Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Roasted Cod and Tomatoes With Basil and White Wine Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Roasted Cod and Tomatoes With Basil and White Wine

    Average Rating:

    20 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 20

    Sort by:

    • on November 19, 2012

      Your recipe is "Perfect For baked fish"! I used cod but any thick white mild flavored fish would work. I used the last of my home growned cherry tomatoes and followed your recipe. I had to use dried basil (1 tsp.) My garden basil is gone. My cod was thick. (1 inch ) It took more than 15 mins. I needed to add another 10 mins. for it to be perfect. Also, because it was only "fish for two", I only used 1/4 cup of wine. We had it with home made tartar sauce (DH wants it) but it's perfect without. I served it with home fries and salad.
      Thank you. This is my new favorite baked fish recipe. Update: I just realized that after making this recipe again, I never added the stars with my review. Five stars isn't enough but all I could give. Sorry :(

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 31, 2011

      Excellent! I bought a big bag of individually wrapped cod at Costco and haven't used it except crusted. I did not want that, but something with more flavor where I did not need tartar sauce at the table. I love that this does not have a lot of oil and must admit I did not have fresh tomatoes on hand, so used canned, which worked out great. I like to use dry vermouth for the dry white wine (Cook's Illustrated ranked it the same as opening a bottle of sauvignon blanc! - I've been doing it for years, it's shelf stable). We enjoyed this immensely. Thanks for posting, I have a big bag of cod in the freezer!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 19, 2011

      Delicious! However, I don't care for skins on tomatoes in my hot dishes so I opted for halved Romas for easy removal. Followed recipe, except pulled skins from tomatoes before adding to bowl (skins are very easy to remove once tomatoes are cooked). Also, I found that garlic was still a bit strong after 15 minutes so I ended up placing fish aside and cooking sauce on stove to simmer garlic. Plated dish over grits (use milk for a creamier base) with fresh Parmesan cheese grated on top. My new hubby ranked it as one of my best meals! Thanks lauralie!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 05, 2014

      I found this worked well for me, and I dont generally cook fish. Easily prepared, I made a half portion, I had only a little but enjoyed it, however my husband really liked it and had the lions share. he even had a little left for the next day, definitely a success.<br/>Thank you, made for Culinary QUEST, International Agents of QUEST

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 03, 2014

      I followed the directions, but clearly did something wrong. The tomatoes were under cooked and the fish was over cooked. Made for CQ 14.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 14, 2014

      Not very happy with result. Followed recipe as is except I high speed mixed the tomato mixture before topping it on the fish. The tomato mixture was actually not terrible, but cod was still pretty bland. In addition one our cod filets was either over cooked or a really fatty chewy piece where nothing could have saved that one. Maybe could have used maybe butter, seasoning or breading in addition. Going to try the tomato sauce on tilapia maybe?

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 04, 2014

      I used our "famous" Hanover tomatoes, and my own basil fresh from the garden. Not sure what I didn't like, but something just didn't make it for me. I adore garlic, but maybe, if I do this again, I will use less. Sorry.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 07, 2013

      This recipe worked for us once we sauteed the garlic with a little onion and butter while the tomatoes were roasting (otherwise the garlic is too strong). Added in the pinot grigio to the garlic and reduced a little, added the basil, then mixed with the tomatoes and ladled over the cod. Served with naan, curried rice and brussels sprouts.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 25, 2012

      I made this meal last night and it was DELICIOUS! I roasted thinly sliced sweet onion and garlic with the tomatoes. Plus, I used red pepper and doubled the amount of fresh basil. I will keep this one in my files to use again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 10, 2011

      Very good. Roasting the tomatoes makes them even more delicious than they would have been sauteed.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 31, 2011

      Easy, healthy , and delish. I made this just as the recipe said. I did add some red pepper flake for a kick.
      I used local haddock. The tomato skins did not bother us as much as others. I do think that other tomatoes may work well in this dish.
      I made brown rice to with this, and used 1 packet of Sazon for color.
      There was a lot of leftover juice which we used some for the rice, but much was wasted.

      Thanks for posting a wonderful delicious recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 15, 2009

      Excellent! came together well, tasted A1!! made for my daughter and son in law, (on diets) and they raved. made for aussie swap nov 09

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 14, 2009

      Bureno! My DH said this is the best fish he's had in a long time! I really enjoyed it too. I bought herb crusted cod and followed directions, using dried basil. Thank you for a nice Spanish/Portuguese recipe. Made for the Epicurean Queesn for the 2009 Zaar World Tour.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 24, 2009

      Very Nice. I followed your easy instructions with the following changes. I roasted asparagus spears along with the tomatoes, used Pinot Grigio for the white wine, used a throw-away pan I happened to have. (I'm all for easy does it) A couple of lemon wedges topped it off. Thank you so much for the recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 21, 2009

      A nice light dish. It was easy to prepare with simple ingredients that I typically have on hand. I wished it would have had a bit more flavor, but definitely was a no-guilt meal.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 14, 2008

      My family and I loved this recipe. I added fresh asparagus spears once and onion slices another to the roasting tomatoes. Both were great additions.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 03, 2008

      Excellent. Very flavorful. Left out the olive oil and used sea bass and regular tomatoes (cut up in medium size pieces) and it turned out beautifully. Will be in my cookbook for years to come. Made for ZWT4.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 04, 2008

      This was delicious, glad I found it. It's all about the fresh tomato and basil. I did add very thinly sliced zucchini and at the table had freshly shaved parmesan cheese, and it came out incredibly tasty. Definitely a recipe to repeat!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 30, 2008

      This was spectacular! I had never fixed Cod before and am planning to fix to gain very soon.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 19, 2006

      Excellent dish. And it certainly helped that I picked the tomatoes and the basil right from the garden. The cod comes out moist and flaky and the tomatoes are quite amazingly sweet. Thanks, Lori!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Roasted Cod and Tomatoes With Basil and White Wine

    Serving Size: 1 (224 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 163.4
     
    Calories from Fat 38
    23%
    Total Fat 4.3 g
    6%
    Saturated Fat 0.6 g
    3%
    Cholesterol 49.1 mg
    16%
    Sodium 285.2 mg
    11%
    Total Carbohydrate 4.1 g
    1%
    Dietary Fiber 0.9 g
    3%
    Sugars 2.2 g
    9%
    Protein 21.1 g
    42%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes