33 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I should have reviewed this months ago ... I've been living on this since early summer. This is THE best ratatouille recipe I've ever come across. It's the only way I'll prepare it now -- other recipes are too soupy for me. I love the fact that all the vegetables retain their texture and individual flavors, instead of turning into one giant stew. I particularly love the piquancy that the vinegar gives it -- I've been using 1/4 cup white balsamic vinegar to one Tbsp. olive oil, and about a half-cup of fresh basil. I've also started using grape tomatoes instead of plum tomatoes; the grape tomatoes are particularly sweet when roasted (and you don't have to chop up quite as much). This is a fabulous recipe, has helped me lose my final 10 pounds on WW, and I can't thank you enough for posting it!!!

8 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
KLHquilts September 03, 2007

What a forgiving recipe! I like use grape tomatoes but I've also altered which veggies I put in depending on what I've got. It always turns out amazing! I do make sure to bake it for at least an hour and a half. Up to 2 hours, checking and stirring every 20 mins for the first hour and every 10-15 mins after that. The longer roast means all the veggies carmelize together. My fave way to serve this dish is actually cold. I stuff it in a whole wheat pita and top with a little sheep's milk feta. It's a really easy way to stick with your diet! This is definitely one of my fave veggie dishes of all time!

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
laura.e.shepard July 26, 2010

This is just FANTASTIC! The only thing different I did was to sprinkle the vegies with a bit of Olive oil before baking and sprinkle it with Herb de Provence. Great on Angel Hair pasta and/or Persian Saffron Rice. Thank you so much for posting it! Ferryal

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ferryal June 12, 2010

Never had ratatouille before because I don't like soggy/overcooked vegetables. This was so delicious! My kids "yummed" it right up! I substituted grape tomatoes for the plum tomatoes. Didn't have fennel. Added about 3/4 cup diced feta cheese at the end and used white balsamic vinegar. Thank you for the great recipe!

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lorraine3 February 16, 2010

Man this is good and so low cal. I kind of jockeyed around the vegetables to fit what I had (or forgot to buy) but used the same spice mix and fresh basil/oil/balsamic toss at the end. Used 2 Ichiban eggplant cut about 1"thick, 2 smaller zucchini, grape tomatoes and the rest but the mushrooms. It's going to be made for dinner again tonight! Loved it!

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
3shihmum March 28, 2009

I made this wonderful dish last night before driving DD to gymnastics. I left it out to cool for an hour and then popped it back in the oven to reheat shortly before dinner. However, dinner was delayed and I forgot the ratatouille in the oven. But what I thought was going to be a disaster turned into something wonderful because the vegetables had all caramelized into the most amazing taste. Next time I will cook this for an hour and a half! I used the eggplant, garlic, fennel, leeks, a Vidalia onion, zucchini, and yellow squash. This would be awesome with a winter squash, as well. Thx so much! **Saved in my Top 2008 Recipes Cookbook!

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Trinkets January 06, 2009

Delicious! Roasting the vegetables for a good long time (I usually go 90 minutes or so) concentrates their flavor and really elevates this Ratatouille. I use your recipe as a starting point, and add or subtract veggies according to what's in the CSA box. So today no fennel but added in a patty-pan squash and an extra summer squash. I usually serve this on linguine with lots of Romano cheese. Leftovers will be topping pizzas next week. Thanks for a versatile, super-healthy way to eat our vegetables.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
SDB August 13, 2011

This is fabulous! I never would have thought to add in fennel but it added something really nice! We added a bit of spice with Cayenne pepper in with the others - I agree with KLHquilts that next time I might add a little more vinegar. But the way the vegetables softened and combined flavors.....Delicious!! We thought after cutting the vegetables that it would serve 12 people, but it REALLY cooks down and was perfect for 4-6. Great recipe! Thanks!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Two Expats in France March 17, 2009

Super. I had gotten a fennel bulb in my CSA box--didn't know what I was going to do with it. This was a great recipe--and I got to use the garlic, eggplant, zucchini and tomatoes as well!! Really good.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kim S. July 08, 2012

This is the best ratatouille recipe I've tried! So easy & not soupy. Thanks!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
CaramelPie January 04, 2012
Roasted Ratatouille