Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Roasted Chicken and Root Veggies Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Roasted Chicken and Root Veggies

    Average Rating:

    8 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-8 of 8

    Sort by:

    • on December 30, 2010

      Great recipe - the entire family loved it! I am lucky to have a convection oven so the chicken was not dry - it was moist and tender - I had fresh asparagus so I threw it in during the last half hour - I will defintely be making this again! We easily fed 6 with leftovers! Thanks for sharing - could easily add different squash, turnips, parsnips, radishes - the variations are endless!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 24, 2010

      Great elegant roasted chicken recipe! After reading reviews that it can be a little dry, I decided to "blast" the chicken as Kittencal suggests by roasting it at 450 for 20 minutes and then 400 for the remaining hour to seal in the juices. I also added 1.5 tbs of butter under the skin of each breast and coated the bird in a little oil prior to adding spices. I usually buy good quality free range birds from Trader Joe's or Outpost, but bought a cheap Roundy's one to save $. Bad idea! This recipe is so beautifully simple in flavors that you really need to use a good bird (I think the one we bought was old and it definitely had an off flavor). Next time (and there definitely will be one!) I'll buy a good quality bird and maybe add brussels sprouts as Mikekey did because they add such a nice color. Yummmm! thanks Paula!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 07, 2007

      An excellent recipe, however we found that the chicken was a little on the dry side. When we make this one in the future, I'll roast the chicken breast side down to take advantage of the moisture in the bottom of the pan.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 04, 2007

      Delicious! I made a few adjustments. I stuffed the chicken with lemon and onions and added some extra herbs and seasonings (thyme, chili powder, garlic powder) and squeezed some lemon juice over the chicken since I didn't have lemon pepper. I used less oil and skipped the chicken broth as well and it came out fine. The skin was crispy and the meat was juicy and wonderful. And the vegetables were really tasty too. Thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 12, 2007

      Do you want simple and good try this after pepto bismal !

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 01, 2007

      You've done it again, Paula. This is a keeper. Served this for New Years day dinner. I was serving a risotto, so left out the potatoes and added some Brussels sprouts the last half hour, and let them roast. I didn't have lemon pepper so squeezed some lemon juice over everything. The flavors were great! The nice thing about this recipe, is you can vary the vegies to taste. I will try parsnip and baby beets next time. Thanks for posting what is going to be a staple here!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 27, 2006

      Awesome chicken. So moist and tender, it just fell apart.The only change I made was not to add the rutabaga since I didn't have one and I added paprika as a spice.The flavor was sooo good.Thanks for the wonderful chicken recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 13, 2006

      This chicken is outstanding! The juices that it makes really adds wonderful flavors to the chicken! I love the root veggies and all they all cooked to perfection! Brown and crisp on the outside and flavorful and moist on the inside. I will be making this one again as I am sure I will be asked to! Thanks Paula!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Roasted Chicken and Root Veggies

    Serving Size: 1 (792 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 1091.8
     
    Calories from Fat 588
    53%
    Total Fat 65.4 g
    100%
    Saturated Fat 16.7 g
    83%
    Cholesterol 255.1 mg
    85%
    Sodium 381.5 mg
    15%
    Total Carbohydrate 54.1 g
    18%
    Dietary Fiber 8.1 g
    32%
    Sugars 11.4 g
    45%
    Protein 70.5 g
    141%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    rosemary sprigs

    italian seasoning

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes