11 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I guess this is really not a review - more of a question. I am cooking this right now - followed instructions and measurements to the last dash and dot. After the initial baking for 30 minutes in a very hot oven, there was very little juice. Turned the heat to 325 as instructed and within 15 minutes, there was no juice and the onions were burning. I added stock just to stop the scorching. Did I do something wrong? Don't understand why it dried up so fast.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
NannyMarvel March 13, 2010

This was very good. The sauce didn't penetrate the meat but after adding a little vegetable stock to the drippings was able to generate some au jus to pour over the meat. Delish.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sherri at the Beach April 08, 2009

Too bad I cant give better than 5 stars. Everyone was drooling while this was baking. (By the way, you could buy Mojo Criollo instead of making it yourself as listed, found in the Spanish food section of your market.) The only thing we did differently was marinade the pork in the Dutch oven, covered; and then slide the entire thing into the oven and cooked it. It was flavor intensified, juicy, and soooo yummy. It paired well with DH's yellow rice. So well, in fact, that some cooked marinade juice went into the broth for the next batch of yellow rice (we made extra rice, and baked a loaf of Cuban bread, to have for Cuban Sandwiches for lunch). The leftover pork will taste excellent tomorrow, I'm sure :) Thanks for posting! Its a keeper :)

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
keth March 15, 2008

Cooked this sunday, had an 8 lb pork shoulder, cooked it for almost 6 hours. my husband and i stood over the pan and kept eating it as he carved, almost cut my finger off!! into my cookbook Thanks jellyqueen

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
capecodkaren April 03, 2007

This recipe produces an awesome pork roast. The flavour is outstanding as the rub is really well-balanced and richly-flavoured. I let my roast marinate overnight (and part of the next day) in the fridge. I got tender, very flavourful meat and delicious pan juices that I left as is (did not thicken). A keeper!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
evelyn/athens May 31, 2006

Awesome recipe with fingerling potatoes and baby carrots. Basted the whole thing as suggested... Dinner was to die for!!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sandra A. March 05, 2014

I followed the recipe exactly and it was delicious! Succulent and tender. I served it with mashed sweet potatoes and sauteed broccoli. I shall certainly make this again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
der_2369303 December 21, 2010

Excellent! Just made it for dinner party of 8, 4 lb roast, not 1 slice left over; and everyone went home with a copy of the recipe. Roasted it in FlavorWave oven, took about 1 hr 45 minutes. Absolutely perfect.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
dukesjdm July 10, 2010

By far one of the tastiest and juiciest ways to cook this piece of meat! TYVM, will definitely be making this again!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mincanada August 25, 2008

i like this recipe laugh out loud lol this makes me want to cook even more lol im telling the lady's out there that if they want to keep there man lol learn how to cook lol a way to a man heart is threw his stomack lol

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
laneika HUFF_SPELL known as the black paula deen l April 10, 2007
Roasted Pork Shoulder