Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Roasted Eggplant (Aubergine) Spread Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Roasted Eggplant (Aubergine) Spread

    Average Rating:

    33 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 33

    Sort by:

    • on March 31, 2004

      I had a strong feeling I was going to love this recipe and I was sooo right. Your directions were easy to follow and I did manage to leave some texture. Sometimes my food processor gets away from me and I overdo it, but I was real careful. I put the spread on my favorite toasted tortilla chips and that was my lunch. Very delicious and thanks for posting this recipe.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 13, 2004

      Another winner Geema! The spread was easy to make and very tasty. I really enjoyed it with raw veggies.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 29, 2014

      Wow. Amazing

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 08, 2013

      This is a wonderful dish. I made it for a get-together and it was a big hit with all. Especially the ones eating gluten-free or SCD/paleo. Worked great on bread, rice crackers, or just by itself. Thanks for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 12, 2012

      This is soooo good. It is even good cold. I didn't change thing except I left out the green pepper as I don't care for it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 24, 2011

      This was great on homemade french bread! Our family had friends over and I anticipated it would be something that only the adults would be interested in. However, I should have doubled it because even the very pickiest child wanted more. It says it all when an 13 year old says, "This is stuff is amazing and I absolutely hate vegetables!"

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 28, 2011

      We loved this dip. But when my DH makes more than one comment about how much he really liked the dish....well this became a "no-brainer"...I will definately make this one again!!! Kudos on a great find!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 19, 2010

      A fantastic versatile recipe. Use the veggies chunky with extra tomato and sauce for pasta, slightly mashed up for topping a crusty bread. When produce is fresh and plentiful I roast up and freeze for enjoying over the winter. Thanks for posting this wonderful dish.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 31, 2010

      This recipe is great! Instead of roasting in the oven I grilled all the veggies outside on the grill. I also substituted red sweet frying peppers for the bell peppers. Will make again and again. Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 22, 2009

      Beyond outstanding. This is one of the best things I have ever eaten. It never made it to the food processor -- it looked so lovely just as it was, out of the oven. I served it warm over pasta with just a little grated parmesan. There's some left over that may become a spread tomorrow. Modifications: I used a fresh ripe tomato instead of the paste. And there's no need for all that salt. Just a pinch if you like.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 02, 2009

      This was delicious. I didn't have tomato paste so roasted some tomatoes that I cut up and seeded during the last 10 mins.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 23, 2009

      DELICIOUS! how could you go wrong with those ingredients. My food processor is pretty weak, so i just went at it with a potato masher. the eggplant was the only thing that mashed really well, but it didn't matter. it was GREAT chunky as well. Thanks so much. I'm sure i will make it again! Would be great to bring to a party with the right bread and some hummus!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 20, 2009

      This is very tasty. I'm always looking for new vegi spreads and such--lunch meat replacements... And this works great. Update!!! I put this "spread" into large shell pasta and baked it with a nice, chunky, spicy tomato based sauce. My new crowning dish!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 07, 2009

      this was very good. however noone wanted to taste it because of the colour and they didn't like veggies. they're loss because it was very good.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 07, 2008

      This recipe is SO SIMPLE and YUMMY! Healthy too! Once I pulled the tray of vegetables from the oven my DH and I starting nibbling on them. The spread is perfect served warm on crusty French Bread. For a party I would spread on small bread slices, sprinkle with a little parmesean and stick under the broiler for a few seconds. Add a glass of wine and enjoy!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 22, 2008

      Oh my goodness, was this yummy. I deviated from the recipe in the following ways: I used orange bell peppers and a regular yellow onion, and I decreased the oil by about 1/3. I used my stick blender to mush it all up. I love this stuff!! I need more ideas about ways to incorporate it into my meals. Truly a five star recipe!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 06, 2008

      I made this for a party and it was eaten up right away. I only got a teaspoonful. It was really, really good! I'll be making this again soon. Thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 09, 2007

      I made this to the "T". It was fool proof for an eggplant recipe. My husband's words were "It tastes great for being healthy for you". I imagine you can use a number of veggie combinations but this one is a great dip. Thanks Geema!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 13, 2007

      Although I had to leave out the cloves of garlic, and used garlic powder instead, it worked just fine, because this recipe is outstanding!!! I also followed the other reviewers suggestion of just mashing it a little with a fork instead of food processor and that worked fine. It was all gone by the end of the night. We ate it on veggies, and when the veggies ran out we switched to chips. When the chips were gone we went to bread. My only change for next time will be to cut back on the salt (I know there's not much in the first place, but this has so much flavor that it just isn't needed!). I can't imagine how great it will be in a stuffed chicken breast, and I will be trying that soon. Really amazing stuff and not too difficult to make. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 25, 2006

      I made this recipe as one of my appetizers for Thanksgiving. I did double-up on the garlic and added a little more tomato paste. It was colorful, full of flavor, and a snap to make! Thanks for posting, Geema!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Roasted Eggplant (Aubergine) Spread

    Serving Size: 1 (121 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 105.3
     
    Calories from Fat 63
    60%
    Total Fat 7.0 g
    10%
    Saturated Fat 0.9 g
    4%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 461.6 mg
    19%
    Total Carbohydrate 10.2 g
    3%
    Dietary Fiber 4.4 g
    17%
    Sugars 4.9 g
    19%
    Protein 1.7 g
    3%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites