10 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Mouth-watering Good! I roasted the eggplant onion and a whole bulb of garlic at the same time 25 minutes was perfect.I used half the garlic which was creamy smooth. I think next time I`ll skip the cheese.The cilantro is a must! Very good.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Rita~ September 10, 2003

This is good dip. I think next time I would only put 1 or 1/2 tsp balsamic in the mix because it was a very prominant flavor and I wanted more eggplant flavor to come through. I forgot the cheese and didn't miss it at all but I bet it would be good!!! Thanks for posting!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef*Lee January 25, 2009

WOW! This was so so so so good. I can't believe how delicious this was. Unlike Rita, I adored the cheese in it. In fact before serving I sprinkled a little more on top from a nice chunk of reggiano I had on hand. I served this with homemade pita chips.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
GourmetGradStudent April 01, 2006

It's a great recipe that can work as a dip, pasta sauce or sandwich spread! I will be making this again!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Talizeta May 19, 2013

Fantastic as a dip (I used it on raw carrots and broiled zucchini slices)! I also warmed some up and used it instead of marinara sauce on my pasta last night and it was fantastic!!! Thank you so much for sharing this recipe! I'm sure I will make it time and time again!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
wendylynn50 July 06, 2011

Very simple and delicious! I had an eggplant that needed to be used before going bad, so I tried this out. At first, I had no cilantro or ANY fresh herbs, so I made the recipe without, since other posters seemed to have luck with that. I did not enjoy the taste at all! So the next day I bought some cilantro and the recipe was followed exactly (except I added extra garlic and extra grated parmesan) and was VERY pleased! A really great versatile dip or spread, and the flavour develops even better if you leave it in the fridge for a bit before eating to let the flavours marry.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
angieconway March 15, 2010

I would give you 10 stars for this, it tasts soooo good and it's healthy too, i didn't have balsamic so i used apple cidar viniger, i also didn't use cilantro and did not miss it at all. very very good. Thanks for sharing.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
bonbon 82 June 24, 2009

We loved this dip so much that we made it 3 times in two weeks. We copied and shared the recipe often. Thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
With a Twist April 17, 2009

Hello Ducky, thank you for posting such a delicious spread! We love eggplant and this was just awesome! However, we skipped the cheese entirely(personal preference) and added about 1 tablespoon of minced green pepper. It tasted just right - not too "vinegary". Happy cooking, Diane :=)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Manami March 17, 2007

Excellent dip. I used quite a large onion and a couple extra cloves of garlic. I didn't have cilantro so I substituted a bit of mint and I felt it went well. Thanks for a real keeper. It would be great on a sandwich as well, maybe with some mozzarella cheese and grilled vegetables like zucchini and mushrooms.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sackville April 15, 2006
Roasted Eggplant, Onion and Garlic Dip or Spread