76 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Wow, what a wonderful and different soup! I added a bit of potato and zucchini to the recipe, and processed only about 3/4 of it in blender, to maintain texture. I omitted the cream, but added a hearty splash of white wine to simmer until dinner was ready. My fiancee said, "wow, this kinda reminds me of french onion... except, ya know, it's different!" hehehe! THIS WAS INCREDIBLE!!! Thank you for such a yummy new soup! [ps- this goes fantastically with the aloo paratha (indian potato-stuffed flatbreads) that i also posted.]

11 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
s'kat January 05, 2002

Lovely,I added a 1 tsp freshly grated ginger to it as well.

6 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Norahs Girl November 12, 2001

This soup is the easest and the most delicious soup I have ever had. Elena Olivieri

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Elenabaskets November 02, 2001

A delicius soup, perfect taste the only thing is that I change the oil I brush the vegetables with olive oil, and is very good. If you have a recepe of eggplant in the oven with tomate and cheese I will like to hear from you, thanks, thelma

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
thelma hern?ndez lois May 07, 2001

This eggplant soup is absolutely delicious! The tanginess of the goat cheese goes perfectly with it (though we found that 3 ounces was more than ample). Like many others, we did not add the cream to it (used a little white wine and more broth), and honestly it didn't need it. I found what I think might be the original recipe. It used olive oil, had lemon juice in it and parsley to top - so I actually followed those. Also added an additional tablespoon of fresh oregano to the roasting vegs. We did not remove the skin of the egglant, we liked the flavor that it added. I concur with a previous reviewer that this serves 4 (as a meal with bread). This makes for an elegant dish, but is a fairly easy meal!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Maito September 21, 2009

I have loved this recipe for a couple of years now. I don't change it up because it is so exactly right as it is. Usually, since there is just the two of us to eat it, I puree the veggies and thyme without the broth and freeze half. It works well for having fresh soup now and mostly fresh soup later.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
dotsdotter May 10, 2011

Fantastic soup! Only substitution I made was that I used 1 cup of whole milk instead of 1 cup of cream. Everyone in the family loved it. This one is definitely a keeper!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
BRam March 18, 2015

Holy crap this is so delicious! Super easy to make too! Just takes time. My recommendation is to use about 1/2 the cream they say to use here. I felt like it was kind of a lot so I did 3/4 cream and it came out really good but maybe still a bit too creamy for me. I was also say to skin the tomatoes at the same time as the eggplant. The skin created these little skin-twigs all throughout the soup. I questioned the goat cheese but I'm so glad I got some. It is such an awesome addition to the flavor. I really love this recipe and I'm going to do it again soon!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
nomnomnomnomnomnomnom August 06, 2014

Love this soup. I leave out the cream and it is great. I also use a can of good whole tomatos instead of fresh. I make large batches. It freezes great.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
pborne June 25, 2014

Mmmm....incredibly simple and very satisfying. I used veggie broth, substituted evaporated milk for the cream to lighten it up, and topped with feta instead of goat cheese. I have to say the cheese really made the soup for me. The tang from the feta gave it just the right balance of flavor. I might try adding oregano next time as other reviewers suggested. Thanks for posting this delicious recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lucky in Bayview January 17, 2014
Roasted Eggplant (Aubergine) Soup