Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Roasted Poblano and Chicken Enchiladas With Sour Cream Sauce Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Roasted Poblano and Chicken Enchiladas With Sour Cream Sauce

    Average Rating:

    13 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-13 of 13

    Sort by:

    • on August 10, 2008

      These were great chicken enchiladas. I omitted the chili powder and I used corn tortillas instead of flour. Rather than wrap them individually, I made this casserole style...a bit of sauce on the bottom, then a layer of 6 tortillas, then the chicken mixture, then another layer of 6 tortillas, and then poured the rest of the sauce on top. Canned green chilis worked really well, plus I sauteed the red onion and garlic before mixing with the chicken. I was afraid it would taste too raw (although perhaps it would've been fine!). Thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 03, 2010

      DH loved these, that's a wow! I thought they were really good. With that said I had no problem with the sauce. I think some chef's make be cooking it to long. I think it just needs to thicken a bit (still on the thin side.) That's what I did and it was perfect. I did lower the fat by using lite sour cream and 2% cheese along with omitting the butter and using cooking spray instead. Oh, I also used whole wheat flour tortillas. Don't you just hate it when people change the recipe so much??? Well I also only had one tortilla and it was plenty because the filling, filled a lot of tortilla's Thanks for posting. :)

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 12, 2012

      I thought this recipe was too time-consuming and mess-producing for a mid-week meal, but the resulting dish was very good. I decreased the chili powder by half and wish that I had added more poblano. I also microwaved the red onion for 1 minute instead of adding it to the filling raw. The filling was excellent and easy to make. The sauce was a little more difficult and I ended up doing the "taste and add" dance over and over where I kept adding a little of this and a little of that to make it right. Neither the filling nor the sauce called for salt, but both needed a good bit of salt. I served the enchiladas with a side of guacamole salad.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 18, 2011

      So good!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 23, 2011

      Yummy! I will make these again for sure. Everyone loved them :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 21, 2011

      This was really fantastic. I have a 12 year old who is not always the most adventurous eater. I had actually set aside some cooked chicken breast for her to dip in A-1 sauce in case she didn't like this. Everyone loved it! I had fresh poblano peppers from the garden that I wanted to use, so found this recipe. I used a yellow onion instead of red (that is what I had in the pantry) and didn't have any coriander, so I used fresh cilantro also from the garden to sprinkle on top. I have never eaten sour cream before (that I know of) but now I am hooked. I also sauted the onion and garlice before mixing in with the chicken. Thank you for the recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 30, 2010

      Thank you for sharing! Deliciouso! Only adjustment I made was reducing the amount of chicken broth I put in.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 15, 2010

      Made these the other night with leftover (frozen) thanksgiving turkey (thought it was leftover frozen chicken...). The flavors were good - DH liked them a lot. I did think it was a bit of work for enchiladas....also thought there wasn't enough sauce. I will definitely make this again - and maybe next time will use chicken and 1 1/2 the sauce. That should work out even better. Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 28, 2009

      Loved these enchilada's! I did make a couple of mistakes, but it turned out great! I accidently add the 2 tsp chili powder to the the sauce and I forgot to add the cheese to the mixture! The sauce was still great and I just added the cheese to the top! I used 4 legs and 4 thighs cooked in the oven, sprinkled with fajita seasoning. I will make this again and agian! I also made this with the Mexican rice recipe from this site, http://www.recipezaar.com/Mexican-Rice-117892

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 25, 2009

      This was a very good recipe. It took some time but the flavors were great. I made half a recipe and got four very filling enchiladas. I would have liked a little more sauce so maybe I cooked it a little too long. But will be making again. Great use of leftover chicken or you could poach some just for this recipe. Thanks for sharing a great Mexican meal. Served it with Mexican Rice.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 25, 2008

      the sauce was fantastic, we really liked these enchiladas but i didnt care much for the texture of the flour tortilla (it was too soggy for my tastes) i'll definately make this again using corn tortillas instead like heather u suggested or maybe i'll try frying the flour tortillas a bit to firm them up.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 13, 2008

      This was great, only thing I thought it needed a little more sauce. Whole family loved it!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 04, 2008

      These were just wonderful! Full of flavor. I didn't change a thing. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Roasted Poblano and Chicken Enchiladas With Sour Cream Sauce

    Serving Size: 1 (421 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 761.9
     
    Calories from Fat 390
    51%
    Total Fat 43.3 g
    66%
    Saturated Fat 20.3 g
    101%
    Cholesterol 133.1 mg
    44%
    Sodium 1188.5 mg
    49%
    Total Carbohydrate 54.8 g
    18%
    Dietary Fiber 5.7 g
    22%
    Sugars 5.5 g
    22%
    Protein 38.6 g
    77%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites