15 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

These were very good and different from how I normally make them. The flavor of the garlic on the sweet potatoes was wonderful. The only thing I would change next time would be the amount of the paprika. It was a little too much so I'll cut it in half. Also, they tasted MUCH better after they cooled off for a little bit. Enjoy everyone!

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Trixyinaz March 16, 2003

I have made these twice now and they are awesome! I have always had a hard time eating sweet potatoes because traditionally they are made into a sweet side dish with marshmallows or brown sugar or something of the like, which I have never cared for. This however, is the perfect way to serve sweet potatoes in my and my family's opinion. The savory paprika and garlic compliment the sweetness of the potato perfectly and provides a much healthier alternative to your standard baked potato or sweet potato souffle. I have made these twice and they really are to die-for. The second time I made them I added some chili powder and kosher salt which was even better. I used quite a bit more paprika and garlic as well to suit my family's taste. I had a sublime accidental discovery in that I made these originally to serve along side Derf's Marinated Flank Steak with Mustard Sauce #12041, and found that the mustard sauce made the MOST INCREDIBLE dipping sauce for these sweet potato sticks since I used creole mustard in the sauce. Everything complimented each other so well that I will make that sauce just for these sweet potatoes each time I make them, not that they need anything extra, just in my family's opinion it made for the perfect side dish, especially for Phase 2 of the South beach diet! Thanks for a fantastic and easy recipe!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
shimmerchk September 10, 2004

Nice side dish. We also threw in some regular potato wedges also.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
karen in tbay October 20, 2003

DH said 5 stars all the way!! These are total comfort food and easy to boot! I totally forgot the paprika, but I used abit of seasoned salt instead! This is an EXCELLENT side dish that I will make again..

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Michelle S. May 12, 2003

Yummy. I used less garlic powder, smoked paprika and like some other reviewers added salt and chili powder. Also added chipotle powder to the leftovers and that was really good with it too. Great side dish.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Maito November 29, 2013

I made a smaller batch for just me, and OMG. . . . . I gobbled it up in no time. The seasoning were perfect, and they were the perfect texture. Oh, they were so good. In fact, I'm craving them right now. . . .if only I had more sweet potatoes in the house.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
curlytoplg January 15, 2012

These tasted good but were very soft, even after cooking for longer than suggested. I was hoping for something a little crispier. Thanks.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Burgundy Damsel April 12, 2009

WOW! I tossed these in a ziploc bag with the spices and oil, turned them out onto the baking sheet and popped them into the oven. No sooner were they in there than a heavenly scent permeated the house. I served these with a simple spinach salad and braised beef roast. Surely a simple and unforgettable way to prepare this divine root. Thank you. Really.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Zenserotonin April 22, 2008

I didn't get these to coat very evenly. I thought they were alright, but am just as happy with the plain stick with a bit of olive oil and some lemon/rosemary.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ChefyDu November 23, 2007

Just made these for dinner.......Mmm!! So good. I did add about a tablespoon of butter to the oil, mixed the seasonings into that and melted it in the microwave. Then I put the potato sticks and butter in a bowl and tossed to cover well. I followed the cooking directions exactly, but found that I only needed to roast them about 20 min.(Perhaps I cut the sticks smaller than I should have), but they turned out crispy and delicious. Thanks for the recipe....so much easier than french fried and the taste is the same. Donna

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
donnie27 November 16, 2007
Roasted Sweet Potato Sticks