10 Reviews

This is a good hearty dish made from the most basic of ingredients, proving that quite often the simplest of dishes are the most enjoyable.
I know it's not authentic, but I used some chicken Italian sausages from my local deli , which are very tasty...other than that I followed the instructions to the letter.
The results were absolutely great...DH was raving about it from his first mouthful and hasn't stopped since (..and it's been a few days!!)...the potatoes were just crisp on the outside and fluffy in the middle,the peppers and onions were wonderfully sweet, and the sausage and mushroom deliciously comforting.
We totally loved this and will definitely be cooking this again..thanks for sharing.
Made for PRMR.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Noo September 17, 2010

This was the perfect dish to make for a winter's day! I pretty much made it exactly as posted, with some minor changes (due to necessity). For some reason, I overlooked the garlic as an ingredient and didn't add it. Normally, I add garlic to everything, but I did not miss it hear. I could not find fresh savory, so I just 2 sprigs of fresh thyme. I used sweet Italian sausage, 1 red bell pepper and 1 green bell pepper. I only used 1 large yellow onion, but it was pretty big and was quite enough. I forgot to buy mushrooms so, as another reviewer suggested, I added celery. The end result was still delicious and satisfying, and I will be making this again (hopefully, correctly next time). Thanks for sharing this. Made for Please Review My Recipe Tag Game.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
JackieOhNo! March 03, 2010

This recipe was easy and sooo good. I did use Bratwurst instead of Italian sausage and plenty of the herbs.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Barbara H. April 25, 2015

This was simply delicious. I have a very picky 10 year old -he asked for seconds and thirds. My husband loved it as well. This will be added to my dishes when we have company.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Tra C April 30, 2013

What a terrific dish Chocolatl. We really enjoyed this quick and easy to make meal. It was awesome, had so much flavor and the textures were excellent. Made exactly as written but omitted the mushrooms, as i was out. Sooo good, it doesn't get any better than this. All the natural flavors came out and blended beautifully to create a memorable treat. I used hot italian sausage meat, which I rolled into small meatballs, it worked perfectly in this dish. Thank you for sharing a new family favorite.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Baby Kato May 08, 2012

This is delicious and so easy. The recipe was reduced by half and one medium russet potato was used. The recipe produced very generous servings. I used sweet Italian sausage that was boiled for 10 minutes or so, cut into thirds and placed on top of all the wonderful vegetables. After 30 minutes the dish was covered with foil, the oven turned off and the dish left in the hot oven for 20 minutes or so. Everything was cooked to perfection. Made for Zaar Stars Tag Game.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
PaulaG November 17, 2011

After asking the Chocolatl I made this in an all veggie version and it was completely wonderful. I made it as directed but skipped the meat sausage and with 3 mins to go on the time I added broken sausage flavored veggie patties (four of them). The aroma of the herbs while in the oven is better than Christmas! I used the fresh herbs I had left from the afore mentioned dinner, thyme, rosemary and sage and they worked beautifully. I did need to add a bit more olive oil as I didn't have any fat from meat sausage but the juice that the mushrooms gave up added delicious moisture. I will certainly make this again and do so with a smile.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Annacia December 30, 2010

I made this for dinner this past weekend and everyone raved about it! Made great leftovers also. Thanks for a great recipe Chocolat!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
cooking for boys!!! November 19, 2009

This recipe was delicious! It was very simple and easy to play around with. Since my boyfriend doesn't like mushrooms I added celery instead and he loved it! He told me that I better make it again! Thank you!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Ardenia September 30, 2009

This is an easy delicious dinner! I sliced my sausage and added it when I added the peppers and onions. We all enjoyed! Thanks Chocolatl!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
susie cooks September 29, 2009
Roasted Italian Sausage and Potatoes With Mushrooms and Peppers