Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Roasted Plantains Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Roasted Plantains

    Average Rating:

    11 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-11 of 11

    Sort by:

    • on June 19, 2003

      Loved this recipe! I had bought a bunch of plaintains for another, more time-consuming recipe,but didn't have time to make it. Saw this one and figured why not. I even introduced someone to plaintains with this, and they ate most of the dish. The only addition I made was to add a tbs. of melted guava jelly to half of the pan (the other half got eaten immediately by DH). Either way, they were very good. Nice and easy, too.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 24, 2012

      I never tried plantains before this recipe and didn't know what to expect. I loved them! Very sweet and they were a hit with other family members. Make sure your plantains are fully ripe and yellow, though. I cooked one that had a little green spot and those pieces definitely weren't as tender as the rest.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 16, 2010

      These little morsels were incredible Sue. I enjoyed them so much. I let them roast for 40 minutes. The orange juice, sugar and cinnamon glazed the plantains perfectly. What a taste treat. I love plantains and am always looking for new ways to cook them. Thank you so much for sharing this treat. :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 04, 2009

      I wasn't impressed :[

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 02, 2008

      oooh i reallllly enjoyed these! the flavors of the orange juice, brown sugar, and cinnamon went so well with the plantains! but i must say the smell coming out of the oven was driving us nuts!!! soooo good! thank u so much for making me love plantains!!! :D!! made for zwt4

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 30, 2008

      WOWEE! These are FANTASTIC! The fresh OJ soaks into the plantains and the brown sugar and cinnamon are the perfect compliment. This is my new favorite way to make plantains. Made for the ZWT4.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 26, 2008

      Was going to make only half a recipe, but changed my mind & went 'whole hog' & am so glad I did ~ These are SO TASTY! I did add a couple of things, though ~ a couple of teaspoons of orange zest along with the OJ, & when they came out of the oven, I topped half of them with some homemade hot fudge just 'cause I liked the idea of chocolate & orange & plantain! Both versions were great! [Made & reviewed while on tour in South & Central America with the Zaar World Tour 4]

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 23, 2008

      I prepared half the recipe for my small family and I was happy with the way they turned out. Made for ZWT4.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 21, 2008

      These were good, but a little too sweet for me. I cut back on the recipe and would recommend that when cutting back, use a smaller dish so that the plantains can soak in the juice. Made and reviewed for ZWT4.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 26, 2007

      This was pretty good. They actually tasted more like oranges than anything because of all the orange juice! I've never had plantains before, and this was a nice introduction.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 25, 2003

      This was yummy!! No one in my family(except me) had ever had plantains before and 3 out of 4 liked these, my husband, my 3 yr old and my very picky 11 yr old step son(and of course me).

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Roasted Plantains

    Serving Size: 1 (106 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 8

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 121.3
     
    Calories from Fat 3
    74%
    Total Fat 0.3 g
    0%
    Saturated Fat 0.1 g
    0%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 4.0 mg
    0%
    Total Carbohydrate 31.5 g
    10%
    Dietary Fiber 2.2 g
    9%
    Sugars 15.8 g
    63%
    Protein 1.2 g
    2%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites