10 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

This was way too vinegary for our taste - but the rest of the flavors were great. Next time I'll try it with 2.5 TBS of balsamic. Definitely worth tinkering with - this recipe has a lot of potential!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
tamara.packer January 05, 2008

I made this for a family reunion and it was a big hit! Being pressed for time, I used canned lentils and jarred roasted peppers and that worked beautifully. I also used soy feta to satisfy the vegans in the crowd. It was fully enjoyed by all :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
cjbamboo May 21, 2007

Yum!! What an awesome dish. My whole family loved it. I used jarred roasted peppers, added a touch more balsamic, and was a little liberal with the S&P. We were all in heaven. I was happy that it is such a healthy dish to begin with and so different than anything else I ever make. I will definitely make this often and try it out on company soon.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
DDW March 11, 2006

I doubled the recipe as I wanted to try it both warm and at room temperature. It’s delicious either way which makes it a great all seasons’ dish! The feta melting onto the warm lentils was just yummy, but for hot weather, the consensus was that room temperature was preferred. A fabulously flavoursome salad: just loved it, as did the family members I served it to. I liked the idea (Bunny Mom’s) of including lemon juice so I used part balsamic vinegar and part lemon juice. I used roasted red peppers that I purchase every week from an excellent deli (I can’t make better ones!), so that made this a very quick dish to prepare. I also used at least 2 peppers to the quantity of lentils in the recipe. At step 8, I added ½ teaspoon of cumin, and I doubled the basil. Rather more naughtily – as far as healthiness is concerned – I also doubled the feta. A superb topping! I love lentils and all the ingredients in this recipe. It’s a true 5 star +++++. Thank you, toni, for sharing yet another scrumptious-yumtious recipe, one which I know I’ll be making often!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
bluemoon downunder December 29, 2005

I love lentils and my list of favorite lentil recipes has just grown by one. I ran out of balsamic, so had to use part lemon juice. In my opinion, the feta is a "must". I served it w/out the feta for DH who is vegan, and forgot to put the feta on mine. It was sooo much better with the feta. I will admit to using regular feta, because my store doesn't have low-fat. Also, I used some roasted red peppers that I had frozen from my summer garden, and the worked wonderfully in this dish.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Ms*Bindy October 24, 2005

Fantastic!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jajaja October 08, 2005

This was very quick, cheap, and tasty. I took a shortcut by pressure cooking the lentils*, and using roasted red peppers from a jar. I tend to follow recipes as guidelines, so I sort of estimated with the quantities, but I used the exact ingredients called for. I like this alot for a quick weeknight meal / lunch for work. The balsamic vinegar goes really well with the peppers and the feta. Thanks for a great budget recipe! *I used 1 cup dried lentils, 2 cups water, and 1 tablespoon of olive oil in the pressure cooker. Cooked it at pressure for 1 minute, let it cook for 5 more off the heat, then released the pressure.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
dividend August 29, 2005

Made this as a main meal for dinner tonight. It was absolutely YUM in every way! Made with a fresh red pepper (not charred or skinned just because that's the way I prefer it), a nicely aged balsamic vinegar and a regular feta cheese (because the unreliable neighborhood store doesn't always carry low-fat). I also added a generous half cup of sun-dried tomatoes (not packed in oil). It was sublime! BTW, this only took me 40 (45 tops) minutes to prepare (even if I had charred and skinned pepper). Also, cook beans in a large pot as they have a tendency to boil over (I used a 2 quart pot and regretted it). Great recipe, and big hi to fellow New Yawker!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kumquat the Cat's friend August 17, 2005

This was a delicious, light tasting and refreshing meal. Followed recipe exactly except added just a sqeeze of lemon. Very nice and new way to have lentils instead of always in soup or hot dishes.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jennifer in new jersey June 23, 2005

Made this to serve as the main course for our vegetarian dinner tonight. It was very good, had lots of flavor. I cheated this time and used those already prepared peppers, next time I will make my own and look at adding additional. I like lentils and for some reason don't eat them that frequently in the summer months. This recipe will change that as I can take it for lunch as well. Thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
PaulaG June 09, 2005
Roasted Pepper and Lentil Salad