10 Reviews

I also toasted the pecans stovetop (my oven was busy) & it worked out fine. It sure does make a difference in the taste of the pecan. I lined a cookie sheet with waxed paper & dropped the candies on there & put them in the freezer to harden before I packed them for storage. Next time I make them, I will increase the chocolate, as I like a high chocolate-to-nut ratio. I'd like to also try them with white chocolate. Made for Everyday Holiday Tag-Dec'09.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sweet PQ? December 15, 2009

This is so easy to do and the taste is great. I'm going to bring some for Christmas. My family will like them I'm sure. Thanks breezermom :) Made for PRMR tag game

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Boomette December 21, 2010

A fabulous recipe! The toasting really adds a wonderful deep nutty flavour to the pecans and makes the candies extra yummy. My dad, whom I made these for, devoured them.
I tried one too and loved the sweet chocolate with the nutty pecans. A great combination!
I used a little less chocolate for the coating than called for, but I guess thats just personal preference.
THANK YOU SO MUCH for sharing this wonderful treat with us, breezer! Ill make these again for sure!
Made and reviewed for Zaar Start August 2010.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lalaloula September 01, 2010

Totally Outstanding!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Annacia March 17, 2014

This is seriously good. Pecans with chocolate, mmm mmm. Great recipe and easy too. Thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sharon123 December 30, 2011

Your right.. toasting the pecans does make the recipe! I think these will be on my Christmas tray this year. Reminds me of an old fashioned candy shop candy

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
GingerlyJ September 25, 2009

Ooh, candy! I made these a bit different by roasting the pecans in a saute pan on the stovetop and it worked out perfectly. I added a dash of salt for depth. These are so easy to make, and really delicious. Thanks for sharing this keeper recipe! :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
2Bleu September 13, 2009

I ran across this recipe in Southern Living's 40 Years of Our Best Recipes cookbook last year (Spring 2008). I made it a few times, was extremely impressed and entered it into one of the county fairs in our area. I won a Blue Ribbon!!! This is exceptionally good and easy. As mentioned...DO NOT exclude the roasting time NOR the butter. I always use salted butter because it gives the candy the special flavor of salty/sweet. I use the chocolate candy coating discs...sometimes light choc., sometimes dark. It isn't necessary to use "top of the line" chocolate here. The simple discs taste and set up great and the clusters always turn out perfectly. My whole family loves them and enjoys receiving them as gifts.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Marg 23 August 10, 2009

Absolutely love these. No adjustments were made and divided among the 4 of us, no complaints. May have to make some more as I am enjoying my share during the baseball game. Made for PRMR.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
weekend cooker July 29, 2009

You're right on when it comes to toasting the nuts before using them in this recipe, & it makes for some great tasting treats! Thanks for posting the recipe! [Tagged, made & reviewed in Newest Zaar tag]

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sydney Mike July 28, 2009
Roasted Pecan Clusters