22 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

This was fantastic. I was kind of afraid - the smell of the fish when it was marinating was horrid and I thought I would be disappointed. However, the final product was amazing - it tasted like a 5 star restaurant meal! I will definitely be making this again! Like several other reviewers, I made this with Lemon Rice (Lemon Rice) and the two complimented each other perfectly!

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
zepharum August 24, 2007

This was a very easy recipe and was exceptionally good. I substituted the shrimp for scallops and just seared them and then added them to the dish at the end as I didn't want to over cook them.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jsgood January 22, 2008

Countryladay, this was raved about by my guests and by dh! The finished dish looked gorgeous, and dh had to go show it around to everyone b4 we plated it in the kitchen. Next time I make it, I would add a tsp or two of sugar/splenda to the tomato sauce. Just to cut the acidity a little. We served it with broc and cauli, but I do think it would be great over spinach!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
A la Carte August 24, 2005

This was an amazing dish! I omitted the shrimp due to an allergy, and did not have any cream in the house so I used half & half. The sauce was sublime. I am tempted to make the sauce alone for other uses, but I'm not sure it would be the same without that certain something imparted by the fish when the tomatoes are cooked along side the filet. I loved the herbes de provence, it think it makes the dish, but I could see how mixing it up and using different herb combinations could work as well. I definitely see myself serving this dish to company and have no doubt that my foodie friends would love it.
Follow the recipe and the clear instructions for a sure hit - or be adventurist and fool around with the ingredients. I would highly recommend this recipe! Thanks so much CountryLady.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Marieskey June 20, 2011

I'm constantly on the lookout for halibut recipes since we have an abundant supply in the Halibut Fishing Capital of the World, and this hit the mark. Made it almost exactly as posted, though I had to substitute canned whole plum tomatos that I chopped and drained. LOVED the sauce, in fact, I think leftovers (if any) would be excellent over pasta. My husband really enjoyed it and my kids asked for seconds, too - now that's a winner in my book! Thanks for sharing this delicious recipe.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Great!full August 10, 2010

I made this fantastic dish using 8 salmon fillets instead of halibut for Sunday dinner, and I increased the shrimp, plus all the other ingredients slightly... my guests thought they were dining out at a fancy restaurant! although I had to go across town to purchase the herbes de provence at a bulk spice store, this dish made it all worth while! The only change I made was I used pre-sauteed cherry tomatoes that were sliced in half from my garden, which in my opinion was the right choice for this dish, they added so much flavor. Marg, thank you once again for another winner, and for making my dinner such a huge success, we enjoyed this dish so much!...Kittencal

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kittencalskitchen September 19, 2005

This made for a delicious dinner indeed. Halibut is one of DH's very favorite things, and he just loved it prepared this way. I made the recipe just as is, substituting crushed tomatoes instead of chopped, and it was just fantastic. I wouldn't change another thing! Thanks so much for posting this recipe. Dianne

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Pianolady September 14, 2005

This was a delicious supper. I used cod, but the sauce shines here. I served this with chia's red pepper pilaf and it was a great combination. Thanks.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
evelyn/athens July 23, 2003

I really enjoyed this and will make it again!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
kda949 May 26, 2014

Pretty much ditto to what Zepharum said. Also, my husband absolutely loved this and said it could be his birthday meal - that's the highest praise he can give a meal! I don't like fish so I can't say that I loved this but I did like it and would have it again, that is just about my highest praise for a fish recipe. :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LittleBitGranola October 05, 2013
Roasted Halibut With Tomato Cream Sauce