11 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Loved this recipe! I had bought a bunch of plaintains for another, more time-consuming recipe,but didn't have time to make it. Saw this one and figured why not. I even introduced someone to plaintains with this, and they ate most of the dish. The only addition I made was to add a tbs. of melted guava jelly to half of the pan (the other half got eaten immediately by DH). Either way, they were very good. Nice and easy, too.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Muffin Goddess June 19, 2003

I never tried plantains before this recipe and didn't know what to expect. I loved them! Very sweet and they were a hit with other family members. Make sure your plantains are fully ripe and yellow, though. I cooked one that had a little green spot and those pieces definitely weren't as tender as the rest.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
collegiatebudget June 24, 2012

These little morsels were incredible Sue. I enjoyed them so much. I let them roast for 40 minutes. The orange juice, sugar and cinnamon glazed the plantains perfectly. What a taste treat. I love plantains and am always looking for new ways to cook them. Thank you so much for sharing this treat. :)

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Baby Kato February 16, 2010

Was going to make only half a recipe, but changed my mind & went 'whole hog' & am so glad I did ~ These are SO TASTY! I did add a couple of things, though ~ a couple of teaspoons of orange zest along with the OJ, & when they came out of the oven, I topped half of them with some homemade hot fudge just 'cause I liked the idea of chocolate & orange & plantain! Both versions were great! [Made & reviewed while on tour in South & Central America with the Zaar World Tour 4]

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sydney Mike June 26, 2008

I wasn't impressed :[

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Barbell Bunny June 04, 2009

oooh i reallllly enjoyed these! the flavors of the orange juice, brown sugar, and cinnamon went so well with the plantains! but i must say the smell coming out of the oven was driving us nuts!!! soooo good! thank u so much for making me love plantains!!! :D!! made for zwt4

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MeliBug July 02, 2008

WOWEE! These are FANTASTIC! The fresh OJ soaks into the plantains and the brown sugar and cinnamon are the perfect compliment. This is my new favorite way to make plantains. Made for the ZWT4.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Engrossed June 30, 2008

I prepared half the recipe for my small family and I was happy with the way they turned out. Made for ZWT4.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Julie B's Hive June 23, 2008

These were good, but a little too sweet for me. I cut back on the recipe and would recommend that when cutting back, use a smaller dish so that the plantains can soak in the juice. Made and reviewed for ZWT4.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MamaJ June 21, 2008

This was pretty good. They actually tasted more like oranges than anything because of all the orange juice! I've never had plantains before, and this was a nice introduction.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mosma October 26, 2007
Roasted Plantains