16 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Great potatoes! I used my cast iron skillet to roast the little beauties to perfection. The seasonings were delicious - I threw them all in at once before roasting rather than save some for the end. The fingerlings were great and I'm considering trying this method with larger potatoes cut to a similar size. Thanks for posting LMillerRN - this one's a keeper!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Acerast January 08, 2011

Really a terrific recipe! These are very easy to make -- I followed the directions exactly as written. I omitted the rosemary -- it seems we've had a lot of recipes using rosemary lately, so I opted to use only the thyme. These were delicious. I used a pound of fingerling potatoes and my husband and I hate them all!!!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Bobbie November 05, 2010

Delicious! I did cut back on the salt as suggested in other reviews. Served as a side dish to Kittencal's Easy and Delicious Ranch-Parmesan Chicken. Thanks for posting!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lori in NC August 30, 2010

Loved these potatoes, so darn simple and they tasted wonderful.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
CIndytc June 29, 2010

I am able to give this recipe 5 stars only because the other reviewers warned about the excessive amount of salt. Other than reducing the salt to just 2 to 3 grinds of sea salt and adding 3 finely chopped cloves of garlic to the fresh rosemary and thyme (again thanks to a reviewer) and preheated the pan and they were awesome. This was the first time I was ever able to find fingerling potatoes in my grocery - will buy them again, my son really enjoyed the texture. Served these with Ridiculously Easy Juicy Chicken Thighs #357586, great combo. Thanks LMillerRN for posting a really good potato recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sandy in Dayton April 29, 2010

Lovely! I used Herbes de Provence instead of the rosemary and thyme. I had to pick out my purple potatoes because they were purple all throughout inside...I have never had these potatoes before and thought the purple ones might be rotten? Anyway, very tasty and everyone enjoyed them. I used sea salt and only used 1 teaspoon instead of 2. Thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ChipotleChick January 18, 2010

I used the method more than the seasonings for this recipe; I just used a little coarse salt and fresh pepper, and I also tossed in about 2 cloves of minced garlic. What great flavor! So easy, too, to use fingerlings.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
newspapergal December 08, 2009

I love the texture and flavor of fingerling potatoes, and this was a great way to prepare them. I used coarse kosher salt, and we felt these were too salty. We ended up brushing off most of the seasonings in order to reduce the salt. Too bad beacause I did like the other seasonings on the potatoes.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Ginny Sue July 11, 2009

Made this with halved mini red potatoes, and the texture turned out great. I used a stoneware quiche plate (I think that's what it was, not 100% sure) preheated and then cooked the potatoes in two layers since it wasn't big enough for a single layer. Tossed the potatoes after about 15 minutes and put them back in the oven. I used kosher salt, and the only complaint I got from the family was that they were too salty. Might have been my choice of salt, or maybe I just used too much. Next time I'll ratchet back the salt a bit.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Peter Near July 04, 2009

delicious with freshly dug fingerlings from the garden. we used herbs de provence instead of the various herbs and lots of salt and didn't preheat the pan. fingerling potatoes are more dense than regular potatoes and aren't as 'mealy' (best word i ccan come up with!). thanks for the recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
diggroweatdance September 04, 2008
Roasted Fingerling Potatoes With Seasoned Salt