20 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Your recipe is "Perfect For baked fish"! I used cod but any thick white mild flavored fish would work. I used the last of my home growned cherry tomatoes and followed your recipe. I had to use dried basil (1 tsp.) My garden basil is gone. My cod was thick. (1 inch ) It took more than 15 mins. I needed to add another 10 mins. for it to be perfect. Also, because it was only "fish for two", I only used 1/4 cup of wine. We had it with home made tartar sauce (DH wants it) but it's perfect without. I served it with home fries and salad.
Thank you. This is my new favorite baked fish recipe. Update: I just realized that after making this recipe again, I never added the stars with my review. Five stars isn't enough but all I could give. Sorry :(

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
gypsygal November 19, 2012

Excellent! I bought a big bag of individually wrapped cod at Costco and haven't used it except crusted. I did not want that, but something with more flavor where I did not need tartar sauce at the table. I love that this does not have a lot of oil and must admit I did not have fresh tomatoes on hand, so used canned, which worked out great. I like to use dry vermouth for the dry white wine (Cook's Illustrated ranked it the same as opening a bottle of sauvignon blanc! - I've been doing it for years, it's shelf stable). We enjoyed this immensely. Thanks for posting, I have a big bag of cod in the freezer!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Garlic Chick October 31, 2011

Delicious! However, I don't care for skins on tomatoes in my hot dishes so I opted for halved Romas for easy removal. Followed recipe, except pulled skins from tomatoes before adding to bowl (skins are very easy to remove once tomatoes are cooked). Also, I found that garlic was still a bit strong after 15 minutes so I ended up placing fish aside and cooking sauce on stove to simmer garlic. Plated dish over grits (use milk for a creamier base) with fresh Parmesan cheese grated on top. My new hubby ranked it as one of my best meals! Thanks lauralie!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
New Housewife January 19, 2011

I found this worked well for me, and I dont generally cook fish. Easily prepared, I made a half portion, I had only a little but enjoyed it, however my husband really liked it and had the lions share. he even had a little left for the next day, definitely a success.<br/>Thank you, made for Culinary QUEST, International Agents of QUEST

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Karen Elizabeth September 05, 2014

I followed the directions, but clearly did something wrong. The tomatoes were under cooked and the fish was over cooked. Made for CQ 14.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
sheepdoc September 03, 2014

Not very happy with result. Followed recipe as is except I high speed mixed the tomato mixture before topping it on the fish. The tomato mixture was actually not terrible, but cod was still pretty bland. In addition one our cod filets was either over cooked or a really fatty chewy piece where nothing could have saved that one. Maybe could have used maybe butter, seasoning or breading in addition. Going to try the tomato sauce on tilapia maybe?

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lizards643 August 14, 2014

I used our "famous" Hanover tomatoes, and my own basil fresh from the garden. Not sure what I didn't like, but something just didn't make it for me. I adore garlic, but maybe, if I do this again, I will use less. Sorry.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
~Bliss~ July 04, 2014

This recipe worked for us once we sauteed the garlic with a little onion and butter while the tomatoes were roasting (otherwise the garlic is too strong). Added in the pinot grigio to the garlic and reduced a little, added the basil, then mixed with the tomatoes and ladled over the cod. Served with naan, curried rice and brussels sprouts.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lolablitz May 07, 2013

I made this meal last night and it was DELICIOUS! I roasted thinly sliced sweet onion and garlic with the tomatoes. Plus, I used red pepper and doubled the amount of fresh basil. I will keep this one in my files to use again!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
CHHunt July 25, 2012

Very good. Roasting the tomatoes makes them even more delicious than they would have been sauteed.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Paris D August 10, 2011
Roasted Cod and Tomatoes With Basil and White Wine