Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Roasted Root Vegetables Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Roasted Root Vegetables

    Average Rating:

    40 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 40

    Sort by:

    • on September 25, 2003

      I know this is root vegies but I added a mix of Mushrooms too. I hope you enjoy this as much as I did. I know DR Weil dosen`t use salt but I did and pepper just before serving. Don`t forget the parsnips, YUM! Added on Sept. 25,03 If you cut all the vegies the same size they should cook in the same amount of time. Except for the mushrooms.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 10, 2011

      I bought a bag of organic root vegetables and used this recipe without the vinegar. I minced thyme and rosemary, mixed it with the EV Olive oil and tossed the root vegetables and all the garlic with it. It took almost an hour to bake, but wow was it good! I tossed it every 20 minutes when baking. I have no idea what all the vegetables were that were in the bag. The family got to try many different variety and they all liked it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 27, 2008

      Made this for Christmas dinner, and it was great. I love roasted veg, and these were simple and tasty. The cooking time was way off for me, possibly due to the vast amount I made or the veggies I chose...ended up roasting for close to 2 hours. Final result was very nice though - thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 17, 2008

      Yumm! I eat these nearly every day. I use little red potatoes, quartered, plus baby carrots, parsnips, turnips, rutabagas, and ocassionally brussels sprouts and cauliflower. (Those last 2 don't need quite as long to roast.) I also like to leave off the garlic, herbs and vinegar most of the time. I pile these on a plate with a heap of couscous on the side, and I'm a happy camper!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 21, 2007

      Another roasted root veg lover here. My variation is to cut up the vegetables a day ahead of time and to marinate them over night in a balsamic vinaigrette salad dressing in the fridge. I marinate them for about 20-24 hours then drain, and roast them at a high temperature. I usually use carrots, rutabaga, parsnip and red onion cut in fairly large pieces.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 23, 2013

      Great recipe. I added a sweet potato and left out the potatoes and onion. Instead of balsamic I used a little maple syrup. Delicious.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 02, 2013

      Roasting this way is the only way! Brings out the sweetness. I used carrots, sweet potatoes and turnips.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 24, 2013

      I loved this dish. I skipped the vinegar and used fresh rosemary.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 12, 2010

      This was ok. I've never had turnip, rutabagas or parsnips before and I've only had canned beets so this was a very new thing for me. I didn't care for the beets but the rest was ok. I think I prefer the roasted veggies with mushrooms, squash, zucchini and asparagus better, though. Thanks for something new to try though!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 11, 2008

      This is truly a sensational recipe and has become a family favourite. Easy to make and perfect results every time no matter what combination of vegetables you decide to use. Thanks for sharing this recipe -- actually my family thanks you for sharing.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 15, 2008

      This is my favorite of all the roasted vegetable recipes I've tried. I do, however, cut down on the roasting time. 45 - 50 minutes is enough, without adding the 30 minutes. (That means adding the garlic earlier).

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 15, 2008

      I think this recipe is foolproof. Throw it in the roasting pan and count on it being delicious. 27*

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 15, 2007

      I loved this! I used potatoes, carrots, parsnips and rutabegas. It was, by the way, the first time either me or my step-daughter had tried parsnips and rutabegas, and we weren't disappointed. Will definitely make again, and can't wait to try out other combinations of root vegetables.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 13, 2006

      This is a great healthy recipe that makes root veggies taste so good! I've made this twice so far, the first time I forgot to add the onion, but it still was wonderful. I used rutabagas, parsnips, sweet potatoes, carrots and white potatoes. After it was finished roasting I drizzled with balsamic vinegar, which was delicious. Thanks for this recipe, I'll be using it all the time now!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 08, 2003

      Made this for Thanksgiving, then again this week. Delicious! The balsamic vinegar makes all the difference. Rosemary is a must. I cooked a little longer, so everything was tender.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 17, 2014

      I soaked my potatoes for an hour or so and then cut into chunks. They came out so nice and crisp on the outside but soft on the inside. Loved it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 30, 2010

      Turned out great. Served with white fish in herbed butter.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 15, 2010

      Mmmmm, another wonderful recipe from your collection! It was so easy to make and very, very tasty! I used parnsips, carrots, taters, and turnips as my root veggies and the combination was really yummy! The rosemary adds a nice mediterranian taste as does the olive oil. THANKS SO MUCH for sharing this keeper with us, ~Rita~! Made and reviewed for Veggie Swap #20 March 2010.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 07, 2010

      I loved it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 19, 2009

      This was a wonderful flavorful recipe. I liked it better than the Greek versio which had too much oil for my taste. I'm making it again today for the second time. Thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Roasted Root Vegetables

    Serving Size: 1 (37 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 5

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 50.5
     
    Calories from Fat 25
    49%
    Total Fat 2.7 g
    4%
    Saturated Fat 0.3 g
    1%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 2.9 mg
    0%
    Total Carbohydrate 6.0 g
    2%
    Dietary Fiber 0.6 g
    2%
    Sugars 1.0 g
    4%
    Protein 1.0 g
    2%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    vegetables

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes