13 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Really great recipe. I did leave off the sage because it is one herb that I just don't care for. It was still a great recipe. Will make again for sure. Thanks for the great recipe.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jellyqueen April 23, 2004

Delicious roasted vegetables. Used potatoes, carrots, turnips and rutabagas with fresh sage and thyme and dried rosemary. The recipe does depend on the olive oil to brown and crisp the vegetables. If you decide to use rutabagas, cut them much smaller than the other vegetables in order to have them cooked in the same amount of time.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
sugarpea January 28, 2004

Greatway to fix root veggies, easy and tasty. I used Banana Squash, Small red potatoes, sliced onions (as i forgot to buy shallots), used dried rosemary,sage & thyme,turned out yummy. Will be using this recipe again & again. Thank you Rita.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Barb Gertz January 26, 2004

tasty and a change from mashed potatoes, thanks!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Amlaphq November 29, 2009

I enjoyed this but the family thought it was mediocre. I followed the recipe but maybe next time I'll use the suggestion of throwing on some cheese and broiling before eating and give it an extra yum factory

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
OCMom1 January 02, 2009

In addition to the veggies listed, I added a sweet potato, leek, carrots and mushrooms. I mixed a package of dry lipton onion soup to the olive oil and mixed it all up in a bowl and poured it in a roasting pan. When done, I sprinkled some parmesean cheese on top and browned it under the broiler. My family LOVED it. It's a definite keeper.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jan Marie October 23, 2008

Oh my, I just loved this. I can't wait to eat the leftovers for breakfast tomorrow! I used butternut squash, and for the potatoes, I used a mixture of baby red, baby golden dutch, and sweet potatoes. Had no shallots, so I used yellow onions. The flavor was amazing. I threw the oven on a high broil toward the end to crisp the tops. The onions got a little charred on the edges and I LOVE that. This was just wonderful!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lakerdog2 October 22, 2008

I used butternut squash, potatoes, onion and turnips. I also threw in 1/2 cup of beef broth into it was well - for a little flavor. A great way to roast any type of root type vegetable. Healthy as well!! I will be making again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Ningo68 October 05, 2008

Most excellent! I knew I wanted a side dish with squash and fresh herbs and this one called to me. I did it a little different to accommodate what I had. I used yellow squash and since I knew that would cook more quickly than the potatoes, I microwaved the potatoes for two minutes before cutting them into chunks and adding to other ingredients. I used a whole onion cut into large chunks instead of shallots. I didn't have sage so I used oregano. Very good.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
tara portee June 23, 2008

Any roasted veggie dish gets 5 stars from me. I also added summer squash, acorn squash and used red onion instead of shallots.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
karen in tbay August 29, 2007
Roasted Squash, Potatoes, Shallots & Herbs