10 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Waaaaaaaay too much sugar.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
JeskyAnn September 07, 2013

The sugar is SO not needed. I found that after all my work of roasting and obtaining the roasted garlic, I only ruined it with the sugared butter. Tasted like garlic butter with a ton of sugar. Sorry, but absolutely will not make again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kilbornzwife March 25, 2013

The basic recipe is good. My changes were adding 1 tbl. sugar (will pare that down to 1 tsp. next time), 1 tbl. garlic powder and 1 tsp. Italian Seasoning (will put in 2 tsp. next time). My brother fell in love with this. Last night he spread it over some baked cod and he said it turned a boring piece of fish into a five star restaurant fish. Thanks so much for the great basic recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Darlene Ross July 06, 2010

SO GOOD! I used this for garlic bread and it was delish. I think next time though I will not use as much sugar.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
secretcook October 28, 2009

I make this all the time (sans sugar). I also usually chop the top off the head of garlic before adding olive oil. May try it this way and see if it works better.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
sbera007 April 30, 2009

This was great!! After checking out the other reviews I left out the sugar and made as directed. My parents were my test subjects and they said it needed a little more garlic so I minced 4 more fresh cloves and added that along with some parsley (for color) and the end result was fantastic!! This was amazing, thanks for posting!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
RaeMay January 30, 2009

We've tried this several times and have decided we prefer no sugar--just our personal tastes. Thanks to this recipe, I've nearly always got a stash of garlic butter in my fridge, ready to go.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
FoodBooksSangria November 28, 2006

This was very good but I think less sugar next time....

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
chefnini January 29, 2006

Steve, this is so very good. I am sitting here eating it as I type. My husband just told me not to fill up on bread before dinner! I am happy to be the first to review this so I can say to everyone- YOU MUST TRY THIS IT IS FABULOUS! I added thyme and I used a whole head of garlic for 1/2 the butter and sugar Thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
HeidiSue January 15, 2005
Roasted Garlic Butter