18 Reviews

DELICIOUS! Super easy, great week night healthy side dish. I did peel the skin as the reviews suggested, sprayed with butter flavored Pam, and sprinkled both sides of the squash (since I peeled it) with the brown sugar spice (I made both sweet and savory, both were awesome)mixture. I can't wait to make this again!!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
edenr2000_7361682 November 20, 2011

Great recipe. I made the spicy version and the flavor and texture was very much like french fries. I was worried the skin would be too tough, so I scored the skin cross-wise and drizzled olive oil in the bottom of the sheet to soften it up a bit. Worked out well.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
laurenanneky September 21, 2010

Made for thanksgiving. Did with brown sugar, cayenne and salt. Was heavy handed with the cayanne and had to warn the guests. Really nice.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Ambervim November 22, 2012

I would have never guessed you could eat the skin on this type of squash! A lovely recipe, I sprinkled with a tiny bit of brown sugar and cinnamon.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mommymakeit4u October 20, 2011

Loved this recipe. We did the sweet version. My mom had some trouble with the skin. It is an odd texture, somewhere between tough and crispy. I thought it was fantastic!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Spice Boy October 31, 2009

I loved this squash. My husband didn't like the skin and wouldn't eat it. Next time, I will peel it before roasting. I made the Savory combo. It tasted just like sweet potato fries to me.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kate J October 05, 2009

I gave this recipe 3 stars. I loved this recipe! My family didn't like it. When I made this squash I cut the recipe in half. I made the sweet & savory. The sweet was so good, but be careful so the cinnamon doesn't burn. The savory was such a pleasant surprise I liked the chili powder and brown sugar combo but it was a bit spicy for me. Overall I'll make these again for sure and I'll try the sweet on other squash such as butternut and acorn. Thanks for posting a yummy recipe! Christine (internetnut)

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
internetnut October 01, 2009

Man these are great! So simple too! One of my new favorite vegi recipes. Thanks so much!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Dulcet Kitchen September 30, 2009

Really good! I added red chili flakes to the savory version to make it even spicier. They tasted almost like sweet potato fries!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jessica_m_spencer September 27, 2009

I bought this squash because it looked pretty :D I ended up doing a sweet & spicy batch with mine - just combining the sweet and spicy instructions. I forgot to put the cinnamon but it was still total YUM.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
delsolarie December 08, 2008
Roasted Delicata Squash Wedges