8 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Great recipe - the entire family loved it! I am lucky to have a convection oven so the chicken was not dry - it was moist and tender - I had fresh asparagus so I threw it in during the last half hour - I will defintely be making this again! We easily fed 6 with leftovers! Thanks for sharing - could easily add different squash, turnips, parsnips, radishes - the variations are endless!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Barb_in_Indy December 30, 2010

Great elegant roasted chicken recipe! After reading reviews that it can be a little dry, I decided to "blast" the chicken as Kittencal suggests by roasting it at 450 for 20 minutes and then 400 for the remaining hour to seal in the juices. I also added 1.5 tbs of butter under the skin of each breast and coated the bird in a little oil prior to adding spices. I usually buy good quality free range birds from Trader Joe's or Outpost, but bought a cheap Roundy's one to save $. Bad idea! This recipe is so beautifully simple in flavors that you really need to use a good bird (I think the one we bought was old and it definitely had an off flavor). Next time (and there definitely will be one!) I'll buy a good quality bird and maybe add brussels sprouts as Mikekey did because they add such a nice color. Yummmm! thanks Paula!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lolablitz February 24, 2010

An excellent recipe, however we found that the chicken was a little on the dry side. When we make this one in the future, I'll roast the chicken breast side down to take advantage of the moisture in the bottom of the pan.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Molly53 October 07, 2007

Delicious! I made a few adjustments. I stuffed the chicken with lemon and onions and added some extra herbs and seasonings (thyme, chili powder, garlic powder) and squeezed some lemon juice over the chicken since I didn't have lemon pepper. I used less oil and skipped the chicken broth as well and it came out fine. The skin was crispy and the meat was juicy and wonderful. And the vegetables were really tasty too. Thank you!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
yamakarasu April 04, 2007

Do you want simple and good try this after pepto bismal !

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
sales January 12, 2007

You've done it again, Paula. This is a keeper. Served this for New Years day dinner. I was serving a risotto, so left out the potatoes and added some Brussels sprouts the last half hour, and let them roast. I didn't have lemon pepper so squeezed some lemon juice over everything. The flavors were great! The nice thing about this recipe, is you can vary the vegies to taste. I will try parsnip and baby beets next time. Thanks for posting what is going to be a staple here!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mikekey January 01, 2007

Awesome chicken. So moist and tender, it just fell apart.The only change I made was not to add the rutabaga since I didn't have one and I added paprika as a spice.The flavor was sooo good.Thanks for the wonderful chicken recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Auntie Jan April 27, 2006

This chicken is outstanding! The juices that it makes really adds wonderful flavors to the chicken! I love the root veggies and all they all cooked to perfection! Brown and crisp on the outside and flavorful and moist on the inside. I will be making this one again as I am sure I will be asked to! Thanks Paula!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
NcMysteryShopper January 13, 2006
Roasted Chicken and Root Veggies