Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Roasted Green Beans With Garlic and Onions Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Roasted Green Beans With Garlic and Onions

    Average Rating:

    16 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-16 of 16

    Sort by:

    • on June 13, 2002

      Absolutely Excellent! I cooked mine a LOT longer - approximately 1 hour - to get a really good roasting flavor.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 15, 2002

      I have been making this same recipe--from a Moosewood cookbook and it is awesome. Like the other reviewer, I cook it about an hour to really get the onions caramelized. I also like to add more onions (but my husband doesn't agree). A really easy, yummy way to good green beans.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 25, 2002

      Great green bean recipe! I cooked mine a lot longer. Much better than mushy meat flavored beans!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 09, 2004

      I, too, roasted these longer than posted. At 20 min the beans were still a bit too crunchy for me but the garlic was done!! I'll adjust the cooking time accordingly next time. Thanks GinnyP

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 18, 2009

    • on September 01, 2009

      I gave this recipe 2 stars. I loved the idea of mixing garlic and onions w/green beans. I got mixed reviews on this recipe in my house. My family wasn't crazy over these beans. I'm not a big balsamic vinegar person so that's why I didn't care for them. My future hubby said that the garlic was to much (the more the better for me), my picky 8 yr old niece ate only her green beans, and finally my picky 6 yr old newphew enjoyed these beans (his only complaint was they needed more salt). Overall I don't think I'll make these again, but thanks for posting! Christine (internetnut)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 29, 2009

      I made these yesterday and they were fabulous. I had a bag of the frozen tiny little green beans that I get at Aldi's. I could not stop eating them. My Dh liked them, the kids were not so enamored but I want them every day. :-) Oh, I just realized I forgot the balsamic vinegar, I will have to make them again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 28, 2009

      My green beans turned out to be quite tough and chewy and the onions were undercooked. I would recommend parboiling the beans for about 4 minutes before roasting and then roasting them quite a bit longer - at least until the onions start to carmelize. This recipe has lots of potential and deserves to be played with!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 31, 2008

      I had never roasted green beans before but it will now be my favorite way to eat green beans. Who would have thought the simple green bean could change from the every day to the "special" flavor added by roasting. I skipped the balsamic vinegar accidentally but they were still absolutely wonderful. Roasted a whole pound for just me and DH and we finished them all. I'm so glad I added plenty of onions and garlic. I baked them for 45 minutes. I suggest using your hands to evenly distribute the oive oil. YUM-YUM

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 07, 2008

      I was thinking that with such a short roasting period that the onions would be disgustingly limp (versus browned) and the garlic wouldn't be cooked enough to tone down it's overwhelming flavor when raw. Wrong on both counts (which is to say that though limp and not brown the onions were great, and the garlic was sufficiently cooked). I went a little overboard with the olive oil, which I'm afraid will now congeal in a disgusting manner after refrigeration. Oh well. I cooked it a total of 21 minutes and stirred every 7. I do believe this recipe is probably best served hot, right out of the oven--though what I originally had in mind was serving this as a room temperature side dish--with less olive oil (than I used) I think it will still work.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 03, 2008

      Loved the garlic and onions in this, but then I could bathe in garlic and onions. (If I wanted to be totally friendless.) I'll probably roast the garlic cloves without their skins next time for quicker access to them. ;) Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 01, 2008

      Loved this dish!! Quick & easy & something NEW to do with greenbeans. I roasted mine for about 45 mintues cuz my pan was a little small. I loved the flavor of the balsamic with the garlic. DH loves greenbeans so I'll be making this again soon. Thanks for a great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 17, 2007

      I have to agree with the last reviewer, I as well had to leave it in for more than 30 minutes. I eventually just turned the broiler on for about 5 minutes to get the green beans to blacken. Wonderful flavor. I enjoyed the garlic as well! It is a definite keeper!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 12, 2007

      We loved this. Have done this with and without the balsamic. Great either way. I prefer it roasted a bit longer - about 30 minutes.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 09, 2007

      What a great roasted veggie recipe! I used red onions for a little color and all else the same. My family loved it, it was a nice addition to our Easter dinner. Thanks, Carole in Orlando

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 04, 2007

      Made half a recipe and got to generous servings. I may have added a few more garlic cloves and I misted the vegetables with the olive oil. They were done to our liking in 20 minutes. Went very well with Maple Salmon.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Roasted Green Beans With Garlic and Onions

    Serving Size: 1 (122 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 75.3
     
    Calories from Fat 3
    59%
    Total Fat 0.3 g
    0%
    Saturated Fat 0.0 g
    0%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 12.1 mg
    0%
    Total Carbohydrate 16.8 g
    5%
    Dietary Fiber 4.1 g
    16%
    Sugars 7.3 g
    29%
    Protein 3.2 g
    6%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites