11 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Russ and I make onion gravy often. Mostly frying off the onions slowly, then using a commercial gravy mix (a good one LOL). OMG, this is so much better, the roasting of the onions adds a real depth of flavour and the worcestershire and mustard a nice spiciness. I found 1 cup (250) ml of the rich beef stock I used was enough to give us a consistency we like. I roasted my onions on a bed of thyme sprigs which gave another yummy flavour to the gravy. I want to make this again really soon and recommend it to anyone reading this review.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
JustJanS May 13, 2010

Who knew it was so easy to make delicious gravy, I generally buy packets but not again! I used a vegetarian stock with added garlic and herbs, and made this to accompany a Sunday roast dinner. Delicious! It was easy to make this earlier and set it aside, then re-heat when needed.
A really good recipe, made in loving memory of Annelies.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Karen Elizabeth July 18, 2011

I've only made onion gravy once before, but the onions weren't roasted, and no doubt that is the secret to success here! The added flavor the roasting provided was just what we needed to dress up plain old mashed potatoes. I love that this recipe can be made very quickly, with pantry staples, and without the need for drippings. I used chicken stock tonight, but can't wait to try this with beef. The paprika made for a nice, rich color and I think in the future I'd like to try using the smoked paprika. I'm thankful Annelies took time to post this recipe and we will remember her fondly every time we make it. Made and enjoyed for the Cook-A-Thon in her memory.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
**Tinkerbell** July 17, 2011

Oh absolutely loved this over a pepper encrusted steak (so didn't add pepper or salt to the sauce as I knew we would get enough from the steak with the way DH makes them). I made the full recipe and it was a generous helping for 3 of us (DH has an intolerance to onions so no go) and we thoroughly enjoyed and really yummy mixed into the mashed potatoes when the steak was finished. Thank you Pets, made for your Cook-A-Thon.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
I'mPat May 15, 2010

We liked this! The roasting of the onions added a wonderful depth of flavor. I would make it again but leaving out the caster sugar. I used low-sodium beef stock. Thanks for posting Pets'R'Us. Made for 1-2-3 Tag, please see my rating system as 3 stars means we really did like it.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
puppitypup February 01, 2008

WOW! This was so easy to make and played an integral part in having the rest of the meal come together at the same time. I just made it and let it simmer. I did make a change-when my roast chicken was done-I discarded the fat and poured red wine in the roasting pan to loosen the tasty bits. When it was combined, I added it to the gravy. Sweet! It was great on my garlic mashed potatoes, my yorkshire puddings, and the chicken. Delicious! Thanks!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
SA ; ) August 12, 2007

this was a wonderful gravy with flavor from the carmelized onions and the worcestershire sauce. i used beef broth as i served this over steak and really enjoyed the texture and flavor, the onion pieces really add alot. i can see serving this over anything, depending on the stock used. a keeper.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
chia April 18, 2005

I really thought this would be amazing, and I was dissapointed. It had too strong of a taste of worcestershire sauce or sugar, I can't quite put my finger on it. I'll try it again, and play around with some flavors. I love roasted onions. I gave it two stars because my family ate it and said it was ok.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Grace09 November 06, 2011

Short and simple... Great gravy!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
vickyferland63 September 22, 2011

This gravy was wonderful. I loved the roasted onions that gave it so much flavor. Great over mashed potatoes. Made for I Recommend tag.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lazyme September 18, 2011
Roasted-Onion Gravy