24 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

This was OMG Great! The honey-cream sauce was just the right blend of sweet yet so creamy and light. And the chicken was moist and flavorful. I will make this again and again (and again and again), and I will not change a thing, except perhaps increase the amount of honey-cream sauce so we have extra to top a side of rice, as someone had suggested. This will surely be included at the top of my Favorite Recipes Tried in 2011. Thank you for sharing your recipe, ~Leslie~.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
NorthwestGal February 11, 2011

AMAZING! This recipe sounded good, but, it surpassed my expectations! We REALLY enjoyed it. Between all the 'yum's' and 'ummmmmmmm's', we talked about the thyme being understated, about the honey giving a just right touch, and about how dang good it was...I did use boneless breasts and fresh thyme, as it is what I had on hand. This came together fairly quickly and I will certainly make it for guests (and myself!) I will put this recipe in my "Must Make Again!' cookbook! Thanks so much for sharing, ~Leslie~. Made for ZWT.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
alligirl June 10, 2010

Cooking is like a reconnaissance mission: plan your route, execute the deal and flee for your life from dishwashing. The pots/pans this took were so worthy of the complaining. It goes straight to my Best of 2010 cookbook.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
gailanng April 11, 2010

Excellent recipe! I used 8 chicken thighs and doubled the sauce part. I served it with wild rice and green beans, DH and I were using the sauce on top of everything. The recipe is easy to make and full of great flavor. The amount of honey is right on for this recipe. I will be making this again and again. Thanks for posting it.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Shari2 March 30, 2010

What can I say that hasn't already been said about this incredible recipe. It is the bomb. The chicken is tender, juicy and moist and the sauce is too die for...so good. The sauce is light, creamy, slightly sweet and so very flavorful, I used the wine vinegar option and couldn't have been happier. My dh was in taste heaven. Thanks so much for sharing this wonderful recipe, which I will make again and again. I have place this treasure in My Favorites Cookbook for 2013. Kudos to you Leslie.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Baby Kato February 08, 2013

I served to company and they all enjoyed it. I used bone in breasts and thighs. The extra sauce goes well over rice, noodles or mashed potatoes.

12/22/12 I have made this recipe a number of times now. Bone in thighs are what we like best. I triple the sauce and quadruple the onions. Wow... the onions alone in this sauce is a side dish on it's own. Make this recipe!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
luvmybge December 22, 2012

This was fabulous! I am saving this to my Best of 2012 cookbook, and sending the recipe to my daughter....she will love it. I'd increase the sauce because it is just soooo wonderful! I used bone in, skin on breasts, but didn't eat the skin. I want to try this with boneless skinless breasts, but I think the flavor is improved by the bone and skin....just want to check. I also drained the juices after my chicken roasted for 35 minutes....I was afraid the sauce would be too runny if I left it in the dish. But that may be why I think I need more sauce! Regardless, I loved this recipe, and plan on enjoying it often. Thanks for sharing your recipe! I made this for Best of 2011 Tag!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
breezermom January 18, 2012

Company worthy, restaurant quality or crazy good. Pick your accolade. The sauce is to die for and I could eat it with a spoon.....ok, I did eat it with a spoon. I used the bone in breasts as directed but also think it could be a fast skillet dinner using boneless, skinless breasts. The sauce would make up for any loss of flavour from the skin and bone. I reduced the chicken to 2 servings but left the sauce measurements the same. So glad I did (see - I ate it with a spoon). Thanks so much for posting what is now one of my favourite chicken recipes!
Made for Food.Commandos ~ ZWT 7
ETA. I made this again with boneless skinless breasts in a skillet. It was still very good but not the WOW it was with bone in skin on and roasted. Back to the way it was written for me! :)

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
K9 Owned July 23, 2011

Very good recipe. I am giving four stars because I did make quite a few changes to the sauce to make it more flavorful. I used chicken drumsticks and seasoned with the salt, pepper, and ground thyme. For the sauce the honey, cream, and wine were not enough for us. I added quite a bit of salt, pepper, and more thyme - fresh because I had it on hand but otherwise would have used more ground. I also added about 1/4 cup of champagne vinegar to cut back on the sweetness. I think that it being too sweet had to do with the wine I used not being dry enough. Overall I would make again with these changes.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
KellyMac6 August 16, 2010

Excellent flavor. I did make a couple of small changes. I used a small onion, but then also 2 small shallots. They are a bit sweeter and I wanted a bit more onion flavor. I also uses a 5 blend ground pepper, which is just a bit different, but it is still pepper so it didn't change the dish at all. And, I used fresh thyme from my garden, fresh herbs always when I can. But I don't think with those changes it changed the overall flavor of the dish. I thought it was excellent. Loved the dish. I used chicken skin on and bone in as suggested, and it was great! Very nice dish and I am sure it would be good with boneless breasts, thighs, etc, just a nice flavor. Definitely make this again. Great for every night or for company, my friends would definitely like this. Thx, Kim

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
SarasotaCook March 04, 2010
Roasted Chicken With Thyme and Honey Cream