12 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Very nice garlic flavor. I didn't have a lemon so I used concentrate and I don't think I added enough. I also used a blend of Italian cheeses. I think I'll make it again and use gruyere cheese. I also used half and half instead of whipping cream. I may try again with whipping cream, but the half and half was just fine.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sunnybrook December 11, 2009

Delicious! Made as an appetizer for Father's Day. It was so yummy. I added some freshly ground pepper and a splash of white wine while sauteeing the onions,etc. Don't let the amt of garlic scare you. It is so mild and flavorful even my 6 yr old loved it. I used 5 heads of garlic! 3 roasted and 2 sauteed... Never ever used that much... It is a keeper! I know I will make many more times.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jopalis June 21, 2007

I have made this soup a number of times. I served it to company, and told them it was cream of parmesan so that they wouldn't be scared off. I used half and half instead of the cream for subsequent batches, and I roasted more of the garlic, preferring the carmelized flavor to the unroasted. The parmesan and lemon add that nice zest to it. I will make this again and again.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
dianabanana June 04, 2006

Fantastic! I love the cheesy parmesan and sweet roasted garlic flavours. I used half and half for the whipping cream and used a splash of lemon juice in the soup as I didn't have any fresh lemons. The only other change I made was to only use 2 cups of chicken broth. I wouldn't have wanted the soup any thinner. Thanks for such a delicious recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jen in Victoria, BC August 30, 2011

I should have reviewed this before, we have made it so often. It is not only one of our favorites, but is what we serve guests and have become know for! They always ask for the recipe! It is garlicky, yes, but very sweet and nutty tasting due to the roasted garlic, not harsh at all. It's elegant as well as tasty, plus it's wonderful for anyone coming down with a cold.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ORTNmom February 21, 2011

Wow...I wish I could give this more than 5 stars! It's absolutely delicious, silky smooth and perfect! I added homemade parmesan croutons before serving and my DH was very impressed! Thanks for a wonderful recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
andrea185 January 03, 2011

The aroma and taste is amazing. Even the kids enjoyed it. Our only problem was there was not enough for seconds!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Ty's Kitchen January 15, 2007

Fantastic - just a perfect recipe, with results that rival any 5 star restaurant. The soup is silky and rich, but not at all cloying - a real winner.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
pheasant farmer October 19, 2005

This is a gorgeous soup -- and this coming from someone who stupidly forgot to add the parmesan cheese and lemon at the end! I can only imagine how good it is with those two ingredients, but if you wanted to cut fat then the soup is delicious without the cheese. I also used semi-skimmed milk so I guess my soup was the "slimmers" version. I was amazed how much it thickened when I puréed it as well. I think you could develop a number of tasty variations on this soup. One that comes to mind immediately would be to roast some tomatoes with rosemary and then purée them with the rest of the broth.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sackville July 12, 2004

This is "Oh My Gods!" good!! My only complaint was that there wasn't enough. We ate it with a loaf of fresh baked french bread, sopping up the garlicky goodness.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Stephanie in Pittsburgh March 09, 2004
Roasted Garlic Soup with Parmesan