Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Roasted Radishes Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Roasted Radishes

    Average Rating:

    28 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 28

    Sort by:

    • on December 03, 2009

      Made for Thanksgiving 2009. I picked this dish as a low carb side option to give my diabetic father-in-law more options to choose from on the Thanksgiving table. Everyone who tried these enjoyed them and couldn't believe 1) that they were radishes and 2) how easy to prepare they were. My husband and in-laws said that the flavor reminded them of cabbage. My father-in-law requested the recipe to add to his rotation of side dishes at home. I did not use the salt (several guests have high blood pressure) but they still tasted good. The tip about lining the pan with foil for easy clean-up worked great! Thank you for posting this recipe/method!!!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 18, 2009

      Oh how many holidays can I remember where there were a bowl of clean trimmed raw radishes sitting in a bowl of cold water with a salt shaker right next to it? Too many to count, lol. Everyone (including me) would eat one or two, but there would always be plenty leftover that sat in the fridge for a long time. That said, just for shidz ~n~ giggles, I looked on zaar to see if there were any radish recipes and this is one of them that caught my eye. So I gave it a whirl and made as directed. The texture is that of soft roasted potatoes. There is still a bit of tanginess of the radishes, but not as strong. Be careful not to over-roast them, as the smaller pieces had a not-so-tasty bitterness to them. We would suggest slicing them in a food processor to get more uniformed peices. Next time we'll add black pepper and a bit of butter also. Perhaps even top them with a dollop of sour cream and sprinkle of bacon bits at the table. Thanks for sharing the recipe. :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 29, 2011

      Who would have known?!?!? I love radishes, but I got two different kinds in my last 2 coop boxes (one was black on the outside and white on the inside and the other looks like a watermelon in the middle with red, green and white) and they fell to the bottom of the veggie bin in the fridge. Needless to say, they were all quite soft and needed new life pumped back in - and I assumed the only possibility was to cook them which I had never done before. I really enjoyed this roasting of radishes and I agree with the others that they have a faint cabbage taste when cooked. I used seasoning salt instead of Kosher salt, but otherwise followed the recipe spot on. I will definitely make these again - thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 28, 2010

      Hey, these are really good! It sure surprised us, since we aren't big radish fans, but I had some that weren't going to get eaten raw, so I roasted them along with some carrots. They turned out to be pleasantly sweet. Thanks for the recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 08, 2009

      This is works perfect for a low carb side. I used a little garlic salt and pepper. Will make again. Made for Think Pink 2009.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 27, 2013

      Well we all agreed that this is a wonderful way to make a healthy low carb snack out of those odd radishes that are always left. I did make one change in that I skipped the salt and used garlic powder instead. Mine turned out having as someone said with kind of a potato type texture. Had read one reviewer complained they did not cook evenly I eliminated that by shaking them and rotating the pan twice during the cooking. While this is not a five star it is something I will keep on hand and be making again. Thanks for the post.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 26, 2011

      DH planted a mess of radishes in our garden this year and I had no idea what to do with all that I got out this morning until I came across your recipe. I totally love the low carb aspect and DH loved them as well. Both of us agreed they had a texture of a potato. DH said they still tasted like radishes to him (lol) and I thought they had a cabbage/rutabaga/radish flavor. Very versital, I added fresh basil to mine. Butter and garlic sounds delish for next time. We loved this, thank you for posting!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 06, 2010

      I made this to go with roasted chicken and couldn't believe how good it was. They tasted nothing at all like radishes, in fact we all thought they tasted a bit like cauliflower. Loved the pink color and have decided they are going to be on my Valentine's Day menu. I had to call my radish loving father and tell him about them...

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 10, 2009

      Excellent! this time I used wasabi oil, fresh ground pepper, and sea salt and they were fantastic! I have been using organic radishes; the greens are typically fresher; and, if very fresh, you can add the greens to other sauteed greens recipes or use the greens in a french style cream soup.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 08, 2008

      Very interesting recipe! they do sweeten a little, and soften up a bit, and make a very nice side-dish! Good way to eat an often over-looked vegetable! Thanks Elliebet! made for PAC Fall 2008

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 13, 2008

      This is fantastic. I bought a bag of radishes at the 99cents store before thinking about what I would do with a whole bag of radishes. I came to Recipezaar and found this gem of a recipe. Thank you so much for posting this. The radishes really mellow and sweeten a bit when roasted. Delicious!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 11, 2013

      This was perfect. I had some organic white diakon radishes and organic watermelon radishes from our weekly local organic basket that I just didn't want to eat because they were too spicy for us. This recipe made them sweeter, especially the watermelon radishes and like a few others mentioned have a similar texture and taste to cauliflower! I used avocado oil in place if olive as I understand it is healthier to heat and course greet sea salt. This is a must do for leftover radishes at least the types I tried.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 15, 2013

      Made this for Think Pink 2013 Cancer Awareness tag game and was surprised at how tasty they turn out to be plus colorful! I did cut the recipe in half and added some garlic, salt and pepper. Thank you for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 20, 2013

      Tried this for dinner tonight after getting fresh local radishes, and we really enjoyed it! Very simple to make and very tasty. I added some pepper and garlic to the oil. I also had some kielbasa to use up, so I put that in the oil mixture and roasted it in the same pan alongside the radishes. I will make it again for sure.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 20, 2013

      This turned out pretty well for being radishes - I could barely tell what they were. I do think adding some butter was crucial though, and next time, I may also take other reviewer's suggestions and add garlic along with the butter. Considering at least one of the radishes I was working was was a little on the large side, these turned out tender and sweet. There was a bite or two that tasted woodier, but I suspect that was one of the larger radishes. This would work best with slightly smaller radishes, I think. It went well with the caramelized onions and kale I sauteed, and I also served pork steak. Overall the meal was very healthy and I'm pleased about that (considering DH supposedly brought me beets, and they turned into large radishes last minute;).

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 14, 2013

      So simple and delicious! Reminded me of tater tots, can hardly believe that they were radishes. Yum! :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 09, 2013

      Great simple, healthy, easy recipe. These, and any other similarly-roasted veggies, make a great bed for fish, chicken, veal or pork, and probably beef too, if that's in your diet. Just make sure you get the roasting temp and timing right, depending on which protein you use.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 16, 2011

      Made this the other night and was so surprised that radishes would be so good this way. I had only ever experienced them raw, which is really different experience. How come I've lived half my life without knowing how versatile radishes are.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 27, 2011

      To be honest, I'm not really sure what I was expecting. And even know, I'm not really sure what I ate. I'm not really fond of radishes to begin with, so maybe that's the difference? It really does taste kinda like cauliflower stem when cooked.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 09, 2011

      I just don't get all of these good reviews. These were absolutely DREADFUL! You have to really hate radishes in the first place to go to these lengths to destroy their natural attributes. Raw, they are crisp, cool & crunchy with a little kick. These tasted like old cabbage and dirty socks. I ate one, spit it out, then threw the entire abomination in the garbage. Good riddance.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Roasted Radishes

    Serving Size: 1 (127 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 107.7
     
    Calories from Fat 92
    85%
    Total Fat 10.2 g
    15%
    Saturated Fat 1.4 g
    7%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 916.8 mg
    38%
    Total Carbohydrate 3.8 g
    1%
    Dietary Fiber 1.8 g
    7%
    Sugars 2.1 g
    8%
    Protein 0.7 g
    1%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites