creole mustard in the sauce. Everything complimented each other so well that I will make that sauce just for these sweet potatoes each time I make them, not that they need anything extra, just in my family's opinion it made for the perfect side dish, especially for Phase 2 of the South beach diet! Thanks for a fantastic and easy recipe!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 20, 2003

      Nice side dish. We also threw in some regular potato wedges also.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 12, 2003

      DH said 5 stars all the way!! These are total comfort food and easy to boot! I totally forgot the paprika, but I used abit of seasoned salt instead! This is an EXCELLENT side dish that I will make again..

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 29, 2013

      Yummy. I used less garlic powder, smoked paprika and like some other reviewers added salt and chili powder. Also added chipotle powder to the leftovers and that was really good with it too. Great side dish.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 15, 2012

      I made a smaller batch for just me, and OMG. . . . . I gobbled it up in no time. The seasoning were perfect, and they were the perfect texture. Oh, they were so good. In fact, I'm craving them right now. . . .if only I had more sweet potatoes in the house.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 12, 2009

      These tasted good but were very soft, even after cooking for longer than suggested. I was hoping for something a little crispier. Thanks.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 22, 2008

      WOW! I tossed these in a ziploc bag with the spices and oil, turned them out onto the baking sheet and popped them into the oven. No sooner were they in there than a heavenly scent permeated the house. I served these with a simple spinach salad and braised beef roast. Surely a simple and unforgettable way to prepare this divine root. Thank you. Really.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 23, 2007

      I didn't get these to coat very evenly. I thought they were alright, but am just as happy with the plain stick with a bit of olive oil and some lemon/rosemary.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 16, 2007

      Just made these for dinner.......Mmm!! So good. I did add about a tablespoon of butter to the oil, mixed the seasonings into that and melted it in the microwave. Then I put the potato sticks and butter in a bowl and tossed to cover well. I followed the cooking directions exactly, but found that I only needed to roast them about 20 min.(Perhaps I cut the sticks smaller than I should have), but they turned out crispy and delicious. Thanks for the recipe....so much easier than french fried and the taste is the same. Donna

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 21, 2007

      This was simple to prepare and the flavor is wonderful! I don't usually make savory sweet potatoes - but I intend to now! For kids lunches, you could cut the sweet potatoes into fun shapes instead of making sticks - this is great finger food.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 27, 2006

      I love sweet potatoes, and these were a wonderful new way to prepare them!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 26, 2004

      To me these were just Ok. If I were to make them again, I think I would prefer to try using melted butter instead of the oil for better flavor. Thanks for sharing; I will update this review if I try them with the butter.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 12, 2004

      These were really tasty. I've baked both sweet and white potatoes before, but never with this combination of spices. It's nice to give the kids sweet potatoes and not have them begging for butter. Thanks for sharing this recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 30, 2003

      Absolutely fabulous! Served these with grilled pork chops and spinach souffle - what a feast. Everyone raved over these. The recipe is simple - the taste is wonderful. I followed the recipe exactly.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Roasted Sweet Potato Sticks

    Serving Size: 1 (104 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 123.3
     
    Calories from Fat 31
    25%
    Total Fat 3.5 g
    5%
    Saturated Fat 0.5 g
    2%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 55.5 mg
    2%
    Total Carbohydrate 21.6 g
    7%
    Dietary Fiber 3.3 g
    13%
    Sugars 4.1 g
    16%
    Protein 2.0 g
    4%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites