Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Roasted Pepper and Lentil Salad Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Roasted Pepper and Lentil Salad

    Average Rating:

    10 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-10 of 10

    Sort by:

    • on January 05, 2008

      This was way too vinegary for our taste - but the rest of the flavors were great. Next time I'll try it with 2.5 TBS of balsamic. Definitely worth tinkering with - this recipe has a lot of potential!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 21, 2007

      I made this for a family reunion and it was a big hit! Being pressed for time, I used canned lentils and jarred roasted peppers and that worked beautifully. I also used soy feta to satisfy the vegans in the crowd. It was fully enjoyed by all :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 11, 2006

      Yum!! What an awesome dish. My whole family loved it. I used jarred roasted peppers, added a touch more balsamic, and was a little liberal with the S&P. We were all in heaven. I was happy that it is such a healthy dish to begin with and so different than anything else I ever make. I will definitely make this often and try it out on company soon.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 29, 2005

      I doubled the recipe as I wanted to try it both warm and at room temperature. It’s delicious either way which makes it a great all seasons’ dish! The feta melting onto the warm lentils was just yummy, but for hot weather, the consensus was that room temperature was preferred. A fabulously flavoursome salad: just loved it, as did the family members I served it to. I liked the idea (Bunny Mom’s) of including lemon juice so I used part balsamic vinegar and part lemon juice. I used roasted red peppers that I purchase every week from an excellent deli (I can’t make better ones!), so that made this a very quick dish to prepare. I also used at least 2 peppers to the quantity of lentils in the recipe. At step 8, I added ½ teaspoon of cumin, and I doubled the basil. Rather more naughtily – as far as healthiness is concerned – I also doubled the feta. A superb topping! I love lentils and all the ingredients in this recipe. It’s a true 5 star +++++. Thank you, toni, for sharing yet another scrumptious-yumtious recipe, one which I know I’ll be making often!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 24, 2005

      I love lentils and my list of favorite lentil recipes has just grown by one. I ran out of balsamic, so had to use part lemon juice. In my opinion, the feta is a "must". I served it w/out the feta for DH who is vegan, and forgot to put the feta on mine. It was sooo much better with the feta. I will admit to using regular feta, because my store doesn't have low-fat. Also, I used some roasted red peppers that I had frozen from my summer garden, and the worked wonderfully in this dish.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 08, 2005

      Fantastic!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 29, 2005

      This was very quick, cheap, and tasty. I took a shortcut by pressure cooking the lentils*, and using roasted red peppers from a jar. I tend to follow recipes as guidelines, so I sort of estimated with the quantities, but I used the exact ingredients called for. I like this alot for a quick weeknight meal / lunch for work. The balsamic vinegar goes really well with the peppers and the feta. Thanks for a great budget recipe! *I used 1 cup dried lentils, 2 cups water, and 1 tablespoon of olive oil in the pressure cooker. Cooked it at pressure for 1 minute, let it cook for 5 more off the heat, then released the pressure.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 17, 2005

      Made this as a main meal for dinner tonight. It was absolutely YUM in every way! Made with a fresh red pepper (not charred or skinned just because that's the way I prefer it), a nicely aged balsamic vinegar and a regular feta cheese (because the unreliable neighborhood store doesn't always carry low-fat). I also added a generous half cup of sun-dried tomatoes (not packed in oil). It was sublime! BTW, this only took me 40 (45 tops) minutes to prepare (even if I had charred and skinned pepper). Also, cook beans in a large pot as they have a tendency to boil over (I used a 2 quart pot and regretted it). Great recipe, and big hi to fellow New Yawker!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 23, 2005

      This was a delicious, light tasting and refreshing meal. Followed recipe exactly except added just a sqeeze of lemon. Very nice and new way to have lentils instead of always in soup or hot dishes.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 09, 2005

      Made this to serve as the main course for our vegetarian dinner tonight. It was very good, had lots of flavor. I cheated this time and used those already prepared peppers, next time I will make my own and look at adding additional. I like lentils and for some reason don't eat them that frequently in the summer months. This recipe will change that as I can take it for lunch as well. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Roasted Pepper and Lentil Salad

    Serving Size: 1 (483 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 254.1
     
    Calories from Fat 27
    10%
    Total Fat 3.0 g
    4%
    Saturated Fat 0.4 g
    2%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 93.6 mg
    3%
    Total Carbohydrate 40.6 g
    13%
    Dietary Fiber 18.2 g
    73%
    Sugars 6.0 g
    24%
    Protein 15.3 g
    30%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    reduced-fat feta cheese

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites