25 Reviews

We had garlic on sale about a month ago(10 heads for $1.00) and I roasted about 20 garlic heads, pretty much the way as instructed above. I pulsed the garlic on my food processor (I like it somewhat chunky)with some olive oil and salt and pepper. I placed the mixture in a freezer bag and flattened it out. I just break off chunks as I need it. Very good!!!

15 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Ridgely August 25, 2002

This is how I roast my garlic, tho I roast mine at 400 degrees for an hour. For a very special treat, (that I can't indulge in too often) try warming up a Brie round in an oven-proof shallow dish. I turn the oven off from roasting the garlic and place the Brie in. When it is warm, but not competely melted, take it out spread some brie on a slice of sour dough baguette, then squeeze a garlic clove on. Yummm, talk about heaven!! Thanks for posting.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Scoutie November 10, 2008

I needed this for one of the items on RCS #15 cooking event and had never done it before - this was so easy and the taste so good, didn't know what I had been missing all this time when I just used regular garlic in my dishes. I followed A Messy Cook's advise and brushed the heads with olive oil prior to baking and they came out wonderful.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Bonnie G #2 February 23, 2010

I lightly brushed the heads with olive oil.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
A Messy Cook August 08, 2009

Awesome. No other words can describe this. Just awesome. Thanks!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
RaeMay February 20, 2009

Great garlic!! I roasted at about 400 degrees as I was cooking something else. I drizzled a little olive oil and salt on the garlic before wrapping in foil. The garlic came out creamy and delicious and I mixed it with some roasted red peppers and put it on crisped up bread brushed with olive oil. Thanks for the recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Take a Letter Maria November 03, 2008

Fill your kitchen with devine aroma ! These are heavenly indeed ! So easy becuase peeling off the papery outsider covers is a breeze once they are cooked. Please see mty rating system: 5 magnificient stars for a recipe that is SO simple and SO tasty and SO effortless. If you are not a lover of garlic then you don't know what you are missing out on.. but that's ok, more for we garlic lovers to enjoy. LOL. Thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
kiwidutch March 14, 2008

Perfectly done; utterly tender. Wonderful in mashed potatoes; wonderful puree. Wonderful licked off fingers. :-) Thanks for posting this!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
BarbryT March 02, 2008

I have seen roasted garlic on so many shows and never tried it til today. And now I can fully understand why its loved so much. Am giving this another rating so that those whom have not tried it will. Keep in mind -- you like pungent strong garlic you actually may not like the sweet roasted flavor. My husband gave it a thumbs down and my oldest boy didnt like it either. I had it on baked tator and on wheat thins crackers. I will be making this again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
AzureLynn February 24, 2008

One thing that people neglected to mention was the intense smell of baking garlic. People outside my house either closed their eyes and inhaled deeply or quickly crossed the road. Seriously, make sure you have the windows open when you do this. I made 9 heads of garlic, pressed out the puree, mashed it in a bowl and then shaped it into a narrow cigar at the bottom of a freezer bag. I made 4 bags and put them in the freezer. These probably need to be kept in a second freezer bag as the smell even in the deep freeze was quite overpowering.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Perfectionist cook September 17, 2007
Roasted Garlic