Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Roasted Halibut With Tomato Cream Sauce Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Roasted Halibut With Tomato Cream Sauce

    Average Rating:

    22 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 22

    Sort by:

    • on August 24, 2007

      This was fantastic. I was kind of afraid - the smell of the fish when it was marinating was horrid and I thought I would be disappointed. However, the final product was amazing - it tasted like a 5 star restaurant meal! I will definitely be making this again! Like several other reviewers, I made this with Lemon Rice (Lemon Rice) and the two complimented each other perfectly!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 22, 2008

      This was a very easy recipe and was exceptionally good. I substituted the shrimp for scallops and just seared them and then added them to the dish at the end as I didn't want to over cook them.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 24, 2005

      Countryladay, this was raved about by my guests and by dh! The finished dish looked gorgeous, and dh had to go show it around to everyone b4 we plated it in the kitchen. Next time I make it, I would add a tsp or two of sugar/splenda to the tomato sauce. Just to cut the acidity a little. We served it with broc and cauli, but I do think it would be great over spinach!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 20, 2011

      This was an amazing dish! I omitted the shrimp due to an allergy, and did not have any cream in the house so I used half & half. The sauce was sublime. I am tempted to make the sauce alone for other uses, but I'm not sure it would be the same without that certain something imparted by the fish when the tomatoes are cooked along side the filet. I loved the herbes de provence, it think it makes the dish, but I could see how mixing it up and using different herb combinations could work as well. I definitely see myself serving this dish to company and have no doubt that my foodie friends would love it.
      Follow the recipe and the clear instructions for a sure hit - or be adventurist and fool around with the ingredients. I would highly recommend this recipe! Thanks so much CountryLady.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 10, 2010

      I'm constantly on the lookout for halibut recipes since we have an abundant supply in the Halibut Fishing Capital of the World, and this hit the mark. Made it almost exactly as posted, though I had to substitute canned whole plum tomatos that I chopped and drained. LOVED the sauce, in fact, I think leftovers (if any) would be excellent over pasta. My husband really enjoyed it and my kids asked for seconds, too - now that's a winner in my book! Thanks for sharing this delicious recipe.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 19, 2005

      I made this fantastic dish using 8 salmon fillets instead of halibut for Sunday dinner, and I increased the shrimp, plus all the other ingredients slightly... my guests thought they were dining out at a fancy restaurant! although I had to go across town to purchase the herbes de provence at a bulk spice store, this dish made it all worth while! The only change I made was I used pre-sauteed cherry tomatoes that were sliced in half from my garden, which in my opinion was the right choice for this dish, they added so much flavor. Marg, thank you once again for another winner, and for making my dinner such a huge success, we enjoyed this dish so much!...Kittencal

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 14, 2005

      This made for a delicious dinner indeed. Halibut is one of DH's very favorite things, and he just loved it prepared this way. I made the recipe just as is, substituting crushed tomatoes instead of chopped, and it was just fantastic. I wouldn't change another thing! Thanks so much for posting this recipe. Dianne

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 23, 2003

      This was a delicious supper. I used cod, but the sauce shines here. I served this with chia's red pepper pilaf and it was a great combination. Thanks.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 26, 2014

      I really enjoyed this and will make it again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 05, 2013

      Pretty much ditto to what Zepharum said. Also, my husband absolutely loved this and said it could be his birthday meal - that's the highest praise he can give a meal! I don't like fish so I can't say that I loved this but I did like it and would have it again, that is just about my highest praise for a fish recipe. :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 07, 2011

      I changed the preparation slightly. For the sauce, I took the 12 shrimp (out of their shells and tails removed completely) and put them in the sauce, pureeing it all with a stick blender.

      It was a big hit and even my brother, who usually hates fish, ate a huge portion!

      I will definitely make this again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 31, 2009

      Very good, even though as usual I didn't follow the recipe exactly! I substituted fine herbs for the herbs de provence , because that is what I had on hand, and used Halibut steaks instead of fillets. I also used a whole pack of shrimp. For the sauce I used fresh tomato and omitted the cream.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 31, 2009

      Excellent clean flavor. Not too heavy, though it may appear so. I highly recommend pureeing the sauce for a smoother, more consistent tomato flavor.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 02, 2008

      Very tasty! I made this for my dad and I, and since we're watching our fat intake I used a little flour whisked into some almond breeze instead of cream. Still delicious, however obviously not all that creamy. I served it with some roasted veggie quinoa.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 03, 2008

      Easy to make, perfectly cooked fish & shrimp. Sublime sauce. Served w/ "Creamy baked polenta" "Creamy Baked Polenta With Herbs and Green Onions" & enjoyed by everyone!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 17, 2007

      My husband & I just liked it, the sauce make it great, it was a tiny bit bland. We have a friend from Bulgaria staying w/ us who eats a lot of fish & he loved it! As suggested we served w/ Lemon Rice by TGirl,RN which I loved!-Thanks

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 05, 2007

      My husband and myself could be a carbon copy of the last review. We are trying to like fish. I have to admit we actually enjoyed eating it! I will make it again. We thought we were eating at a restaurant.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 16, 2007

      My husband and I are not really the best people to rate this, as we don't love fish, but we're trying to like it and this tasted great to us. I used Herbes De Provence from this site for the Herb de Provence, but left out the summer savory, and lavender and used both basil and oregano. I baked the fish about 14-15 minutes, because I like it well done, and probably boiled the sauce about 3 minutes.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 11, 2006

      This is the best salmon I have ever tasted!! My boyfriend doesnt really like fish, but he loved this. Soooo moist!! A new favorite

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 01, 2006

      This was a FANTASTIC meal. It was so easy and quick. My family loved the sauce. They were sopping it up off of thier empty plates with the dinner roles!!! Although if you have younger kids I'd recommend using Cod or Tilapia. Halibut is expensive and has bones.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Roasted Halibut With Tomato Cream Sauce

    Serving Size: 1 (366 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 533.0
     
    Calories from Fat 205
    38%
    Total Fat 22.8 g
    35%
    Saturated Fat 7.0 g
    35%
    Cholesterol 320.6 mg
    106%
    Sodium 929.5 mg
    38%
    Total Carbohydrate 4.1 g
    1%
    Dietary Fiber 0.6 g
    2%
    Sugars 1.4 g
    5%
    Protein 73.9 g
    147%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    stone ground dijon mustard

    herbes de provence

    herbes de provence

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites