7 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

A neccesity in every kitchen, IMHO! Today I had 8 HEADS of garlic to roast, so I cut the heads in half, drizzled with oil, sprinkled with kosher salt, and followed the recipe and time, and squeezed out those golden lovlies! I have also done just a few cloves the same way when I'm all out and need some for a recipe. I use roasted garlic a lot, so I freeze it flat in a zipper bag, and just break off however much I need right from the freezer. Fabulous! ZWT 7 - Shady Ladies

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef PotPie June 09, 2011

I love how easy this is to make and how delicious it was! YUMMY! I used it to make garlic bread and froze the rest for future use!

Thanks

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Shawna Landers June 07, 2011

YUM, this is great stuff! I should always have an extra 5 bulbs or so of garlic lying around and just pop them in the oven whenever it's going for an hour or so. I used the whole roasted bulb method, found it a bit messy to squeeze the garlic out of the bulbs afterwards (very minor complaint) and I may try peeling the cloves before roasting, like you indicate in your recipe. I mashed the cloves with a fork without problem. The whole family enjoyed this on bread as a side for a soup and I know I can put this to so many uses.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Deantini April 26, 2011

I also used the whole bulb, as opposed to peeling the cloves individually. I added the olive oil, but saved a little of the salt, for the processing part. This was good and simple. I wish I could always remember to roast garlic when I have something else in the oven, but this is great, as I can try to keep it on hand. I especially love this served with goat cheese and roasted red peppers, slathered on toasted baguette slices. YUM! Thanks for sharing, IngridH!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
alligirl April 14, 2011

I have to say, I roasted the garlic in the bulb, not in the individual cloves......it is just too time consuming and harder to get the garlic into the paste form that way. I did use the oil and salt....normally I just add the oil. This is wonderful served on bread or added to any recipe needing roasted garlic.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
breezermom March 26, 2011

This is very yummy! As most know I did make a many roasted garlic! I did a topic on roasted garlic on recipezaar 3 years ago. And made many more roasted garlic recipes since then!
check it out here http://www.food.com/bb/viewtopic.zsp?t=226006
I peeled 3 of the 5 bulbs. Just found it to tedious so I went and cut the tops off the other 2 bulbs, oiled the tops and placed in foil, as in Roasted Garlic Spread
You do need to have at least 5 bulbs to processes in the food processor. I did process the 3 but needed to add olive oil to help it along. For an added kick do add some fresh herbs to the food processor. So GOOD! ;)
Thanks for sweet creamy goodness!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Rita~ August 13, 2010

I was going to ask how long this is going to last in the refrigerator,but I see it's not the case.It goes so fast.Somehow,whenever I open the fridge door I want to eat garlic bread.I just found a new method of roasting garlic.Thanks for sharing.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
littlemafia April 08, 2010
Roasted Garlic Paste