10 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

The flavor is greatly improved IMHO if you roast the garlic first. This small step adds a layer of depth to the finished product.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
model_of_iron_12237012 October 29, 2011

YUM! i chopped fine and left un-pureed, served with a swirl of sour cream and a dash of cayenne on top, sided with garlic toast. left the boyfriend with a big happy belly! omit cream when freezing and just add later.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
thefemaleofthespecies October 13, 2009

My husband and step daughter made this soup today and it was very good. Since neither of them can cook worth a darn and it came out so good anyway ;) I have to give this five stars for sure! This will be the only recipe we use from now on. I think it would be interesting to add some cream to it next time to see if we can get creamy roated pepper soup. Thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
pixieglenn June 28, 2009

it seems a bit too simple to be good...but it really is. My 4 and 2 year old sons both wanted more. Put the balsamic vinegar in the entire batch and throw in a bit of cayenne to make your sinus's warm...it is very good!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Foxforce5 February 14, 2009

This was my first attempt at roasting red peppers, and I found the skins hard to remove. Maybe if I let them broil a little longer past the blister stage. But the soup was excellent! The balsamic vinegar really gives it a nice finish!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Janny7 October 16, 2007

This was very good, and even with roasting my own peppers, very simple. I roasted the garlic with the peppers, which gives the garlic a creamy, sweet flavor perfect in soups. I also used water in lieu of vegetable or chicken broth. I just didn't feel it was necessary with the onion (I used a whole onion-why waste it?) and garlic being sauteed together. My soup was delicious! Thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kirby September 24, 2007

This soup was excellent. I broiled the pepper as said but steamed it further to allow the skin to peel more easily. I also used 1/2 can tomatoes and it was really good.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
I_love2nurse in Canada September 16, 2007

very good soup! I added cayenne to give it a nice bite perfect! mind you I like everything spiced up.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sharon loves her kids February 01, 2006

This was a very good soup. It had good red pepper flavor and body. I was afraid it would taste too tomato-y, but it did not. I used whole tomatoes in puree since that is what I had, and pureed the whole batch. I roasted my own peppers, but agree that you could use high quality jarred with identical results.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Marmish October 13, 2003
Roasted Red Pepper Soup