91 Reviews

i just made this today and i thought it was great. i used unsalted butter instead fo oi, and i added a sliced onion and half of a sliced green pepper. i think next time i'll add more potatoes, i used red potatoes and they were on the small side. thanks for such an easy dish. i had everything chopped and put together by the time the oven was preheated. UPDATE i have made this a few more times, and made a couple of changes to make it a bit healthier. first i use the light kielbasa, and instead of oil or butter i use 1/3 cup of water. i actually like it better this way. it is a lot less greasy. btw left overs are great with eggs in a breakfast casserole with a little cheese on top!

8 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
A.S.K. October 19, 2009

This simple, quick recipe exceeds expectations. I took a hint from the previous reviewer and added a sliced green pepper, half a sliced onion and 3 crushed garlic cloves. I drizzled some olive oil in the pan and then over the ingredients before baking. It took 5 minutes to prepare and was fantastic. I will be making this often.

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
surus November 04, 2009

Very good! Only problem I had was that it stuck to my pyrex. I did remove the foil for the last 10 min. Will add some garlic cloves next time to roast along with it. Thanks for posting!

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Debilyn_Ks April 07, 2011

Great, easy and tasty dish. I'm giving four stars because the oil was so heavy. I think I'll cut in half next time and I think, too, I'll go for turkey kielbasa. Great combo though, added 1/4 onion and four chopped garlic cloves. Thanks for posting!!

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef Pollo April 13, 2010

I have been making this on top of the stove for years. It is so much better roasted in the oven!! I did not have onion soup mix so I used some fresh herbs from my garden, some garlic and some chopped onion and garlic, s and p and assorted seasonings from my cupboard. I also did not use canola oil. I used a cast iron skillet for the baking dish. Heated it up in the oven with nothing in it for 10 minutes, pulled it out and just coated it with olive oil and cooking spray very lightly. I poured a scant 1/4 cup of beef stock in the skillet, threw everything else in it, and covered it tightly with foil for 45 minutes and then uncovered it for about 15 minutes until the potatoes looked a little browned. My husband and son devoured the whole skillet. I only got a little! That never happened with my old recipe.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Whirley Mom November 16, 2011

This was good, but not exceptional. I used Hillshire Farm Beef Kielbasa and found that the oil was not necessary at all. There was far too much grease in the bottom of the pan after roasting. I also didn't think that the onion soup mix did a lot for the blend. The kielbasa had a lot of flavor on its own, and I used baby Yukon Gold potatoes that roast wonderfully, too. Overall, the recipe wasn't bad, but I will omit the oil and soup mix next time. Tossing the kielbasa and potatoes together should be sufficient for us.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Ms B. January 12, 2008

We loved this casserole, the second time I made it I omitted the oil and added a zucchini, it was great!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
kunsch5 July 23, 2011

Excellent! The recipe was reduced to serve the 2 of us using red skinned potatoes and a spicy chicken sausage with some green bell pepper added in. The onion seasoning was Onion Seasoning Mix. I used olive oil instead of canola and would probably suggest reducing it to 1 tablespoon next time around.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
PaulaG September 02, 2009

A time saver delicious recipe! I was searching for some way to use my turkey kielbasa and this dish hit the spot. I know it's not cool to change recipes before trying them as is, but the only changes I made were to add mushrooms, chopped green bell pepper and some onion slices to avoid making veggies on the side haha! This dish was maybe a tad bit salty from the onion soup mix, but it was so worth it. Thank you so much for a tummy pleasing meal!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
soaddicted2it August 11, 2009

Awesome! I thought oh it will taste ok, we were wrong we craved every next bite! I did add carrots to the mix. Loved it will make it ALOT! THANK YOU!!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
newtocookingm&m March 28, 2008
Roasted Kielbasa & Potatoes