Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Roasted Sephardic (Yemenite) Chicken With Potatoes Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Roasted Sephardic (Yemenite) Chicken With Potatoes

    Average Rating:

    9 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-9 of 9

    Sort by:

    • on September 03, 2012

      This is an awesome recipe. My children beg for it. I haven't been able to find the hawaij, and no one in our local Indian and Arabic stores have heard of it. However, it is fairly easy to mix on your own. And since it's a five spice mix, I suppose you can call it Hawaiij 5-O.

      In lieu of it, I've added shawarma powder to the spice mix, and it gives it a nice kick. It's also very similar to hawaiij.

      I also broil the chicken for about 15 minutes instead of five as it seems to come out crispier, but that may have more to do with my oven.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 22, 2011

      I used boneless skinless chicken breast and didn't do the broil part, but this still turned out to be a very nice dinner! I loved the spices together and the veggies and potatoes added a nice touch as well. Madoe for Let's Party 2011.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 23, 2011

      This was so delicious, a big hit for my whole family.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 02, 2010

      Very flavorful! I don't have hawaij so that my only change. Everything else was right on. I used the 6 cloves garlic and olives...nice addition. I used the gloves to mix, great idea!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 15, 2009

      Delicious and easy! Like the other posters, I ommitted the hawaij, and I also left out the tomatoe and red pepper. The chicken was moist and flavorful and the potatoes were so good! I will definitely make this again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 28, 2008

      YUM! I was worried because I had never baked chicken before, and I didn't want it to come out too dry or anything. It was perfect! I also left out the hawaij. Next time I might use an extra bell pepper. Oh, and make sure you're careful with the tumeric... it stains everything..

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 27, 2008

      Do try this at home :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 27, 2008

      Yum!!! Left out the hawaij because I don't have it (don't even know what it is) but followed the rest of the recipe. Absolutely delicious! Update 2/27/08: I modified this recipe for the crockpot by using dark meat turkey stew instead of chicken, omitting the peppers, tomatoes and oil, and adding water almost to cover. It came out great!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 03, 2008

      What a winner this dish was in my house!! I made the recipe as written, using the garlic, but omitting the hawaij, and olives since I didn't have any in the house. The chicken came out so moist and tender and the potatoes were just incredible!!! Thank you, Sarit for this wonderful recipe!! I look forward to trying other recipes of yours.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Roasted Sephardic (Yemenite) Chicken With Potatoes

    Serving Size: 1 (232 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 333.0
     
    Calories from Fat 137
    41%
    Total Fat 15.3 g
    23%
    Saturated Fat 3.3 g
    16%
    Cholesterol 35.6 mg
    11%
    Sodium 50.3 mg
    2%
    Total Carbohydrate 37.2 g
    12%
    Dietary Fiber 5.8 g
    23%
    Sugars 3.9 g
    15%
    Protein 13.0 g
    26%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    hawaij

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites