9 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

This was worth every one of the 5 stars! I did not use fennel (as the family dont like it) so used zucchini instead. Wonderful flavour. Thanks.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Wendy's Kitchen May 15, 2009

The capers set this dish apart from other versions of roast vegetables. Don't know why I didn't think of this myself. Also added a sliced leek. Made and enjoyed for Zaar World Tour.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Leggy Peggy June 23, 2007

Made about half the recipe (1 fennel bulb, l red pepper, 1 Tbsp capers), and regretted it. These vegetables came out so sweet, and I thought the balsamic vinegar amount was perfect. Contributed to the sweetness but did not end up being too tart. We reduced the oil to about 1/2 tablespoon for half the recipe and we kept this in the oven for 45 minutes and decided it needed 10-15 minutes more. The vegetables held their shape and were nicely charred. We also thought 6 servings was quite generous. The two of us couldn't finish half the recipe even though we had seconds. We served this with a rice side. Really outstanding French Tart, thanks!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kumquat the Cat's friend June 11, 2007

Thank you for this recipe. That would indeed lovely. In retrospect, I think I would have add some Boletus for a pinch of autumn !

http://www.frenchvegetables.com/autumn-vegetables/boletus/

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jasonpalmi December 03, 2012

What was not to like? Smelled heavenly on a cold winter Sunday...

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
CIndytc February 16, 2009

Delicious!! A great quick and easy way to use up some of the bounty of fresh local veggies right now (July in Pa). I didn't have any fennel so I used a TBS of fennel seeds or so and some garlic powder instead of cloves. It was still fantastic and everybody loved it. The vinegar really does add sweetness somehow. Thanks for the great recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
riversanctuary July 23, 2008

Add crumbled cooked meatballs and some French cheese on top (Chaumes, Raclette, Montchevre Fresh Goat Cheese. Grill and Ooh La La! C'est Magnifique!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ssmith726 April 29, 2008

The flavours all worked so well together! I was planning on making this as a side dish, but it was so good that I served it with couscous as a main. I agree with the salt recommendation. Use grey salt if you have it. This was so nice!! I will definitely make it again. Thanks French Tart!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
AmandaInOz June 10, 2007

I wish, I could give this 6 stars, the smell while cooking had neighbors coming over to see what we were cooking. Tasted just as great as it smelled, next time will try different kinds of squash, I loved the fennel. Thanks French Tart.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Ed&Theresa February 13, 2007
Roasted French Vegetables in Hot Balsamic and Olive Oil Dressing