8 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Amazing what roasting the chickpeas, garlic and spices does for the flavor! I doubled the garlic. Next time I will also roast extra chickpeas because I kept popping them in my mouth as I was waiting for them to cool....yummy snack ;) ! Thanx for a great new hummus recipe. I'll be making this again.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
*Parsley* September 11, 2006

This is a 27* recipe! I wanted this for lunch and I wanted it NOW so I used 2 cans of chickpeas rather than freshly cooked and it was awesome. I didn't and won't change the seasonings, tahini or other ingredient amounts at all. I used minced garlic (didn't read the recipe carefully) and had no trouble with burning even with 25 minutes of roasting. This was not as smooth as other hummous I've made and I adored it that way. I'm definitely going to use these roasted chickpeas as a snack. I'm addicted.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
sugarpea January 27, 2007

Wonderful when roasted!! I started boiling before I found this recipe and the juice came in handy. I found I had to add some juice halfway thru roasting to soften the beans(I roasted almost an hour). I used paprika in lieu of cayenne because my sweetheart doesnt like too hot. I used Sesame oil instead of olive oil and tahini & I roasted sesame seeds with it. ALSO, I added a mix of fresh organic greens that I grow on my farm. Best ever hummous. Roasting is the way. Thanks.M's Organic Farm

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mmgraff November 22, 2006

This was so good! The spice leave a warm tingly feeling in your throat after you ave swallowed and finding a crunchy chickpea every so often was a delight! I made this in two batches the first as per cookgirls recommendation and to the second I added some yoghurt instead of the pea juice, this really lifted the flavours and made it creamy and light. My freezer is now full of yummy hummus, thanks CG!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
PinkCherryBlossom September 23, 2006

WOW! I'd give this recipe 50 stars if I could! I am to hummus what Homer Simpson is to donuts and I've been trying to get it right for months to no avail. This is the only recipe I'll ever use again. I added a smidge more lemon juice and added roasted red peppers and let me just say....YUM! :-)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ElevationGrace July 26, 2013

Tasty. I did use less cayenne, to taste, freshly ground black pepper, & sea salt. I had to use way, way more cooking liquid than 1/3 cup. It never got completely smooth, but that's OK. I like someones idea of adding yogurt to smooth it out and tried that too and it was good that way. Made for NA*ME Tag! Come play!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
UmmBinat March 14, 2011

Nice change to roast the chickpeas, I also used canned chickpeas to save time. I didn't use the coriander(didn't have any) and added about 1/4 tsp. more cumin. Let set overnight and it was yummy! Thank you!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MommaEllen May 21, 2008

What a tasty hummus. I had this saved in a cookbook for a while and made it so I could dip some cut up veggies.I had one problem though, I couldn't stop eating the chickpeas after they came out of the oven..:)I added a pinch of smoked paprika because I thought it would give it a little kick. Thanks for the keeper CG!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
atm1970 February 10, 2008
Roasted Hummus