11 Reviews

Pretty good recipe. I tried it because I had all of the ingredients on hand. I used mild red miso for my sauce. The only change I made was to cook the eggplant for 6 minutes per side instead of 5. I loved the sauce on my salmon and could see using it on other stuff. Yum! I might try the sauce with other citrus next time--i'm thinking lime but lemon could be great, too! Thanks for posting, Tebo, I like this.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Garlic Chick February 11, 2015

This was very simple and good. It was on the sweet side and very different than what we're used to but it was great. I left out the orange zest and used Sambal Oelek ( fresh chili paste) instead of cayenne. And I served it with pearl couscous .Will definetely make it again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
txtia April 16, 2013

Ok, so I will admit that I am picky when it comes to eggplant. It has to be cooked just right. And while I thought this was ok, the rest of the family didn't like it. I was the only person who ate more than one slice. So I gave it 2 stars, which according to Food.com is rating this recipe as "fair." Although this wasn't the recipe for my family, I still wouldn't discourage someone from trying it if they are looking for something other than the typical eggplant recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
whtbxrmom April 25, 2012

This was good, but definitely a touch on the sweet side and lacking in salt/seasonings. I omitted the zest, and it still had PLENTY of orange flavor, I don't think we would have cared for it any stronger. I added a touch of soy sauce for the deeper color and salty flavor. I also garnished with sesame seeds & fresh chopped scallions to make it more like the dish my local restaurant serves. The flavor was good, but I think I'll slow roast the eggplant so it will be more tender next time.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Ashleybakes July 06, 2010

We kept getting eggplant in our veggie box delivery I was tired of the old ways we cooked it. This was very easy and tasty. Like brokenburner I used barley miso. My guests loved it and I thought is was OK but too sweet. I made it again with Meyer lemons from our tree instead of oranges and really liked it. I'll certainly make it again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
whipsomethingup August 08, 2009

This recipe was in my cookbook for a LONG time, and I'm only sorry I didn't try it sooner! It was absolutely fabulous. I didn't use the oil -- just sprayed the eggplant -- and I used one tablespoon of water to one of orange juice. I had barley miso, so that's what I used; and I substituted pancake syrup for the honey. I also didn't have any oranges so I had to skip the zest. This makes a LOT of sauce! It's the perfect blend of sweet and tangy, with a nice little kick from the cayenne. Will DEFINITELY be repeating this recipe. Thanks for posting!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
brokenburner July 12, 2009

I halved the sauce because my eggplant seemed a bit small. This sauce is very citrus-y, but good! I may reduce the zest a bit next time. Also, baking for 10 minutes in step 3 would have been far too long. The skin was discoloring at 5 mins. I poured all of the sauce on after brushing the slices first. I did't regret it :) Thanks for posting <3

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
COREprojects May 20, 2007

My husband is not a big vegetable fan. When I put half an eggplant on his plate cooked according to this recipe he said there was no way he'd eat it all. But surprise, surprise there were no leftovers. He said it's the most vegetable he's ever eaten in a single meal. And has asked for me to cook it again. Thanks for a healthy, tasty way to get veggie-phobes to eat more veg. I made a few adaptations, using peanut butter for the miso and lime for the orange, because that's what I had in the house. I'm going to try it again with the orange, though. I also used the grill (broiler) because that's how my main dish was being cooked rather than baking at 400. No problems with either change.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Rachel Savage March 19, 2007

I made this for a family potluck, and was the only one who didn't like it. I thought it was too dry, I would have prefered more sauce. And to me, the orange/ eggplant combination was too wierd.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
DiabeticMom January 05, 2006

I enjoyed the flavors! I didn't have miso, so used the peanut butter like you suggested. Thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sharon123 April 22, 2003
Roasted Eggplant with Orange Miso Glaze