28 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Made for Thanksgiving 2009. I picked this dish as a low carb side option to give my diabetic father-in-law more options to choose from on the Thanksgiving table. Everyone who tried these enjoyed them and couldn't believe 1) that they were radishes and 2) how easy to prepare they were. My husband and in-laws said that the flavor reminded them of cabbage. My father-in-law requested the recipe to add to his rotation of side dishes at home. I did not use the salt (several guests have high blood pressure) but they still tasted good. The tip about lining the pan with foil for easy clean-up worked great! Thank you for posting this recipe/method!!!!!

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Outnumbered By Peanuts December 03, 2009

Oh how many holidays can I remember where there were a bowl of clean trimmed raw radishes sitting in a bowl of cold water with a salt shaker right next to it? Too many to count, lol. Everyone (including me) would eat one or two, but there would always be plenty leftover that sat in the fridge for a long time. That said, just for shidz ~n~ giggles, I looked on zaar to see if there were any radish recipes and this is one of them that caught my eye. So I gave it a whirl and made as directed. The texture is that of soft roasted potatoes. There is still a bit of tanginess of the radishes, but not as strong. Be careful not to over-roast them, as the smaller pieces had a not-so-tasty bitterness to them. We would suggest slicing them in a food processor to get more uniformed peices. Next time we'll add black pepper and a bit of butter also. Perhaps even top them with a dollop of sour cream and sprinkle of bacon bits at the table. Thanks for sharing the recipe. :)

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
2Bleu October 18, 2009

Who would have known?!?!? I love radishes, but I got two different kinds in my last 2 coop boxes (one was black on the outside and white on the inside and the other looks like a watermelon in the middle with red, green and white) and they fell to the bottom of the veggie bin in the fridge. Needless to say, they were all quite soft and needed new life pumped back in - and I assumed the only possibility was to cook them which I had never done before. I really enjoyed this roasting of radishes and I agree with the others that they have a faint cabbage taste when cooked. I used seasoning salt instead of Kosher salt, but otherwise followed the recipe spot on. I will definitely make these again - thanks for posting!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
JanuaryBride December 29, 2011

Hey, these are really good! It sure surprised us, since we aren't big radish fans, but I had some that weren't going to get eaten raw, so I roasted them along with some carrots. They turned out to be pleasantly sweet. Thanks for the recipe!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef de Sucre January 28, 2010

This is works perfect for a low carb side. I used a little garlic salt and pepper. Will make again. Made for Think Pink 2009.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
nemokitty October 08, 2009

Well we all agreed that this is a wonderful way to make a healthy low carb snack out of those odd radishes that are always left. I did make one change in that I skipped the salt and used garlic powder instead. Mine turned out having as someone said with kind of a potato type texture. Had read one reviewer complained they did not cook evenly I eliminated that by shaking them and rotating the pan twice during the cooking. While this is not a five star it is something I will keep on hand and be making again. Thanks for the post.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Debbwl January 27, 2013

DH planted a mess of radishes in our garden this year and I had no idea what to do with all that I got out this morning until I came across your recipe. I totally love the low carb aspect and DH loved them as well. Both of us agreed they had a texture of a potato. DH said they still tasted like radishes to him (lol) and I thought they had a cabbage/rutabaga/radish flavor. Very versital, I added fresh basil to mine. Butter and garlic sounds delish for next time. We loved this, thank you for posting!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Heartspell June 26, 2011

I made this to go with roasted chicken and couldn't believe how good it was. They tasted nothing at all like radishes, in fact we all thought they tasted a bit like cauliflower. Loved the pink color and have decided they are going to be on my Valentine's Day menu. I had to call my radish loving father and tell him about them...

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
JPsBarbie February 06, 2010

Excellent! this time I used wasabi oil, fresh ground pepper, and sea salt and they were fantastic! I have been using organic radishes; the greens are typically fresher; and, if very fresh, you can add the greens to other sauteed greens recipes or use the greens in a french style cream soup.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
CAFrogley April 10, 2009

Very interesting recipe! they do sweeten a little, and soften up a bit, and make a very nice side-dish! Good way to eat an often over-looked vegetable! Thanks Elliebet! made for PAC Fall 2008

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Karen Elizabeth October 08, 2008
Roasted Radishes