19 Reviews

Delicious! This went perfectly as a spread/dip for flatbread. I made 2 changes, however. I doubled the garlic and omitted the butter. I think I will make it just like that next time, too. Thanks for the great recipe!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jen in Victoria, BC January 28, 2013

There isn't much more you can expect from roast garlic and cheese except brilliance, and this is just that...I have to go and make some more now as I know in this house it wont last long.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
WicklewoodWench April 18, 2011

This got rave reviews! Didn't have chives, but still so tasty. Thank you!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
~Srb~ April 12, 2011

We love this recipe. I've made it many times, with or without the chives and with or without the butter, just using softened cream cheese with the olive oil. I've used dried chives, so maybe that's why they were not making as big a difference in the outcome. Playing with the salt content really seems to bring out the flavor, we like enough salt without it becoming too salty - chicken boullion was a hit with us for flavor. We slather it slightly warm on any crusty bread. Thanks for posting, Sue Lau. Delicious, yum!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Garlic Chick November 19, 2010

This was fantastic slathered on top of burgers!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
stonecoldcrazy November 10, 2010

Fantastic!!!! even better the next day - with potato chips :-)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
JanetSmith154 September 26, 2010

This was okay. Not my fav although I am a huge garlic fan. Prob. won't make it again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
KT~Lynn November 13, 2007

This is a great appetizer to put out with either crackers or a crusty italian bread. My mother-in-law took home the leftovers to put on her morning bagel. I enjoyed this recipe very much... thank you for posting.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mermaidmagic April 09, 2007

I have made this several times and it is incredible! I think that the chives really give that little something extra, so don't omit them. Spread it on a cracker-top with some smoked salmon, and you have your own little piece of heaven. I have used lite cream cheese and omitted the butter and it's still awesome!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
SCOOBYBOO February 10, 2007

My rating is based on the raves of my guests. I thought this was good, but they couldn't believe how delicious it was! I had several appetizers out for a football game, and this got rave reviews by all. I served on parmesan bread toasts and some spread in celery stalks.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jules127 October 02, 2006
Roasted Garlic Cheese Spread